We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pushka Inn Hotel(St. Petersburg)
USD 217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Petro Palace Hotel(St. Petersburg)
USD 224
USD 191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Domina St. Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
USD 184
USD 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Akyan St.Petersburg(St. Petersburg)
USD 157
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 136
USD 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 191
USD 153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Astoria Hotel(St. Petersburg)
USD 399
USD 312
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 93
USD 84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kempinski Hotel Moika 22(St. Petersburg)
USD 320
USD 272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 472
USD 385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,138 results
Traveller rating
484
434
159
37
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
434
159
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationbusy hotelnice hotelcheck in was smoothmain restaurantbreakfast buffetnice staygroup tourcleaning staffballet ticketshotel is locatedrooms are comfortablest petewalking distancestandard roomhotel in stmain attractions
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 1,138 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here on the 2nd leg of an organised tour to Moscow and St Petersburg. Very busy hotel and breakfast was chaotic. Restaurant staff not very helpful whereas reception staff were most obliging. Our room had a bad odour from the drain and after 2 complaints we were moved to a room classed as 'superior'. Very little room - no drawers and very little cupboard space.

Meals were not very good - little choice - plenty of salad but hot meals were poor.

Breakfast was OK except only had scrambled eggs available and the bacon was cooked to death

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808Lizzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear 808Lizzie88,

Thank you very much for your review!
I am very sorry that you were disappointed with our rooms and especially with a restaurant. I’ve already passed your feedback to our Food & Beverage Director, and our team will do our best to improve weak points you mentioned. I hope this experience didn’t spoil your impression about our city and you will come back again.

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager/ Deputy General Manager
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

As a second stop on our two center trip to Russia (Moscow and St Peters) comparisons were always going to be made between hotels/cities – although St Petersburg wins hands down as a city the hotel was definitely second best by a long chalk.
We had a ‘Superior’ room (239) which was smaller than the perception ‘superior’ creates. Firstly the bed wasn’t a double as requested and no net curtains created a privacy issue as the windows overlooked the inner courtyard (restaurant roof) and could be overlooked from the adjacent corridor. This was sorted out following discussions with the duty manager – but still not a good start.
Complimentary water (2 bottles) in the fridge, as advised not to drink the tap water, these were not replenished daily and that was it for the 4 day stay. Tea/Coffee making facility in the room (extra if a standard room) – again not replenished after the first day – fortunately we travel with own tea bags (just in case) – and the iron didn’t work
All manageable but the thing that really lets the hotel down was the food – poor to average (at best) - as this means a lot to me when I am on holiday it is the main reason for my disappointment
The hotel caters for large groups of tourists on a half board basis and dinner is a buffet (there is an a la carte menu available for bar type meals). Limited choice of main meal meat/fish/pasta (with cold sauce) and as much salad as you can/want to eat. Also they try to make sure that you eat at set times to spread the demand. We were slightly late one night and as they also cater for business conferences had no table (despite being booked in as half board) – we were offered a table in the bar – but being buffet would have burnt up more calories walking back and forth than taking in. Choice of main meal was very limited and the quality very very poor. In fact the best meal we had over the 4 days was on the plane home. Breakfast was a little better but still only average.
On the good side staff were helpful and most spoke English. 5 – 10 minute walk to the Metro and 2 stops to Nevesky (plenty of bars etc) – reasonably located for all St Petersburg attractions. Room was reasonably clean (although a little small) – despite cleaner leaving dirty cleaning cloths lying around.
On the whole very disappointed with the hotel and would not choose to stay there again or recommend. Very surprised that this is the same hotel that proudly displays a TA award in the reception.

Room Tip: Carefully choose what you need as 'Superior' rooms are basically 'standards' with a kettle.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel is the best I have ever stayed at in Russia, It is very luxurious, great rooms, and has one of the best breakfasts I have ever had (I highly recommend the croissants, they are better than any I have even had from bake shops in Paris.) It is conveniently located within one block from one of the larger Metro stations and a great way to see St. Petersburg. The hotel staff speak multiple languages and go out of their way to make you feel at home, at ease, and comfortable here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, but I would suggest rooms on the 8th floor and on the North side to avoid light during the summer (during the summer it stays light all the time)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Tigerjr,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback! We will do our best to uphold high service level in our hotel!
We are looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I spend more then a week at this hotel , and i would recomend it to any body to enjoy there stay in the center of St Petersburg . My room was spaseos the bed is very comfortable , they keep it very clean at any time of the day .Very friendly staff was wrily helpfull .Brekfast was just dilisius with lots of chois . And was very nice to come to the hotel after long working day and feel home and enjoi an amazing diner in the restorant (a spesialy a la carte ).Would love to come back soon .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Ms Dtshura,

Thank you very much for your review!
I am delaited to hear that you enjoed staying in our hotel!

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Love the style, coziness, service and food in the restaurant! Huge portions and amazing pepper steak. FIRE PLACE AREA IS AMAZING!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marabella123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Marabella123,

Thank you very much for your review! It is exactly what we want to be for our guests!
We look forward to your next visit!

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews