We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“pretty good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Ranked #11 of 2,314 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Guilin, China
1 review
“pretty good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was my first stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake.I had a pretty good stay at this hotel,with impressive lobby and friendly staff at the front desk,they were really very helpful.The hotel is in a great location. You can actually walk to the Westlake.
I will come again once I am in Hangzhou.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wu x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    215
    86
    33
    17
See reviews for
84
106
31
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I followed the recommendation of Eyewitness guides to book this hotel, which may be for me the only affordable 5 dollar sign recommendation by Eyewitness guides in all of their series. The service and the room were sharp and French thoughtful. All staff are friendly and helpful. But there are only few rooms have a Westlake view. Most of the rooms either face a traffic heavy boulevard, or have views towards local residents' kitchens (no, no shower room view). The hotel should be good for people needing a solid night life activity, as I heard the hotel may be the five star (World standard) hotel that is closest to the bar district in Hangzhou. You may need to taxi to some high end shopping area if you want shopping, since walking other than along the lake side may diminish your happy experience in Hangzhou.

I did not designate an excellent rating was because of the hotel's French restaurant. Their patisserie has much rooms to improve. The Hangzhou cuisine restaurant, however, is superb; with a higher price tag you can eat safely, and save the taxi fare to the famous restaurants in Hangzhou.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guillaume22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights- near the west lake, cozy room, good service, food good as well. Will be my choice again if got a chance traveling in hangzhou- beautiful city indeed!!

It's kind of old fashioned judging from the look of the building, but really well maintained and provided hotel rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UmaZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangdong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

actully, this is for my business trip in hangzhou. And i no nothing about this city. My friend recommed this hotel for me. It's very suprised. The location is very good, it's in the center of the city, very near from the High speed train station, and very convenient for my business trip. It's also very near from the West lake. I love the street near by which called Nanshan Road,a lots of coffee shops, art gallery, very romantic. I would like to give a full star for the staff. Very warmlly, friendly, and smart. They care about me, like me feel like they know me before i came here. The food there also very wonderful, everything is perfect for this trip. It's amazing to find a nice place to star my wonderful trip. I will come back again, i love the perfume which seems from the SPA, and i prefre the club Room, very comfortable and considerate.

Room Tip: They told me no lake view when i made a reservation, but it's just 5 minutes to get the West Lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel's located on a nice scenic area of Westlake, with lots of bars, coffee shops and restaurants nearby. And Ferrari, Aston Martin and Porsche dealers too if that's what you fancy. The train station is about a 20 minute walk and the recently refurbished "market" tourist (mainly Chinese) district is within walking distance too. I also walked round to the "dancing waters" area near some of the other western hotels.

The main feature of this hotel though has to be the staff. They all seem proud to work there and offer a really special, friendly and courteous service. The fifth floor Club Lounge is very nice (glad to help with printing boarding cards etc) and the rooms are large and comfortable with a bit of Chinese character.Turn-down service has nice biscuits and the laundry service is quick and efficient, with shirts coming back in a nice wicker box.

This is my second stay here and I find it very civilised and without any real faults.

Room Tip: 5th floor Club upgrade is definitely worth it if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,314 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#5 of 2,314 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#3 of 2,314 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#29 of 2,314 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Property: Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#39 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price range (per night): $140 - $289
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake occupies a unique lakeside site close to Hangzhou’s business and shopping district, only a short walk from the recreational complex of Xihutiandi. Business and leisure travelers alike will find this the ideal location for a comfortable and relaxing stay. 2014, Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake has re-launched to enable the hotel to offer enhanced guest service and better reflect the Sofitel trademark blend of French sophistication and art de vivre with the essence of traditional Chinese hospitality. Hotel enjoys convenient access to Hangzhou’s Xiaoshan International Airport and the Hangzhou East Railway Station. It takes only 10 minutes by car to reach the Hangzhou City Railway Station and five minutes on foot to Metro Line 1 station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Wotif.com so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing