We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 122
USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gran Melia Xi'an(Xi'an)
USD 305
USD 121
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 95
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 128
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Xi'an(Xi'an)
USD 159
USD 132
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 154
USD 137
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 127
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 116
USD 110
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 87
USD 78
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
22
36
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
36
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is part of a large beautiful new park called Tang Paradse. If you stay at the hotel you have free admission to the park. The park and hotel are both very relaxing and I enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is in Tang style. The breakfast is not up to much. The rooms are average but do not come with hair shampoo! We also had a private business dinner for about 10 people at the hotel and this was very good. In the dining room there were pictures of Angela Merkel also visiting the hotel in the past! The hotel is also close to one of the ancient Goose pagodas. I would stay here again for business and even consider bringing family for holiday. It is very nice to stay in a hotel that is a little different from the big chains.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was our 3rd trip to Xian and after seeing most of the sites Xian has to offer, we thought why not stay in this uniquely Tang dynasty themed hotel for a change? We made the right choice by staying here for our last night in Xian, on the eve of the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (11th Sept 2011). This was after staying the first two nights at the Citadines Apartment Hotel near the Drum Tower and one night in Luoyang for its Longmen Grottoes.

This hotel is located to the south of the Ming ancient walls of Xian. From the Hotel's main entrance, there is nothing to be seen nor shops to buy things from. However, if you exit the Hotel's lobby to its adjoining Tang Paradise theme park, and walk 10 minutes to its West gate, you would be in for a surprise - restaurants and shops abound. Cross the road in front of the West gate, and walk straight on, turn right on the second road and you would see the Big Goose Pagoda (Dayanta) and the nearby Northern Square (Bei Guanzhang) with its alluring musical fountain (6-6.30pm daily).

It was raining dogs and cats, a good 24 hours in what they call Autumn rain during our stay at the Hotel. Still, we took advantage of the free access to the theme park and had some good pictures taken there, an otherwise RMB90 entrance fee per person. What a beautiful park indeed, well planned and well laid out, with a gigantic man made lake. Worth it to spend at least an hour there. There is even a nightly show, staged between 8.30-9pm. We knew about it but was too tired, packing for our departure, so did not see it.

Our lake view standard room located on the ground floor (the building has only two floors) is in no way spacious, but neither was it crammed. It has two spacious twin beds (very comfy but with horrid flat pillows!), a 46-50 inch Hitachi flat screen TV (surprise by its mere size!), a non-operable balcony with no furniture on it, an adequate smallish bath room with tub and rain shower (no hand held shower here, a tad strange!) and two arm chairs with a small table.

The lake views from the room was simply gorgeous, so its worthwhile to pay a little extra for lake view rooms. The room was also decorated nicely with Chinese wood carvings, in line with the overall theme of the Hotel. Though its only 6 years old, there is some noticeable wear and tear in the room but this did not detract our stay in any way. Room was blissfully quiet after 9pm when the half hour show ended and we had a good night's rest before our departure flight the next day.

The Hotel's common areas, in contrast, is very well maintained and decorated. Staff are mostly helpful and courteous. They provided us with two free breakfasts but the food was only average at best for a 4 star hotel. The one and only Chinese restaurant (where you have breakfasts) , however, serves above average quality food in our room - the BBQ lamp ribs are to die for! For the Moon Cake Festival, we were even given one big box of 10 moon cakes - nice touch!

Our glitches of staying here are somewhat minor -
1. no Wifi in room nor common areas, only provided a cable for internet
2. slight wear and tear in room but still acceptable
3. location not as central
4. our room card had failed to work after breakfasts, and only a mechanic could open it. Wasted 10 minutes of our precious time while driver is waiting to send us to the airport ...
5. only one English channel on its gigantic TV

Overall, we thought we had enjoyed our stay very much. Still recommendable for a one or two nights stay if you have seen much of Xian has to offer. Finally, our car ride to the Xian Xiangyang Airport took exactly one hour in no jam situation on a Public Holiday. Hence, do provide more time if you are leaving on a weekday. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book at least a Lake view standard room, you would enjoy its views, day and night!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

By Western standards, this doesn't come close to being first class. The outside is a beautiful replica from the Tang Dynasty. The inside feels like it was a holdover from the Mao era. It is located beside a beautiful park which allows you free admission. The staff, while limited in their English skills, is excellent. The breakfast buffet leaves a lot to be desired. Not sure if it was the presentation or the food itself, but it ranks pretty low. There was no WiFi so the free internet was via ethernet. Maybe it's my fault for using Beijing standards to rank a hotel in Xi'an...

Having said all of this, I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Xi'an and think it's an incredible city.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
Thank wxyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This was described by our tour operator as a 'first class character hotel'. Well, it wasn't.
We had a deluxe room which was large with armchairs and quite comfortable but there was no way of turning on the bedside light from my side of the bed and the room looked in need of updating.
Although the hotel itself is in a lovely setting with direct access to a fantastic park, the view from our window was of roofs and was consequently quite dark. It might be worthwhile asking for a room with a view.
Due to the design of the hotel, the walks between our room, reception and the dining room were very long. There was no lift and we had to take our suitcases up and down a couple of flights of stairs. There was no bellboy available.

Breakfast in the rather tired dining room was poor with a limited buffet of lukewarm food.
The room service meal, however, was good.
Staff on the whole seemed uninterested and disinclined to go out of their way to help. We were leaving very early on our last morning before the dining room was open for breakfast and, although we had originally been told that a cold breakfast would be made available, the reception staff told us this would not be possible. We finally got a decent 'takeaway' breakfast from them but it took a lot of effort on our part.
I'd go back again simply because of the location but with an update and better staff training it could be so much better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annebailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We used Dragon Delight International Tours for our 6 day tour of Beijing and Xi'an. Everything was done with great attention to detail. We were picked up and chauffeured around with no problems. We toured everywhere we wanted around Beijing and flew to Xi'an to see the Terra Cotta soldiers. The hotels booked were 5 star and our airline was booked for our travel to Xi'an and back. I did everything over the internet and they handled everything. This is the first tour I have booked like this since I usually do all my own bookings but felt the language barrier would be too much. This tour company was exception as was our tour guide Stephanie in Beijing. The hotel in Xi'an was the Tang Paradise hotel and was beautiful. There is a park behind it that guests have access to. It has a water movie at night and you have to see it to believe it. It's no wonder they put on such a spectacular show at the Olympics because this show beat any of the shows put on in Vegas. Our hotel in Beijing was the Crown Plaza. Now we stayed free using points and they treated us as valued guests better than we've ever been treated. My husband is a platimum member and we were up graded and had breakfast included.Loved the whole experience

2  Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews