We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
19
24
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
24
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed here in October 2012. Family of 5 with older children. Staff try very hard to help, but struggle with English. We were lucky to have one of our group speaking fluent Mandarin, or we would have run into problems. It is definitely a business hotel. Location is good though and the buffet breakfast is amazing!! Lovely gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens. Rooms at the back are near the construction, so are noisier with no view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is a typical hotel suited for Chinese businessmen.
Our bathroom flooded because the drain was blocked.
The staff try hard, but struggled dealing with foreigners.
My advice is to stay away from here until the subway construction is finished. Many roads are blocked, dusty, noise, etc.
I wouldn't say it was unpleasant, but it certainly wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Nice, clean hotel in a quiet cul de sac off a busy central road. Not much English spoken and no English TV channels so come prepared with a phrase book if you are not local. From here you can walk all around central Kunming very easily. Good choice at breakfast at a huge buffet and good service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joxon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were worried when we got in the taxi at the airport and the driver said, "Why do you want to go there? There are lots of better hotels in the city center. That place is all messed up." Well it turns out he was referring to the traffic in the area, which is bad for the time being because they are building a subway.

The hotel itself is really lovely, quiet and secluded, and the garden is large, well kept and beautiful. It was a great place for an evening walk, with azaleas, bougainvillea and bamboo artfully interspersed with ponds and Chinese pavilions. Our room was large and well-lit with two full beds with feather pillows. Overall it was very clean, though there were some stains on the carpet. The hotel is generally very quiet, though we did hear some muffled voices from the next room.

The service was very good, and the staff was very helpful in getting us a cab at 5 AM for an early flight out (this despite the warning from our first driver that there would be no cabs available at that hour). They also made us some delicious boxed breakfasts to take with us since we would miss the regular breakfast.

A couple of small things were less-than-ideal: (1) the smoke detector on the ceiling had a mini strobe light that flashed every few minutes - not noticeable when the lights were on, but in the middle of the night when you're still suffering from jet lag, it was annoying. (2) We had the dinner buffet since we did not feel like venturing out of the secluded comfort of the compound, and it was disappointing. While there was a nice variety, the serving dishes were not well heated and most of the food was lukewarm. We were very worried about possible food contamination - buffets are always a risk - but we were fine and did not have any gastrointestinal issues.

This hotel has an interesting aspect. It's not so much a tourist hotel as a conference facility and seems to be used frequently by the local Communist Party for various functions. So if you want to rub elbows with some real CCP apparatchiks this is the place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethesdaTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

The standard of the rooms in this hotel was much higher than I expected. The rooms were very modern with lovely large clean bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet with a good variety of food - chinese and western.

The hotel itself is average looking, but it is set in a lovely garden with lakes and it is beautiful place to come back to after a long day sightseeing.

It's location is nice and central, so no need to catch a taxi if you enjoy a walk.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dragonfly1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews