We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 159
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kyoto Itoya Hotel(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 101
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 547/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
14
18
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
18
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock baththe buscypressotarubathsonsentatamifacilitiesryokanjapan
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Kyoto. It's a bit out of the way, but the temples in the Ohara area are lovely and the village is quite sweet. The facilities are a little dated, but dinner and breakfast were fantastic and the outdoor baths were very nice. I'd recommend it, but probably not if you're planning to go to Kyoto every day.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phoenician19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Two nights, March 2017. Gyozanen is a special place, and truly a haven of traditional Japan. It is one of the few places in the world I have felt truly relaxed. Nestled in the mountains of Ohara, 40min North of Kyoto, and two minutes from the Sanzenin Temple grounds, Gyozanen was the highlight of our 11 day trip. For two days we were transported back in time to an era where the pace of life moved slower. The rooms were well kept, the futons comfortable, the waitresses kind and pleasant. The baths were the highlight. I tried all three - the Open Air, Rock Bath, and Cypress. They are small to the Westerner, perhaps, but each unique and pleasant. The traditional evening meals in the room were a truly an artistic composition, seasonal and uniquely coherent. Breakfasts in the main dining room were again traditional, and extremely enjoyable. Do not expect the modern trappings of luxury, or the appearance of a brand new hotel. This is not the point of Gyozanen. Gyozanen is a living, breathing tribute to the past, a place to forget the modern worries of the 21st century, and worry instead for a day about bath times, which one to choose, whether to lounge on the tatami for another few minutes, and wonder idly what is for dinner. Embrace it, and you will never forget it. I will truly treasure my memories of Gyozanen.

Room Tip: 1st floor has a small viewing garden
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank squireteemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This is the place to come if you want a real feel of traditional Japanese culture.
A young girl showed us to our room and made us tea, all sitting on the floor as she explained about the facilities. You change into the Japanese house coat and wear that for the whole time you are inside the hotel. The onsen takes about an hour with lots of washing and then immersion in a really hot bath, either inside in a cedar wood bath or outside in a rocky bath looking out into the wood.
The evening meal was served in our room as a private dinner, with many courses all very traditional and delicious, I was very full at the end.
At breakfast the lovely food continued.
The fabric of the hotel is a little careworn but that is its charm.
I do fully recommend this for a night or two stay but it is quite pricy, it cost two of us £380 in total, but was one of the main memories we will take away from our trip to Japan

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We loved the dining! Amazing food, service and attention was outstanding! Brilliant location for visiting temples and we loved the fact that there were NO international visitors! WE LOVE AUTHENTIC! Incredible local temples and the best nature! The price for dining is worth it! So we loved the fact that although dated: it was charming! The hot-spring waters are also excellent in this area! Yes am little dated but we liked it! It was a super-peaceful experience!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank TRACEYASH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

I am always in favor of staying in a nice older place with character and charm instead of a shiny new hotel. However, I also want some value for the price.
This ryokan certainly has the ideal location, about 30 seconds away from Sanzen-In temple. It looks absolutely charming from the outside with nice steps leading up to the building. The inside was quite disappointing with tired carpeting in the main entrance and hallway. There was clutter everywhere. Our room was dark with a musty smell, and quite frankly, severely outdated with old bathroom fixtures. Dust and stains on the doors and just unappealing overall. Service was sporadic. The women working there were very nice, but seemed overworked, and the men were indifferent at best, almost unfriendly at worst.
On a positive note, the outdoor onsen was quite lovely albeit tiny, and the food was very good.
I would have graciously accepted all the faults with this place had it not been so outrageously expensive. Not a great value and definitely below expectations for the price point.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank PeckCheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews