We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Styles Kyoto Station(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
USD 117
USD 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kyoto Itoya Hotel(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
USD 108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
USD 417
USD 397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,320)
Filter reviews
3,320 results
Traveller rating
1,802
1,212
227
53
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,802
1,212
227
53
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationle tempsgranvia loungedepartment storestation complexconvenient locationcan't beat the locationhotel restaurantsexcellent locationhigh floorlarge hotelyour doorstepkansai airportconcierge servicesuperior roomcity vieweasy access
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 3,320 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Excellent location at station and a huge hotel. Rooms and facilities were excellent but the breakfast were woeful. We were ther for four days and each day we tried a different time but always there was a long queue. When we got seated there wer failures for rolls, bread, milk, and total lack of process and management for the numbers of guests. Surely it was possible to open another area for continental breakfasts?

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mppherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 May 2018

Thank you for staying at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, and wrote us a valuable comment.

There are three options for the breakfast,please choose it according to your preference.

We are very pleased to receive the word of compliment, such as the location,the room etc.
We will be more than happy to welcome you back in Hotel Grandvia Kyoto at some other time in the future.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Requested a double bedded non-smoking room and got a twin room where smoking was apparent. In fact, the corridors of the 9th floor smelt of stale smoke, contrary to the so called environmental nature of the hotel. Attempts at a room change proved futile. Rooms are tired with a bathroom ‘pod’. Breakfast is ok if you are happy to queue for 15 minutes. Staff seem friendly but the hotel is surviving on its very convenient and ideal location in the architecturally brilliant station building. I would not stay there again as I am sure there are better hotels within this area.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 May 2018

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Granvia Kyoto.

Because the number of non-smoking rooms is limited,
we apologize we were not able to provide you with the non-smoking room.

Thank you for mentioning the great location. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Location - Ideal as within Kyoto station - also close to shopping malls, restaurants and JTB Tour pick up. Ideal for business and / or leisure.

Check-in / reception - Professional, quick and attentive.

Room

Space - We stayed in one of the superior rooms and were pleasantly surprised by
the size of the room (bed and seating area looking out across the city).

Bed / pillows - Very comfortable for even the most fussy of sleepers.

Bathroom - Powerful shower and wet room. Ability to change the lighting and
large sink area.

Lighting - Good all round with large windows.

Other

Housekeeping - The hotel was spotless and room always serviced as required.

Excellent air conditioning, sound proofing, lots of USB / plug areas, higher quality
bathroom amenities, well stocked mini bar and tea / coffee making facilities.

Restaurants / bar - Large selection across the building to cater for all tastes. Room service was always on time, polite and to a good quality. In room American breakfast was of a met our requirements. Granvia Lounge relaxed and mixture of soft drinks, teas, cereals and pastries.

Staff - Exceptional! Very professional email responses, excellent first impressions, concierge always available and English spoken. Probably the best hotel service during our visit to Japan. The service by all staff cannot be underestimated - just superb.

Summary

We would not hesitate to book this hotel again, excellent service, facilities and location. Worth the extra cost compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 May 2018

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us.

Thank you for the compliments.
Your warm words encourage us than anything else.

We will strive to provide better services, and truly look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel was conveniently situated inside the train station. That is it's only redeeming quality. However, the rooms and service need much improvement. The concierge seemed to be shy on knowledge of simple things like names of subway trains to take. The rooms need a major upgrade.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 May 2018

Thank you for coming to Hotel Granvia Kyoto.
We will reinforce the education of the staff,so that we can give our customers more helpful suggestion or idea.

We apologize for the disappoint you experienced during your stay.
Actually, we conducting a renovation of the entire hotel from 2017.
Now the Granvia Floor (14th, 15th floor) is completed.Other floors will be renovated from 2018 and are expected to be completed by spring 2020.
When you come to Kyoto next time and want to stay in a new room,please choose the Granvia Floor.

We are very pleased to receive the compliment about the location.Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon to Japan.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel adjoins the rail station. It has over 500 rooms. Unfortunately this leads to a very impersonal take it or leave it service.
The rooms are nice and breakfast is ok although most of the hot food is a little too cold for European taste.
We had a terrible experience here in the sky bar where we ordered 4 drinks and paid for them. The following morning on check out they had been charged again. 30 minutes later with 4 staff surrounding me, I paid again despite having 3 witnesses. Terrible staff and management attitude to a problem most hotels would have handled better. I could not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Derlin2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia-kyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Derlin2017,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and for your time to write the review.
Please allow us to clarify the situation, as it seems that there are still misunderstanding in regards to the payment. We have a record of your signed check that you had charged the beverage bill to your room account when you left the lounge, not paid by cash at the night. Therefore, there were remaining charge on your room account when you stopped by to the front desk on the following night. We sincerely apologize that it took us some time to verify the payment situation, and made you feel discomfort.
As we strive daily in our efforts to deliver the utmost in customer satisfaction, we will have further guest service training in order to insure that this type of discomforting experience does not get repeated.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews