We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fine for a quick and budget stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi
Ranked #73 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very fine for a quick and budget stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel chain seems to be locally popular, since there are many locals and business people stay here overnight too. The best part is the location, right in the central shopping, nightlife, and eating area of Kyoto, so it's really hard to beat. Notice that it locates behind OPA shopping mall, so if you take a cab so tells them to goto OPA. Another best part is breakfast is included, it has a fine varieties of food, but with short breakfast hours 7-9 a.m., so you must be quicked. The room itself is really basic, small, just to sleep or a short break from whole day excursion is fine. The public bath functions really well, we end up using it every day since our own bathroom in the room is so small. Definitely should not miss this place for any budget travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    175
    53
    8
    6
See reviews for
48
109
76
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My first experience with this sort of bargain hotel. The room is expectedly small and the bathroom is like a mini capsule of contraptions. The mattress is very hard which I presume is great for our backs. I only stayed for one night but I will totally recommend this place, it broke my perception that Japan is all too expensive

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubiyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The price was the cheapest of all of all of the hotels I stayed in during my two weeks traveling around Japan. This was recommended to me by my friend, who lived in Kyoto. The location is excellent. Walk out the front door of the hotel, and you are right in the middle of all of the shopping in the Shijo area. Free breakfast, free (wired) internet, clean comfortable rooms, freebies for the ladies, and pick your own pillow. My only regret was not staying longer at this hotel. By the way, there are buses that go right to Kyoto Station on the main street, which is a super short walk outside the hotel. Much cheaper than taking a cab.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is a very well located hotel, within the area of Shijokawaramachi, veryyyyy close to Nikishi (Japanese traditional) market). The only annoying thing is, if you want your room to be cleaned by the hotel staff, you must stay out until 3 pm.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joko_Trikukuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed in a non-smoking room for two persons for three nights. It was a wonderful experience!

It will be difficult to locate initially but once you find the hotel, it's easy to get back to and to travel to other places. Locals are very helpful, so it was easy to ask for directions. In fact, two girls actually led us there personally and walked with us for quite a while. Located close to nishiki market and several other shopping streets. Restaurants and cafes are easy to locate!

Staff are rather friendly and helpful and we had little problem communicating in simple English. The room was clean, although a little small to open your luggage. I like that access to the rooms are controlled by passwords instead of keys. Breakfast was simple but delicious! Eggs are cooked in different ways every morning.The pillows we chose (yes, you get to choose your own pillows!) were a little too flat for our liking. Every day, we get to choose five complimentary items from the lobby and it was fun! The foot relaxing patches came in helpful after walking for a long day =)))

Overall, a wonderful experience! and definitely value for the money!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creati0ns88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Kyoto Central Inn
Kyoto Central Inn
#142 of 369 in Kyoto
149 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#35 of 369 in Kyoto
520 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi

Property: Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi
Address: 538-1 Shinkyogokudori, Chukyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8042, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shinkyogoku Shopping District , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price range (per night): $92 - $238
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing