We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
40
23
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
23
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wealthy merchant amazing hotel comfortable bed noodles pedestrian skyscrapers china
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

There are so many grand hotels and buildings springing up in China that abound in every city. This is a wonderful exception that I hope will portend more old buildings being conserved and restored for commercial use.
This was an old building that was extensively renovated and equipped with all the trappings of a luxurious 5 star hotel, minus the modern outer shell.
Rooms were compact but very well equipped with a very comfortable bed, fine linen sheets, a lovely bathroom with period tiles, a very efficient aircon/heating system and quite decent sound proofing, wooden walls and doors notwithstanding.
The reception kindly pointed us down the street to an excellent local restaurant for dinner and the hotel breakfast was also excellent.Lovely courtyards, a tea room and a library complete the experience of what a local noble or wealthy merchant would have experienced 100 years ago. Well worth the experience!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LiangTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 August 2018

Thank you for your good commets, hope you have a nice trip in China

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful original hotel in the center of Kunming.
The staff and manager were very friendly and helpful.
The organized all our visits and transfers very well.
They can even provide a local mobile phone for foreigners who need it.
One thing which can be improved though is recommendations on local restaurants.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mariec_cilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 August 2018

Thank you for you good comments, our hotel have very good local food, if you have time you could order our hotel's food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I compared Silver Chest to other highly rated skyscraper modern hotels before making a reservation. We definitely made the right choice in selecting Silver Chest which oozed old world atmosphere. Our only criticism was lack of space to store clothes. We also appreciated Superb communication with an English speaking staff member prior to trip and again after arrival when we needed help with arrangements when our plane was delayed over night in Beijing.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 August 2018

Thank you dear guest, hope you happy everyday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

What a lovely place. Restored in the right way, with comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Not big, but adequate. Service was good as well. Breakfast options a bit limited, but the food was good. Can't beat the location. No aircon, but fan was enough to cool the room.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Great location but off street so needed to coordinate arrival with hotel. Located in tiny remaining old section of town. Good restaurants nearby. Highly recommend. Great change from mainstream hotels

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 35LizH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews