We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,427)
Filter reviews
3,427 results
Traveller rating
1,849
1,256
235
58
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,849
1,256
235
58
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station le temps granvia lounge department store station complex convenient location can't beat the location hotel restaurants excellent location large hotel high floor city view your doorstep concierge service kansai airport superior room easy access
Filter
Updating list...
1,939 - 1,944 of 3,427 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Would agree with all the positive comments about the hotel. We booked through their website and got a great deal. We were there on our honeymoon and told them, so they took a photo of us on our first day there, framed it and presented it to us when we left 4 days later. The hotel is convenient, away from the noise of the station even though it's directly in it, has a lovely pool/sauna and lots of places to eat and shop. We went to Hiroshima and Nara for the day by train and it was extremely easy. Likewise, the buses to other Kyoto sites are outside the station. A grand place and would thoroughly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Footprints1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

The hotel is great for a number of reasons but mainly the location. You are in the station (literally one floor above it) but it's removed from the noise and hectic atmosphere. there are two shopping malls connected to the station, a grocery store, and all the souvenier shops you could want.
We stayed in a standard plus room with twin beds and it was lovely. the beds and the chairs were really comfortable, the TV had the Discovery Channel in english, the fridge was big and the bathroom was really nice. the view out the window was spectacular. best of all, the room was very clean.
The service was fine.
One major complaint: you had to pay for the Internet. There was wireless in your room but without a personal computer, it was 100 yen for ten minutes.
if you get a japan rail pass (which we highly recommend for anyone traveling between cities), you can get a discount at this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Road802815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

The Granvia is a huge hotel, especially by Japan standards - the rooms are really spacious. There's a variety of restaurants to choose from, so you won't have any trouble finding something - There's a tempura restaurant and a teppanyaki restaurant just to name a few (the wagyu beef at the teppanyaki restaurant was some of the most tender beef I've ever eaten!)

Adjoining the Kyoto station, it's also an extremely convenient location - you're able to arrive directly at the train station by bullet train from Tokyo, or through the normal trains that connect most of the area. It's also a prime place for sightseeing, as the bus stop for buses around Kyoto is less than a 2 minute walk from the lobby of the hotel. The station itself also houses a department store, and plenty of shops as well if you're looking to buy something as well.

highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itsnarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Stayed here for 5 nights in August.

I support the views of the other reviewers so will not repeat what has been said before.
I found this Hotel through TripAdviser and was very happy for the 5 nights. Its a great base for Kyoto and we travelled to Tokyo and Hiroshima from the JR Station beside the Hotel. The room was very quiet (11th floor facing city) and we nearly slept in ...relaxing base camp ...close to many many shops and restaurants.
The small pool inside is about $10AUS to use .for 20min ..but I guess that keeps the Nos down...did not use.
If you have a JR rail pass you can get a discount on the accommodation if you book direct ..see web site.
We had breakfast outside as the Hotel price was about $24AUS each and we only wanted coffee and cake.
Would stay here again without a doubt.

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FelixF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

I've been to this hotel for 6 nights with my wife. We were there from 13th to the 19th of August, but we were unable to reserve for the night ot the 16th of August, since it is a special traditional occasion in Kyoto and the hotel seemed to be fully booked.
But when we arrived, they were able to give us a king size room for the whole period, thus including the 16th.

People at front desk were really friendly and helpful.
Room was really large for Japanese standards, the bathroom was well equiped. Cleaning service was very good, the room was very silent and comfortable.

The hotel is inside the Kyoto JR station, that is a perfect location both for exploring the city and for having some day-trip outside the city. What's more, all the main bus lines stop just outside of the station, so you can reach easily every attraction and location.

In the JR station, just in front of the hotel, stands the tourist office and a big department store. We used to go there and get european style croissants and cakes for breakfast in the morning... (we did not have breakfast included, but there were coffee and tea facilities in the room).
Complimentary internet connection was available in the room (no wireless though).

The hotel itself has some restaurant at the top floor, but quite expensive (we didn't try them). The Sky loung on the top floor has great view and is worth the visit for a drink at night.

Would definitively stay there again if back in Kyoto!

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Strady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews