We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thank you!”
other travellers have booked this property
Machiya which used to be tea ceremony school was reborn into a whole rent cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Machiya which used to be tea ceremony school was reborn into a whole rent cottage.
We are Shimo & Rika, the owner of this house. We work as your concierge during your stay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Machiya which used to be tea ceremony school was reborn into a whole rent cottage.
We are Shimo & Rika, the owner of this house. We work as your concierge during your stay.
We spent 9 months to renovate this traditional house.
1st floor living room.
We use natural and domestic materials as much as possible.
1st floor living room with bamboo pillar.
Antique lamp.
Round window.
Professional plasterer joined this project.
Washing room.
Japanese handmade washbowl on a natural camphor wood.
1st floor Kitchen.
Basic cooking tools and cups, plates for 5 person.
Professional carpenter joined this project.
The bath with cypress wall and tile decoration.
We offer MARKS&WEB shampoo, body soap and conditioner, made in Japan.
2nd floor bed room.
2nd floor bed room. Can be separated by fusuma(paper sliding door)
A little balcony on the 2nd floor.
Towels, yukata( japanese pajama), tooth brush, hair brush, body towel, razor.
Various books available.
We have Japanese brand bike, 'tokyobike' for rent. 1000yen per day.
karigane is located on the shopping street, fun to explore at day time, but become quiet after 9
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
AYAKO K
1 review
“Thank you!”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

"karigane" is abusolutely beautiful house, which is renovated by traditional way. Shimo & Rika are extremely friendly and helphul. They provided us detailed information about Kyoto and the nearby. They have rental tokyobikes and we could cycle all around kyoto. it was a great experience. Thank you Shimo & Rika! we definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Dear Ayako, thank you so much for staying with us. It was our pleasure to welcome guest who loves and have deep knowledge about Japanese traditional building and we had great time chatting with you about our restoration. Thank you so much. Please come back again anytime:D Shimo&Rika
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kana N
Baden-Baden, Germany
1 review
“Cozy stay at the traditional Japanese house”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The location is far from center, but it turned out to be really good! i love the atmosphere of the area where i can feel the life of locals, without tourists. and it was really convenient, kinkakuji golden temple is only 10minutes by bicycle.
The house was really beautiful, truly traditional. The wall with natural soil and sands, washi(Japanese paper), straw, tatami and lots of wood.

host was really nice, friendly and helpful. thank you shimo and rika, please come to finland someday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking your time to your review us. we are really happy to know that you like our neighbor's atmosphere. It was so much fun to hung out with you to the Kamo river and had some beer together. Hope to see you again in Kyoto or Finland or Germany in the near future! Shimo&Rika
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nao424
Nishinomiya, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Awesome stay in kyoto”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful stay in Kyoto.
I stayed there with my friend.
It's located near by Daitoku shine and The Golden Pavilion.
This house was renovated by host, so interiors are new but you may feel traditional Japanese lifestyle!
You can rent a bicycle(the host have few rentacycle for you!) as we did, and your stay will be more comfortable.
Kyoto is very crowded at the best season so when you take a taxi or bus it may cost and take more time as you think.

The host will help your stay in Kyoto more comfortable and introduce lot of local places(cafe, bar, hot spring and restraint)
We had perfect stay in Kyoto and will stay here again:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Dear Nao, Thank you very much for your review! The joy of doing guesthouse is to meet someone like you. We also enjoyed a lot to talk with you and introducing our neighbors to you. Fireflies is such a nice memory!
Thank you very much for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Kyoto Machiya Cottage karigane
Shimo & Rika
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yo-sui102...
1 review
“Old but modern cottage”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage is very beautiful and uses traditional methods and materials in Japan. and The owner is also very polite and will advise on traveling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Dear Yo, Thank you very much for taking your precious time to review us. We are glad that you liked our cottage. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your charming family to karigane, especially your lovely kids! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ゆみ わ
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for giving us such a great review, we feel so honored to read it. We are glad to know that you liked the decoration of our house and the bicycles! We hope to see you again in the near future. Ciao! Shimo&Rika
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing