We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant But Could Have Been Better.”
Review of Baklazhan

Baklazhan
Ranked #250 of 11,231 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Ate here on a Monday night. Starter was very good. A kind of spiced kidney bean dish with flat bread & gherkins. Main course, whilst tasty, was disappointing as there was hardly any meat in the pilaf sort of dish. A shame as the environment was very nice & the staff pleasant. Some reviews have suggested that it's costly but I thought that it wasn't too bad at about £20 for the 2 courses including a soft drink.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Мария К, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Baklazhan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for the letter! We have already submitted all the comments to the manager of restaurant. In the future, if you have comments to the service or quality of food - do not hesitate to tell your manager or the waiter. We also desire hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again. We don’t want you to go away in a bad mood. We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Located inside the Galleria in downtown Saint Petersburg — exceptional service and excellent food. We had the dumplings and khachapuri which were both seasoned exceptionally. We also ordered Uzbek sides which were delicious. A great, warm, friendly environment and a true dining experience. Portions were perfect for a full meal. Prices were very reasonable — would highly recommend if in the area.

Thank jjeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The food is more than lovely. Really good and fast served. The only thing I would recommend would be to check the prices of the drinks we had a beer, a tea and a St. Pelegrino water and each one cost as much as a dish. Would definitely go back to taste more dishes but not a fan of charging the sauce or the smetana extra. It is so small quantity after all.

1  Thank Ariadni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Мария К, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Baklazhan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Ariadni,
Kindly accept our sincere apologies. We took your comments into account and communicated with our staff and the head of the restaurant. We never hide prices, all prices can be seen in the menu. Regret that this fact spoiled the impression of a visit. Thank you for the appreciation of dishes, all comments are passed to the Chef. But we do not want you to go away with a bad mood. We look forward to welcome you again in our restaurants worldwide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This was recommended to us by local friends and we had to check it out as we are all big fans of Georgian cuisine. Does not look like anything special from the outside but the size of this place is pretty impressive: I have no idea how many people it sits but there is literally no end to this place! :) Impressive that they are open 24HR serving full a la carte any time of the day. It was not packed when we were there but pretty busy and still - almost no waiting time for orders, drinks or food! There is a smoking section where you can order shisha with any flavors you can imagine (pretty funny how any restaurant in Russia offers you this smoking devise!) but the aroma is actually really nice and even if you are a non-smoker (like us) - you will enjoy the aroma, imagining you are in the Middle East!

Positive impression:
- Yummy food
- Friendly staff, speak English!
- Easy to get a table even without a reservation
- Extensive menu with many options for any preferences and diets
- Lively, fun to watch all kinds of people, relaxed

Something to improve:
- Not expensive but a bit above the comfort zone, some items are just silly expensive (like shisha and teas).
- Not a great selection of Georgia wines, and those available are more expensive than some French/Italian
- Slight feeling of a chain restaurant, a bit too large to be personal

Overall: we were happy but not blown away.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foodietravel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Мария К, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Baklazhan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear guest,
We were incredibly pleased to read your review. It will be submitted to the manager of restaurant. There is nothing better than to receive such feedback from our guests. We look forward to welcome you again at many of our restaurants worldwide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Really good food, everything was yummy and the service is organized very well! The facilities are very well equipped, we were very pleasantly surprised!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natasa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baklazhan also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Baklazhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing