We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
52
45
16
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
45
16
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ryokan experience knock on the door japanese breakfast excellent ryokan stayed only one night public bath within walking distance tatami room spoke very good english traditional room late at night private onsen a wonderful stay traditional style tofu every morning would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Very well located near Gion, but services and quality of accodomation are just poor. Nice people but not so English spoken . Cup of tea or cofee in the waiting room is not free. Very expensive for the quality of service.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camali2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
き乃ゑ, 広報担当マネージャー at Kinoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear camali2018,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us.
However we are sorry what we could not make your satisfactory staying for us.
We would love to learn more and further discuss your experience.
We will share your feedback at all our service team for our future service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kyoto Ryokan Kinoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

This was the best stay I've ever had in Japan. The tatami room was spacious and gorgeous, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, and we had the option of a private ofuro in our room or public bath. We did a kaiseki dinner, and breakfast the next morning- and both were incredible! The food was as much a work of art as it was delicious. It was wonderful to be served meals privately at the table in our room also.

They were also kind enough to hold our luggage until check in time, and offered to deliver it to our next hotel.

Thank you so much for such a fantastic stay!!! We will definitely come back the next time we're in Kyoto and have a longer stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank dragonfly287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
き乃ゑ, 広報担当マネージャー at Kinoe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Dragonfly287,

Thank you very much for your fabulous comment and we are very glad that you enjoyed having stayed at Kyoto Ryokan Kinoe. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the tatami room, service and a private ofuro in our room, public bath.
We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed a kaiseki dinner, and breakfast.
Once again, we sincerely appreciate for your comment you gave us. We certainly hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kyoto Ryokan Kinoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We loved staying at Kinoe! We spent 2 nights in Spring 2018.
The location was fantastic, service was great and the room amazing - very spacious. We had a Japanese breakfast which was wonderful. Would stay again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank melbaus2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
き乃ゑ, 広報担当マネージャー at Kinoe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Melbaus2018,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
We sincerely appreciate your kind words about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the location, service, the room, and a Japanese breakfast.
Once again, we sincerely appreciate for your comment you gave us.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kyoto Ryokan Kinoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We did a two day trip to Kyoto from Tokyo and stayed at The Kinoe for one night. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the cultural experience and impressive Japanese hospitality!

The staff all spoke enough English that we could get by and the host spoke very good English when he welcomed us. He had prepared a map of all the local attractions for us and showed us to our room. The room was very comfortable and spacious with traditional Japanese walls and art. It had both a bathtub and a showerhead with small stool as well as a separate toilet and separate sink and mirror.

We had the Kaiseki dinner which was absolutely delicious and a fun and interesting experience! We lost track of how many courses there were but it was somewhere around six and finished with some delicious Miso soup! All of the dishes were very different, served on all sorts of beautiful plates and bowls and were both simple in number of ingredients yet complex in flavor.

We also took advantage of the comfortable onsens or hot baths there (separate for men and women) which were empty when we visited and very calm and relaxing.

We were very happy with the experience and would go back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
き乃ゑ, 広報担当マネージャー at Kinoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Cole M,

Thank you very much for your fabulous comment and we are very glad that you enjoyed having stayed at Kyoto Ryokan Kinoe. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our property, service and the Kaiseki dinner.
We think you should know that our hot baths there are not onsens. We regret to inform you that they are supplied with regular water, as opposed to hot-spring water.

Once again, we sincerely appreciate for your comment you gave us. We certainly hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kyoto Ryokan Kinoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this property.
Room was large and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was beautiful and served on time.
Staff were helpful and spoke excellent English.
The property is situated on the edge of Guion and within walking distance of the train station.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
き乃ゑ, 広報担当マネージャー at Kinoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear John P,

Thank you so much for choosing Kyoto Ryokan Kinoe and we are grateful that you have taken the time to write a review of your stay.
We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our property, room, breakfast, staff and location.
Once again, we sincerely appreciate for your comment you gave us.
We certainly hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kyoto Ryokan Kinoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews