We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
130
57
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
57
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kyoto university public bath the bus imperial palace personal bathroom room was large reasonable walk heian shrine great ryokan keihan line ryokan experience shared bath traditional style remove your shoes koi pond hot water japanese inn
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Great Ryokan. Our room was quite spacious, with a very modern private bath. Traditional yet new and modern. Very clean. WIFI service was weak wand really the only negative. The location near Kyoto University is within walking distance of downtown and sites of interest.

Room tip: The free WIFI is really spotty. Signal in our room was weak and was lost a few times every 15 minutes. Very frustrating.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dmcc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Instead of staying at a generic Western hotel my husband and I chose to stay at a Ryokan. The rooms at Sawaya Honten are very spacious and beautifully set up. Every day there was also a new thermos with hot water (which you could refill in the lobby), green tea bags and a small biscuit. We also loved the yukata (robes) to relax in and the little guide with background information on Ryokans and etiquette.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the Ryokan is within walking distance of the Imperial Palace and the Philosopher's Walk.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marieke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

This is an exceptional Ryokan located near Heian Temple. You are within walking distance to majorities of the recommended temples. If you aren't feeling like walking , bus stops is few steps away, so is the train station. The facilities are great. You have the traditional Ryokan setting with most western hotel amenitites (e.g. Hair dryer , fridges, tea/coffee set etc). Master of the Ryokan was incredible helpful and quite good at English, you can ask him for help if you are having trouble with directions.

Tip: Don't forget to book breakfast the day the night before 6 pm for about 2000 yen you have a delicious seasonal traditional style breakfast made in house.p Lu's the little joint fish pond is filled with gigantic koi which I found it rather amusing ;)

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZHENLI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sawaya Honten. The location is pretty good. We were able to walk to the Kamo River to have dinner in the Pontocho area. Lots of people out enjoying the river area. Although the rooms have baths, we enjoyed the communal bath both nights. The only downside was the bedding. The futons were very hard which was not that great for my back. I should have asked for softer bedding. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robhoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay in this delightful Ryokan for two nights. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable in every way. The breakfast was devine: so beautifully presented, delicious and nutritious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this Ryokan for a real Kyoto cultural experience.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews