We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to historical center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg
Ranked #118 of 331 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good choice in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to historical center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was my first visit to Russia, so I didn't know quite what to expect.
To my surprise, the hotel receptionists spoke good English.
Plus they were very helpful from organizing taxi to printing my ticket for Hermitage which I bought online.
The restaurant staff didn't spoke English very good, but they were eager to speak and did every effort to understand what you wanted.

The room was spacious with one big window, which - thank God- you can open.
I am a fan of fresh air, and it's the first thing I do when I enter a hotel room.
At some hotels you can't open at all and you are at the mercy of recycled air through a/c.
The bathroom was big and clean.
The only drawback was a little musty smell in the room.
The room was facing to teh back of the hotel, so you could sleep with open windows.

Location is 3 blocks from metro station, there wasn't too much amenities, except a sauna, which you have too book in advance and pay.

I liked the food in the restaurant, the room service- was fast and well cooked- ( I ordered pasta with vegetables and it was cooked al dente ).
I liked that it was quiet in the restaurant, so that I can work and have my coffee and tea.
The least I liked was the smell in the room.

Room Tip: I got Room number 10, facing to the back.But all rooms are quiet as it is located on a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadiksoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    54
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
39
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

What can be more pleasant and wonderful than this authentic Russian Hotel? Cozy rooms, quiet and calm atmosphere and delicious food - especially homemade blini and sirniki for breakfast- make this hotel a great place to stay during your vacation in Saint-Petersburg. My family and I enjoyed 2 weeks there. There is a free wi-fi and laptops for rent, and this fact was very helpful for me. The hotel is situated not far from a market, where one can find everything to indulge oneself with local food. Also, the hotel is not far from the metro station, though St-Petersburg is a city that should be visited by going on foot.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElenaMaslova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our frustation started when we arrived at the train station coming from Helsinki. To get a taxi was a nightmare. We gave the hotel details to the taxi driver and they had a "meeting" among the few drivers because no one knew the hotel. When we arrived there after many "turn arounds", we felt like we were coming back to the Cold War time. 45 minutes to check in and they wanted to retain our passport (NO WAY). Try to say that to a Russian that hardly speaks any English. People were very strange and careless. We came with 4 pieces of luggage, I looked around and asked for the elevator. There is an elevator but you have to walk up one level, go thru a door, come down one floor and get into what they call elevator, which is a joke. Hardly fits one person and 1 bag and the door is a "bang type" made of wood, no locks!!. You arrive what should be your floor and you have to walk up one more floor. Room? They try to make it neat, but dates back the 70 & 80's (don't trust the pictures). We spent one night only out of two and we moved to another hotel (very nice one!!), paying for a night that we didn't stay. Besides, when we arrived at the reception, there were two Escort Girls sitting on the reception waiting for their clients. What a disapointment. DO NOT RECOMMEND. And this is my very first review that I wanted to make sure to write!!!! But don't miss the chance to visit the city. It is just beatiful

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STAF1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a pleasant, old fashioned, European style hotel. The staff are friendly, courteous and English language skilled (important to those of us with limited/no Russian). The rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. We needed to climb a couple of flights of stairs, so this is not for the handicapped. I believe it has been recently renovated and the facilities are pretty modern. The breakfasts were very good. The resturant provided a menu appealing to varying tastes, certainly to ours.

The location is in a residential area, but is walkable (2 km) to the Neva River and the palace/museum district (Hermitage).

I cannot compare the hotel to others as this was our first stay in the city, but it seems to be a pretty safe bet as a good value for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed in this hotel just one night while seeing friends in St. Petersburg. It's a small clean place with good breakfast. The elevator is a problem - it is too small and makes little sense.
The only thing I'd recommend about this hotel is to plan your schedule in St. Petersburg because at night the bridges to the Vasiliyevsky Island are raised and there is practically no way you will be able to get to the hotel from downtown St. Pete, except for a small boat, whose owners charge about 12 dollars per person to take you across Neva.
The room we had was spacious enough, good bed, outstanding shower booth, good, not smelling water running at high enough pressure. For breakfast they were offering seasonal water melon, pancakes, and all sorts of traditional buffet breakfast stuff of good quality.

The hotel is just about 5 minutes walk from the Vasiliyostrovskaya metro station and is located in a quiet, clean neighborhood. Cheers, have fun in the Cultural Capital of Russia.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Brandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Shelfort Hotel
Shelfort Hotel
#97 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Art-hotel Trezzini
Art-hotel Trezzini
#114 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilyevsky
#26 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
NasHotel
NasHotel
#6 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard St. Petersburg Vasilie...
#49 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#57 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg

Property: Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg
Address: 12th Liniya V.O., 27, St. Petersburg 199178, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Vasilyevsky Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in St. Petersburg
#87 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price range (per night): $80 - $329
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg is an Old Petersburg style hotel situated in a very center of Vasilievsky Island, at the corner of Sredniy prospect and the 12th line, 48/27. The hotel is perfectly close to the main cultural and business centers of the city. Hotel accommodation includes 47 comfortable rooms of business category, suite category and 3 luxury suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing