We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
41
48
15
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
48
15
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

It is very near to Kyoto station and eateries below the hotel and in underground Porta dining. The room is good enough or 4 adults. The staff were very friendly and we were always greeted at the lift lobby on our room floor readily with pleasant staff! Thank you for the stay!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank AliciaPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for your staying and good review.
we`re going to do good service for our guest every day.
If come to japan please visit to our hotel again.
We`re looking forward to your visit and your good luck.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

It was an awesome experience sleeping in a traditional japanese hotel. The staff was very friendly, they cleaned the room thoroughly every day and it was just 5 minutes from Kyoto station. In the lobby you could smoke, there was a coffee vending machine and a souvenir shop. On our floor (4F) there was a beverage vending machine, so I assume there is one on every floor. The beds (futon) were made and put away every day. Sleeping on a futon can be a bit uncomfortable but it was okay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bfabian94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for your stay and very good review.
we`re going to try for good service and good facilities.
please visit again to Kyoto.
we`re looking forward to you visit
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I picked this hotel because it's so close to Kyoto Station and to my surprise, it is also close to Yodabashi and other shopping malls. Our stay was very pleasant as my family and I were able to enjoy the traditional ryokan experience. The hotel staff were very friendly and polite. The rooms were clean and the misc. items inside the room were very much welcome. We stayed in a family room and it was spacious enough for 5-6 people. The onsen below the hotel was the icing on top of the cake. I definitely recommend staying here when in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

It is so close to the Train Station, just cross the street, so save you taxi. The breakfast is Japanese style, and every exotic and surprise to us. The service is good. But the room is not attractive. The wall paper is old, and some places had broken spots. The towels are so thin? Consider the relative low price, it is a valued hotel.

Room Tip: The best part of is the location, and breakfast. Cross the street is the Kyoto Station. breakfast interesting. Room not attractive.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mayflower511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thank you for your staying and good review.
we will repair it. we so sorry.
we looking forward to your visit again.
please good luck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We wanted to experience a ryokan for a night. We liked the location near Kyoto Station. The staff was friendly. We enjoyed the welcome mochi in our rooms. The staff made sure our robes fit properly shortly after we arrived. We had a private bathroom and a separate area for the little fridge by the window.

We had the kaiseki meal for dinner in our room. It was really neat seeing all the little dishes. You really do have to be an adventurous eater to savor all of it though. The lady who brought us our food helped us navigate all the different dishes. After dinner, we went out so that they could move the dinner table to the side and bring in our sleeping futons. The futons were pretty comfy.

In the morning, we had the breakfast in the dining room. Again, lots of little dishes that would appeal to the adventurous eater. Everyone was very nice. You can eat more economically out of the hotel, but these meals were more about the experience. We're more used to traditional Western style hotels, but it was cool to have this experience.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank interviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotesano, 支配人 at Hotel Sanoya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thank you for your staying and very good review for our hotel.
We`re going to try more good service and facilities.
If you come to kyoto again,please come to our hotel.
We`re looking forward to your visit.
Please good luck.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews