We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
This is not a good place

In 2019, my family and I went to Lake Baikal. This is a very unusual lake. It is the deepest lake... read more

Reviewed 17 June 2020
_Z1054HP
Excursion to lake Baikal

Hello, dear friends and readers of my review! In this review, I want to tell you about my trip to... read more

Reviewed 15 June 2020
StasTri
,
Stavropol, Russia
via mobile
Read all 489 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
423
49
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
423
49
9
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Did this on the Tsar's Gold Train, which actually uses the now unused rail line around the south of the lake. Wonderful views, even stop for a swim& picnic by the lake. The views are incredible

Date of experience: June 2015
3  Thank dominicand0ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2015

After travelling from Ulaan Baatar to Irkutsk on the Trans-Siberian Railway, with the last couple of hours around the edge of Lake Baikal, I was really looking forward to our overnight trip to Listvyanka, which is right on the lake. Given that Lake Baikal is the largest and deepest lake on the planet, with about 20% of Earth's fresh water, I was expecting this to be a rather special visit. Unfortunately it didn't turn out that way. Listvyanka was a bit of a boring dump, our attempt to get on an evening cruise on the lake failed because there weren't enough other travellers willing to join the cruise, and everything else was just very ordinary. Fortunately, the rest of our holiday was wonderful, but I really couldn't find much to recommend in Listvyanka.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank RKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Baikal is a very interesting sightseeing. The most interesting place of Baikal is island Olhon, where travellers would enjoy wonderful nature and clean water. May be water in the lake a little bit cold, so if yoy want to swim , it's better to visit the lake in august, when the water warms. Though as for me,I like Baikal in winter. Ice of the lake is wonderful and it is worth of seeing.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank nika770
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2015

After many days on the trans-Siberian rr, the excursion around Lake Baikal was lovely. We were fortunate to have good weather and the area is scenic. BUT is it any more scenic than other lakes? Compared with the lakes in Patagonia with their glaciers, or the lakes in the Canadian Rockies, Lake Baikal is certainly less spectacular. But it was picturesque, soothing, had a nice museum in which to see a couple of the fresh water seals (wish they had a little more swimming space), and overall was quite refreshing.

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank LaPaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We did a day trip to Lake Baikal/ Listvyanka from Irkutsk. Organised the trip through Baikal Explorer tours. Everything worked as expected. Leonid our driver/ guide for the days was very knowledgeable and a very good driver. Arrived at our hotel at the appointed time, good vehicle, very good English. The tour took us to an ethnographic museum, St Nicholas church ( Listvyanka), the fish market to try the local salmonoid fish, omul and the aquarium/Lake Baikal Research Centre. Here you learn about the lake and will be amazed by not only the size but the variety of animal and vegetable life in the world's deepest lake. You will also see a couple of fat Baikal seals - nerpa. Their pool is not great and must be boring for them. On the return we stopped to buy kbac/kvass - a very low alcohol drink made from rye bread. Very popular. A good day trip run very professionally by the Baikal Explorer group. Recommend the trip and the company. They deliver what their web site advertises.

Date of experience: May 2015
4  Thank N0elaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews