We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
This is not a good place

In 2019, my family and I went to Lake Baikal. This is a very unusual lake. It is the deepest lake... read more

Reviewed 17 June 2020
_Z1054HP
Excursion to lake Baikal

Hello, dear friends and readers of my review! In this review, I want to tell you about my trip to... read more

Reviewed 15 June 2020
StasTri
,
Stavropol, Russia
via mobile
Read all 489 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
423
49
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
423
49
9
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The lake is mesmerizing and has to be experienced first hand ...it cannot be described in words ! Each side of the lake presents a different scene and each time of the day different colors. Take a chairlift and see the panoramic view and the circumbaikal rail to see it from different angles. A visit to Olkhon island , one of the largest islands within the lake has completely different vistas and shows the rough side of the lake. Anyone going to Russia must include the lake in their itinerary !

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Yashashree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit if you get anywhere near Siberia. Lots of hiking options, as well as camping. Many resorts along the Lake, although they are still more primitive and less commercialized than in other parts of the world.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Karla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2015

A gob smacking piece of natural beauty. Well worth a visit - would be easy to spend more than a few days here.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank UQWozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Lake Baikal is located in east Russia, Siberia!

Its a huge Lake, the main city is Irkutsk which is 6h flight from Moscow, on the south side of the Lake there is the Angara River.

The lake is frozen more or less 8months a year, but in summer temperatures can arrive to + 36* degrees.

People dont speak english there, except in some hotel and in some excursion offices.

i stayed on the South of the Lake at the beginning of Angara River.

In summer there are various excursions, the longest one is the one to Olchon Island (14hours excursion).

Olchon island is 300km from Irkutsk, more or less 4h drive, streets are destroied, full of holes but the view is incredibly beautiful!

To get to Olchon there is a FerryBoat which leaves every 30'm and goes back and forth all day till 18.30 (The boat is free).

Once on the island there is one more hour drive to Shaman rock wich is the main attraction of the island.

Olchon is still wild, they got elecrticity for the first time in 2005, and there are no modern toilets, mostly holes in the ground... exc exc

lake is more or less 600km long and 60km large, so pay attention when you look for a Hotel it might be too far from the arrival airport.

Its an amazing place, to visit if you like adventure, nature and wild places.

Things to know about Lake Baikal:
- is the biggest lake of the World
- deepest lake 1.300 meters deep (more or less)
- has the 80% of pure water present in the planet

Most of the turists get here with the Transiberiana train and then continue the trip to China!

Hope it was helpfull
xx

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Alfredo_Mnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Did this on the Tsar's Gold Train, which actually uses the now unused rail line around the south of the lake. Wonderful views, even stop for a swim& picnic by the lake. The views are incredible

Date of experience: June 2015
3  Thank dominicand0ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews