We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveller rating
353
205
47
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
353
205
47
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western style room kyoto station own futon tatami mats japanese breakfast small garden walking distance stayed here for three nights light sleeper traditional experience google maps rice sakura bus english calligraphy yukata
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We recently spent 3 days in this very quaint ryokan and had a fabulous time. The rooms are attractively laid out, ( we had the tea ceremony room and our friends stayed in the garden rooms) clean and comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We were quite a large group ( 3 families) and the ryokan catered very well for all of us. The central meeting area has wifi and is also where you eat breakfast and a place to relax in the evenings when you come in from sightseeing etc. We even were treated to traditional lion dances over breakfast as we were there over the new year season!The staff were always on hand to help with obtaining bus tickets, calling taxis and assisting with any help we needed. The ryokan is centrally located and an easy walk from the station. I have been going to Japan for 20 years now and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this ryokan- especially as the service makes the stay so relaxed and enjoyable. One piece of advice, book early and get the best rooms- I would recommend the Japanese style rooms.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Myself and a friend spent 3 nights at the Ryokan Sakura in December 2012 and we both loved it.
We arrived just after 11pm having spent 24hrs travelling. The young man behind the desk had been looking out for us, helped us in with our bags then sat us down with a cup of tea (desperately needed!). He took time to explain all the facilities available, took our breakfast order and then took us up to our room.
We booked a traditional Japanese room with tatami mats, futon beds which you make every night (very easy and comfy), a compact but perfectly serviceable bathroom, dressing area and place to store luggage. The place was spotless, comfortable and relaxing.
For breakfast there were three choices and all came with unlimited tea or coffee and the quality was of a good standard. We found the staff extremely helpful and polite and they were always on hand to offer assistance.
After a day spent doing the tourist thing we really enjoyed coming back to the Ryokan to relax a little while before heading back out into the night.
On leaving I managed to have a peak into one of the non-traditional rooms and I think the traditional Japanese room is much nicer and seemed more spacious, though no doubt this is because there are no beds taking up all the room!
I would highly recommend staying here. It is simple, friendly, clean, comfortable and we thought, excellent value.

Room tip: I would advise a traditional Japanese room.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed there with our baby, and it was really pleasant. Although the room was small, it was perfectly thought to be confortable. The attention in the hotel was great. Well situated. It had free internet, laundry, and helped me with my baby´s food!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I'm a little bit disappointed about this hotel because from the pictures online, there is a little private garden in the Japanese style room and I was really excited about that. But there are just little rooms without anything exciting in reality, or there is only one room with private garden which is really hard to make a reservation. The location is OK, about 10-mins walking distance to the Kyoto station.

Room tip: If you want a room with private garden, call them to make a reservation.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elise317
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We loved out stay at Sakura and would definitely recommend to others.

Good points
Hotel was very clean, everything seemed new.
The style seemed very traditional and was done to a high standard.
The room was very Japanese style and was great as we had never been to Japan.
The staff were great, super helpful and put in a lot of effort eg dressing up on new year and proving noodles for NYE.
Great communal area with wifi.
The place was spotless and our room was cleaned everyday and sheets changed.

Bad points – we knew this before we came so couldn't really complain
Location, was ok, not much going on nearby, but near to the station.
Breakfast was not great and expensive for what it was.
No wifi in the rooms.

The bad points were not that bad, and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maap1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews