We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very busy hotel that is a little stretched”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Ranked #51 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a modern hotel about 5mins walk from a metro station that is 2 stops from the centre so it is quite convenient to tour St Petersburg. The rooms are adequate but not large although they contain all that you would want and are very clean.
The restaurant is supposedly modelled on a french bistro but is rather dark and in our view rather depressing. Food is poor but breakfast is much better although very crowded. The desk staff are most helpful young and enthusiastic but clearly not very experienced-they were unable to take my credit card details that meant i had to pay for each item in the hotel as it arose
They claim to be the Tripadvisor trendiest hotel for 2012 but I can see absolutely no reason why it would be regarded as trendy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happilyretired060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear happilyretired060,

Thank you very much for your feedback!
I am sorry that our hotel didn’t meet your expectations fully. It’s a pity that you find our restaurant rather depressing, it was designed by famous interior designer Jaakko Puro and fully reflects French Province style. I am sorry that you found our menu poor as we do have great selection of choice. I am also sorry that reception staff couldn’t help, I will be very grateful if you could specify what exactly was wrong, because usually we don’t have any problems with credit card acceptations.

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Deputy General Manager
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here on the 2nd leg of an organised tour to Moscow and St Petersburg. Very busy hotel and breakfast was chaotic. Restaurant staff not very helpful whereas reception staff were most obliging. Our room had a bad odour from the drain and after 2 complaints we were moved to a room classed as 'superior'. Very little room - no drawers and very little cupboard space.

Meals were not very good - little choice - plenty of salad but hot meals were poor.

Breakfast was OK except only had scrambled eggs available and the bacon was cooked to death

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808Lizzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear 808Lizzie88,

Thank you very much for your review!
I am very sorry that you were disappointed with our rooms and especially with a restaurant. I’ve already passed your feedback to our Food & Beverage Director, and our team will do our best to improve weak points you mentioned. I hope this experience didn’t spoil your impression about our city and you will come back again.

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager/ Deputy General Manager
Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

As a second stop on our two center trip to Russia (Moscow and St Peters) comparisons were always going to be made between hotels/cities – although St Petersburg wins hands down as a city the hotel was definitely second best by a long chalk.
We had a ‘Superior’ room (239) which was smaller than the perception ‘superior’ creates. Firstly the bed wasn’t a double as requested and no net curtains created a privacy issue as the windows overlooked the inner courtyard (restaurant roof) and could be overlooked from the adjacent corridor. This was sorted out following discussions with the duty manager – but still not a good start.
Complimentary water (2 bottles) in the fridge, as advised not to drink the tap water, these were not replenished daily and that was it for the 4 day stay. Tea/Coffee making facility in the room (extra if a standard room) – again not replenished after the first day – fortunately we travel with own tea bags (just in case) – and the iron didn’t work
All manageable but the thing that really lets the hotel down was the food – poor to average (at best) - as this means a lot to me when I am on holiday it is the main reason for my disappointment
The hotel caters for large groups of tourists on a half board basis and dinner is a buffet (there is an a la carte menu available for bar type meals). Limited choice of main meal meat/fish/pasta (with cold sauce) and as much salad as you can/want to eat. Also they try to make sure that you eat at set times to spread the demand. We were slightly late one night and as they also cater for business conferences had no table (despite being booked in as half board) – we were offered a table in the bar – but being buffet would have burnt up more calories walking back and forth than taking in. Choice of main meal was very limited and the quality very very poor. In fact the best meal we had over the 4 days was on the plane home. Breakfast was a little better but still only average.
On the good side staff were helpful and most spoke English. 5 – 10 minute walk to the Metro and 2 stops to Nevesky (plenty of bars etc) – reasonably located for all St Petersburg attractions. Room was reasonably clean (although a little small) – despite cleaner leaving dirty cleaning cloths lying around.
On the whole very disappointed with the hotel and would not choose to stay there again or recommend. Very surprised that this is the same hotel that proudly displays a TA award in the reception.

Room Tip: Carefully choose what you need as 'Superior' rooms are basically 'standards' with a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel is the best I have ever stayed at in Russia, It is very luxurious, great rooms, and has one of the best breakfasts I have ever had (I highly recommend the croissants, they are better than any I have even had from bake shops in Paris.) It is conveniently located within one block from one of the larger Metro stations and a great way to see St. Petersburg. The hotel staff speak multiple languages and go out of their way to make you feel at home, at ease, and comfortable here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, but I would suggest rooms on the 8th floor and on the North side to avo...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Tigerjr,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback! We will do our best to uphold high service level in our hotel!
We are looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Anna Chuklova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I spend more then a week at this hotel , and i would recomend it to any body to enjoy there stay in the center of St Petersburg . My room was spaseos the bed is very comfortable , they keep it very clean at any time of the day .Very friendly staff was wrily helpfull .Brekfast was just dilisius with lots of chois . And was very nice to come to the hotel after long working day and feel home and enjoi an amazing diner in the restorant (a spesialy a la carte ).Would love to come back soon .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Ms Dtshura,

Thank you very much for your review!
I am delaited to hear that you enjoed staying in our hotel!

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#27 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,172 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#32 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,444 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Vasilievsky
Courtyard by Marriott St. Peters...
#46 of 357 in St. Petersburg
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#41 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,243 reviews
Petrogradsky
Vedensky Hotel
Vedensky Hotel
#71 of 357 in St. Petersburg
342 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Nevsky St. ...
#67 of 357 in St. Petersburg
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Address: Bataiskiy Lane, 3A, St. Petersburg 190013, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 357 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $65 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden is the only hotel in St. Petersburg located in the historical center and yet having such an easy transport access to the airport, Expoforum and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is a perfect destination for a 'Cosy living, Smart working' surrounded by a green park for energizing walks and morning runs. A 'Mezanine' floor with 14 multi-functional meeting rooms makes our hotel the business place to be. In contrast to modern and up-to-date conference floor, one can enjoy a cosy atmosphere in Fransmanni restaurant, where the warmth of the fireplace will make you go straight from working condition to the weekend mood. 348 rooms at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden are a great mix of coziness and functionality decorated with natural materials and textiles. Sports translations, high quality beer and tasty burgers will make an ideal end of the day with your friends or colleagues in 'Sports' Bar 84'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing