We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
100
224
80
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
224
80
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstokyu handsgreat locationjr stationminute walkwalking distancebudget hotelair conwestern style hotelshops and restaurantsreception staffkobe beefhotel is locatedshort stayenglish speaking staffone night stayfamily martjapanese cuisine
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Easy access to station and lots restaurants nearby! Though, it turned to another world during the night; feel a bit not comfortable walk out alone! Breakfast is not much to choose, and the staff is not as welcomed as frontdesk staff

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tsungyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear Tsungyy,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the b kobe.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location but somewhat disappointed with our breakfast service. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. You may have noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are on Kobe may we also suggest that you visit Ikuta shrine and the south end of Ikuta dori where you will discover a world of itself.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

On our recent trip to Japan, this was one of 2 hotels we stayed in around Kobe (also stayed in The b Sangenjaya when we visited Tokyo) and it was lovely!
We'd read a few reviews before we visited, a few people moaning about breakfast, language barrier etc as normal but we always try to go with an open mind and we loved this hotel!

We arrived late on Sunday night, the staff were efficient and helpful (as we found EVERYWHERE). Yes there can be a problem with language but remember, you're in JAPAN.
All staff we encountered were lovely, respectful and helpful. We had a Japan Guide Book with phrases that we tried to use during our stay but with our embarrassment at trying not to get things wrong, all we could manage was 'Arigato'...it's a start I guess?!

The breakfast was fine, there was a fairly Western option in scrambled eggs, small Frankfurter type sausages and fries/wedges/potato which did the job. Always cooked, always tasty. I believe there were other options which were a bit more Japanese but I'm not a bit eater in the mornings so I was fine with the eggs.

The location can't be faulted - be careful to look out for the hotel logo as it is possible to walk past it, but it's only 5 mins walk away from Sannomiya JR station.
There are loads of bars and eateries around to keep you occupied and obviously, easy access to travel further afield.

My only problem was the bed, but that is my issue and no real fault of the hotel. They are Japanese style beds (obviously), which are very firm which didn't mix well with the sore back I had at the time! Again, this was not the hotel's fault.
The bathroom was lovely, the biggest of our whole stay, clean and modern and with everything you need.
People have commented that the room was small but to be honest, it was bigger than I expected and a lot bigger than the room in Tokyo (which I didn't think was too small). I didn't have a problem with the size of it at all.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2015

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding your recent stay at the b kobe.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location, proximity to public transportation and the service from our staff. We’re sorry that you felt our beds to be firm. As you say, in japan given the tatami custom beds do seem to be firmer. As you may have noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are on Kobe may we also suggest that you visit Ikuta shrine and the south end of Ikuta dori where you will discover a world of itself.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

I was invited to visit of the biotech company in Kobe. They booked one night for me to stay in this hotel so I couldn't complaint about that haha. But hey, the hotel is in the city center. Walking distance from the biggest train/subway station in Kobe, Sannomiya station. Surrounded w/ many restaurants, cafes and night entertainments so you won't get bored though you are traveling solo. I only stayed for one night so I got no negative comments here. The breakfast was great though the restaurant is a bit too small for all the guests.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank supeririy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2015

Dear Supeririy,

We are glad to read that you appreciated the location of our hotel and the comfort of your room.

Thank you also for mentioning that you enjoyed our breakfast. You may have noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are on Kobe may we also suggest that you visit Ikuta shrine and the south end of Ikuta dori where you will discover a world of itself.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Recently stayed at the b kobe. We had 2 rooms and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Many dining, bar and shopping options around the hotel. We found a small restaurant close to the hotel and enjoyed local style food on most nights. The hotel is very clean and tidy and the team provide excellent service. It is close to all rail service...5 mins to subway and 10 mins to JR lines. Overall fantasic hotel to stay in.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank GRM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear GRM88,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b kobe.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the cleanliness, location of our hotel and proximity to public transportation. You may have noticed we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are on Kobe may we also suggest that you visit Ikuta shrine and the south end of Ikuta dori where you will discover a world of itself.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

I arrived on a rainy night. It was difficult pushing the luggage trying to find the hotel despite using the gps. In the end, I took a taxi to the hotel and paid 800 yen for the short ride. The hotel is located in an area full of restaurants. Unfortunately, the rain does not make one want to venture out.
The room is indeed small despite being twin sharing and after having stayed at Hotel Nikko KIX the night before. There was hardly any space for 2 pieces of large and medium luggage. Toiletries cannot beat Nikko but sufficient. If you need a hair band and shower cap, they are available at the reception.
One advantage the hotel has is the complimentary laundry facilities on the 3rd floor. Be warned because it is highly used by the guests and one has to wait ages to get a chance to use either the washer or the dryer. I actually waited about 10 min for the washer and more than 90 min for the dryer just standing outside the laundry room. I wasn't alone, there was another guest waiting with me. The dryer doesn't work very well after spinning for 2.5 hours past midnight, the clothes were still damp.
I find the bed mattress firm and not the rock hard it was described. Like what the other guests have commented, you can take a miss of brekkie at the II Alberta.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wanderlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at the b kobe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear Wanderlen,

Thank you for your comments concerning the b kobe.
We are glad to read that you appreciated our hotel’s laundry facilities. We are sorry to read that you arrived on a rainy day for you could have noticed that we are located so close to many of Kobe’s great attractions, Shrines and shopping. Next time you are on Kobe may we also suggest that you visit Ikuta shrine and the south end of Ikuta dori where you will discover a world of itself.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews