We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kobe City Gardens Hotel
Ranked #83 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We arrived by ship into Kobe and spent our first night in Japan at this hotel. I was really pleased with our choice of location.I took the ships shuttle bus to mid-town and enquired how to find this hotel from there. I was pleasantly surprised when we only had to travel one stop by train from Motomachi station to the next stop Kobe station. This was on the JR line but we didn't want to start our JR pass until the next day so the fare was 120 yen for the one stop. It was literally a 5 minute walk out of the station to the front door of the hotel(with luggage) This is an excellent budget hotel.Toiletries, gowns( although uber small in size), slippers, electric jug, tea service along with a fridge are all in the room. A laundromat and powder is available too. Reception speak great English and were very helpful-just what we needed. There is a good supermarket at the station where you can purchase lots of ready-made, ready to eat food as is the norm in Japan. We bought beer and a bottle of wine there too. The bed was really comfortable but be sure to ask for a non smoking room when booking if applicable. Sannomiya station is the change station to the Shin-Kobe ( Shinkansen bullet train line) This is a new clean hotel that I wouldn't hesitate revisiting and just perfect if you don't want to spend a fortune on accommodation and have just left a cruise. The following day we ventured to Himeji Castle for a day trip. Its a great destination to start your Japan visit and only 40 minutes by train from Kobe station. Its 970 yen each way if you don't have the JR pass At Hemiji walk out of the station and look to the far end of the street where you will see the beautiful white castle in the distance The white Egret-like main keep is a world heritage site and well worth a visit Its an easy flat walk to get there from the station.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2015

The location of hotel is quite good as its less than 5 minutes walk from Kobe Station. The Duo Kobe Habourland & Umie Shopping mall is all within walking distance and can be accessed from the underground train station, which is next to the JR Kobe. Sannomiya is just a few station away if you fancy trying the Kobe Beef.
Free wifi is provided which is a plus but The room is really tiny. It just fit in a double bed, a table and chair. Not much walking room left. There is also no interconnecting or adjacent room. We booked 2 room as we're a family of five and were given different floor. This is not a problem as my kids are old enough but it does cause some inconvenience.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 鈺喬孫
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizuki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 禁煙希望の方はチェックイン時にはっきり伝えるべき
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Kobe Station
Chisun Hotel Kobe
Chisun Hotel Kobe
#42 of 117 in Kobe
293 reviews
Hotel Suave Kobe Asuta
#20 of 117 in Kobe
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motomachi Station
Kobe Plaza Hotel
Kobe Plaza Hotel
#55 of 117 in Kobe
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kobe City Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kobe City Gardens Hotel

Address: 4-7-18 Aioicho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0025, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe > Kobe Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price Range: $52 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kobe City Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 20 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HostelWorld, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kobe City Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shisyuen Hotel Kobe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing