We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
144
141
44
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
141
44
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kazan cathedral no elevator flights of stairs breakfast room small sign third floor carry your luggage walking distance small balcony excellent location historical building hard boiled eggs nevsky prospect apartment building yogurt mini hotel porridge
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

There's only a small sign on the outside of the building and once you enter the building, you feel like walking into a scene of one of Dostoyevsky's classic novels...even though Rachmaninov used to live there. You need to climb some well-worn steps to come to another small door - and then you enter a small lobby of this eclectic art-hotel. They kept the spirit of this ancient house intact and the rooms are all very different - yet quite cosy and nice. The breakfast room boasts a collection of old furniture that makes it look like a museum. The staff are quite helpful, though, and all in all, it makes staying here a special - yet pleasant - experience. Another bonus is that the hotel is right in the centre of the city!

Room Tip: The rooms are all different, and although the hotel is in the centre of the city, it's relatively quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Marcel!
We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again as a guest!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Without any doubt, the location of this hotel is right in the middle of tourist area in Saint Petersburg. Almost all of major tourist attractions can be reached by walking distance. With such a reasonable price, this hotel is a very good base to explore the city.

The design of the hotel is very artsy and unique. The hallways of the hotel looks like an art gallery with paintings and pictures. Keep in mind that this hotel doesn't have a lift so you must carry your luggage up to 4 floors.

I particularly don't like the style of the room. Although it is clean, it is too dark and looks worn out. Plus, there was ongoing construction outside and the window area was obstructed by safety net for construction (which makes the room even darker).

I really enjoy the breakfast. It is served in their dining area which looks like a typical dining area in the house. The breakfast varities is not that much but it comes with very good quality (bread, porridge, eggs, rice, etc).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for review! It's always pleasant to hear that out guests enjoyed staying in our hotel!
Regardng to ongoing construction we would like to note that the building of our hotel was being under reconstraction as a part of preporation for 2018 FIFA World Championship and this information was posted on our web page. Currently all the works on renovation are completed.
We look forward to see you again!
Sincerely yours,
Team Art-hotel "Rachmaninov"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

The Rachmaninov has served as the St. Petersburg "headquarters" for the international humanitarian clown trip lead by Maria Eliseeva and Patch Adams for several years now. Last month they shined again, with their service, warmth and hospitality. I always stay at Rachmaninov even when I'm not clowning. And if you are a Nabokov fan, be sure to check out his set of art deco furniture in the main suite. Pure eye candy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quieter
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Администратор at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Justin! We are always glad to see in our hotel the entire clown group, and you personally. We hope that you will never even think about staying in some other hotel, because every year we wait for you. Thank you for what you and your friends are doing, and see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I've spent one week there for work. Wonderful experience. Excellent location, walkable distance from most important city interest points. Wonderful staff, kind, friendly and helpful 24/7. The hotel is classy, full of stories and History. I felt home. Spassiba!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Администратор at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear David!
Thank you so much for your feedback! It's been pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel. We hope that the next time you have a business trip, your choice of the hotel will be the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Impressive design, stylish and authentic, cosy atmosphere, good breakfast, friendly and service minded personel in the heart of St.-Petersburg. I will definately come back!
Many thanks to all the girls in the reception for friendliness and good service. It was really a pleasure to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila K. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachmaninov_Hotel, Администратор at Rachmaninov Art-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Mila!
Many thanks for your feedback! It is always a pleasure to know that our guests had a great time in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews