We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end food without attitude”
Review of Mechta Molokhovets

Mechta Molokhovets
Ranked #370 of 11,673 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The basis of the cuisine of the restaurant - collection of recipes Elena Molokhovetz - author of the cult book about the peculiarities of Russian cooking and farming. Recreated by years of historical research and archival research, dishes "by Molokhovetz" introduce with Russian culinary traditions of the late XIX century. The interior of the restaurant "Dream Molokhovetz" made in strict style of Art Nouveau. Natural wood, high ceilings, quiet and elegant lines - all that is associated with the spirit of the Northern Capital. Among the guests who visited the restaurant "Dream Molokhovetz" were Sir Paul McCartney, Sergei Lavrov, Gennady Khazanov and many others.
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We were expecting homestyle cooking, but this is a fine dining restaurant without pretension.The food and the service is top drawer.
Our waiter spoke even less English than our Russian, but point and try and laugh, he could not have been more helpful or more lovely.
If we had time, we would have returned.
One of our favourites in StP.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PedesOrbisTerrarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We had our best meal in Saint Petersburg here. We had a perfectly attentive waiter - not surprising as we were absolutely the only guests in the restaurant on this Easter Sunday (the Catholic, not the Orthodox). I had cray fish soup for starter and the by-far best Beef Stroganoff. The meal was perfectly complemented by a bottle of Crimean red wine.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

This restaurant is a real find. Beautiful, understated interior. Perfect service. Food is impeccable. Their motto is: 'Past-times cuisine to please present-day gourmets.' They live up to it. Put it on your list. We would go back frequently if we lived here.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LRF17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Wonderful attention to detail for a traditional Russian dining experience. The "tasting menu" is good value, and all flavours are carefully nurtured, and matched with interesting juices, teas, and Russian wines. A trip back in time- perfect after a day at the museums.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mattperret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We firmly recommend this restaurant! Located at 10 mins walk from the chaotic Nevsky Perspective, you will be carried to another world for the time of your meal. The atmosphere is formal but relaxed, with classic music in the background. The waiter is taking care of you from the beginning to the end of this experience, in a way similar to western top-class restaurants.
Russian food in this restaurant is delicious. We tried meat dishes and we recommend the venison tenderloin with stewed apple, but also the classic Stroganoff beef. Waiting for the meat, two complimentary hors d'oeuvres and homemade bread have been served.
The cost is more expensive than the mid-range level in S.Petersburg but absolutely affordable for a Western Europe citizen. It's worth spending a bit more for a special evening in a top-notch restaurant.
A (very deserved) 10% tip is automatically included in the bill.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Cristian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mechta Molokhovets also viewed

St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
St. Petersburg, Northwestern District
 

Been to Mechta Molokhovets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing