We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
34
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free afternoon tea tea room street food tatami style modern boutique hotel scenic area night market chinese dishes central location minute walk location is great li river desks calligraphy curtains elevator luggage
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Small hotel, only 30+ rooms, but very lovely. Good location right at the entrance to elephant hill park, Very friendly staff, excellent and large rooms (make sure you get one with window since they also have some without), great decoration everywhere. Absolutely to be recommended! Small minus : the breakfast could be somewhat improved, especially the western selection

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RainerGuangzhouChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We booked the Elephant Trunk Hill Hotel because of its location, small size, and past reviews. What we found is a boutique hotel unlike anything that we had stayed before. This is a villa like hotel designed with peace and tranquility in mind. From the top floor terrace to the main dinning room, the reception area and the tearoom, and how each guest room was designed, you can see the attention the owner had given the hotel.

We stayed in 6232 with a wall of windows facing the park and the lake. A glass wall separates the bathroom with a shower, and a curtain gives you privacy. Together, it makes the room feel much bigger. The room has a comfortable queen bed and opening the windows bring in fresh air.

Try out their breakfast in their main dinning room. Their breakfast is designed to give you a healthy balance diet before you head out for a day’s tour. When you come back, you must go to the top floor terrace, where you can have slack, listen to music, browse the library, try your hand on Chinese calligraphy, access the internet with their computer, or just have tea or purchase a beer or two. Final, you must try out the Kohler toilet at the terrace/tearoom. It’s one of those high-tech toilets with heated seat and build in wash. Just be aware, your wife may decide to order one of this $3000-toilets for your home.

There is one caveat. Because of its size and design, it’s impossible to fit an elevator into the hotel and the reception is on the third floor. But not to worry, the security guard at the entrance is given the special task of helping guests with their luggage.

If you want to get away from the big hotels with large tour groups but still want a 5 star treatment in a small package, you should try out this villa in the Elephant Truck Hill.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

That's what you will say when it's time to leave. We stayed in the family room and will never regret it. It's super roomy with two queen beds, a spearerate spacious shower room, bathroom with a fantastic tub, a loft with its own tea service area, and I could go on. It's nestled right against the Elephant Trunk Hill park in a cul-de-sac providing just the right amount of tranquility from the street traffic.

Enjoy an assortment of teas, fruit, and light pastries/cookies in the third floor hospitality center. I recommend taking right outside on the third floor terrace and enjoy the view and relax while listening to one of the talented musicians play songs on their authentic stringed instruments.

The staff is extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. You will find at least one of them speaks English. Their staff helped us select the perfect private excursion which topped off our visit. As I mentioned, we wished we would have planned one extra day to just relax at this most peaceful setting. The restaurant was great also. It serves a variety of local dishes.

Room Tip: Go with the Family Room if you have four people.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Great choice for an overnight stop in Guilin. Large spotless rooms and bathrooms with an authentic Chinese breakfast and free afternoon tea on the roof terrace.
10 minutes walk to the night market where we enjoyed massage and street food, and 2 minutes walk to Joy Cafe for a delicious cup of coffee. The hotel is situated next door to the Elephant Trunk scenic area so convenient for a pre-breakfast walk before the Chinese tourists descend.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The hotel is quite nice, the rooms are clean - not spectacular but comfortable. The free tea in the afternoon is really tasty and there is a lot of little snacks you can enjoy with it (also for free). Booked a trip to the rice terraces which was much better (cool tour guide!) than a tour we booked individually the day before. It is directly at the Elephant Trunk Hill, so that is a cool location :)

Room Tip: Ask for the toilet - cause we first had a typical Chinese one - which was a bit weird :)
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 732benediktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews