We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service,nice english speaking ability”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #44 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service,nice english speaking ability”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stay here for 8days , hotel provide high quality green milk tea and nice coffee for free, bath water is heated immediately . The hotel response the request immediately. very good service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr.hsieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
DeaR Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are very glad that you liked with us.
Free coffee and gleen tea are very popular for tourists.
So next time if you come here again, please try there as well.

Sincerely

Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    596
    178
    47
    21
See reviews for
301
489
141
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Perfect choice for an affordable but comfortable stay in Kyoto. Conveniently situated for the various different train and bus options, and for eating out. Rooms are small but spotlessly clean, the beds and pillows nicely firm and there are some nice touches like free coffee and matcha (green tea) milk drink from a machine in reception. They'll look after your bags for free before check-in/after check-out. I bought breakfast at the supermarket a few doors down and kept in the fridge overnight but you're also spoilt for choice for cheap Japanese restaurants within 3 minutes' walk, even at 8am. We were only there for a long weekend so didn't have much luggage, but anyone with a bulky suitcase or two might find it a bit too cramped - no wardrobe or drawers, just some hangers on wall-hooks, so you can't unpack, and no free floor space to speak of where you could put a case either. Carry-on baggage only!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank underw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us.
It seems that you are satisfied with us mostly.
We are central located in Kyoto so it is very easy to hang around.
On the other hand, We are very sorry that you feel small for the room.
but we have large twin room so if you have a chance to come here
please try it.
I do not think that you feel small and there is a space for your luggage.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

SIncerely

Yuzuru Kuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Located right on Shijo Dori, this hotel is a very basic but very clean and modern hotel that is likely considered a "businessman's hotel" in Japanese vernacular. I booked two rooms at approx. 7,000 yen per night each, or less than $Cdn100 per night. It had everything I needed since I was really only there to sleep - very quiet and housekeeping was great. The only small complaint would be that the pillows were harder than I liked.

Location was also great, since there were three of us, we took taxis to most places, which were usually 600-700 yen rides. However, it is an easy walk to Pontocho and Nishiki market.

I highly recommend this hotel unless you really must have luxury surroundings. Travellers should note that the lobby is on the second floor so you have to take the elevator up when you arrive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BC_family54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madam.

Thank you very much for your message.
We are very glad that you made a lots of compliments.
But We are very sorry for the pillows.

How was your trip in Kyoto?
Next time, you come to Kyoto, please stay with us.
We are really looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

the staff is very friendly and kindness
also can speak english well
so,,,next time i will stay in there too,,,
nice hotel
i love it: )

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank リョウケンキン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your message.
We are very glad that you are satisfied with our hotel.
When you have a chance to come back here, please stay with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had a great stay at the Hotel MyStays in Kyoto. While the rooms are smallish (normal for Japan), they were clean and inviting. The beds were comfortable and extra blankets were available in the cabinet by the elevator which was helpful because it was a little cool in the rooms (not a big deal). Breakfast is available in the mornings in the restaurant on the first floor if ordered the night before and there is a laundry room that is accessible to guests. The hotel staff speak some English which was very helpful to us. Hotel MyStays is not quite as centrally located as some of the other Kyoto hotels we were considering, but it was a very good value. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCP07733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your message.
It seems like that you are satsfied with our hotel.
Breakfast is available from 7:00 to 9:30 so
you can order it before 9:30.
I think that you could enjoy the traditional Japanese breakfast.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Kyoto.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#36 of 369 in Kyoto
521 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#26 of 369 in Kyoto
318 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Property: Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price range (per night): $92 - $377
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing