We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden
Ranked #42 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I'd stayed at the Sokos before, in 2010 or 2011. At that time I had little experience with hotels in Russia. Now I have.

Sokos Olympia Garden is a good hotel. It is spacious, has lot's to offer like a good restaurant and a nice bar area. The rooms are modern and look great. The bathrooms are clean (although I stayed in room 621 which had a sewer odor) and there is a fridge to fill. The city centre is but a metro away and around the corner is a great club for dancing and what not.

The breakfast is fine, even with proper croissants and the usual Russian style breakfast. Don't get too exited if you like scrambled eggs and bacon if you like moist eggs and crispy bacon. Fresh orange juice, nope.

The one gripe I have are the synthetic pillows: they make you sweat. I don't understand why hotels don't invest in good pillows. I mean, I'm mostly there to sleep.

The Sokos Olympia Garden is a good to great choice when in St. Petersburg. Make sure you get a good price and you have a good starting point for your trips into the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toekook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 262 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is a modern and beautifully presented hotel with friendly helpful staff who all speak English. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. They have safes, ironing boards and hairdryers but no tea/coffee making equipment. Breakfast was included and was superb. Champagne was offered at no charge on the Saturday and Sunday - not sure if this is a regular weekend offering or perhaps it was to celebrate Easter. One of our party had a birthday while we were there and to our complete surprise a complimentary bottle of champagne appeared in his room.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the nearest metro station and we felt perfectly safe walking around the area.
Although dinner in the restaurant was a little disappointing I would have no hesitation it recommending the Sokos Olympia Garden Hotel as a friendly and efficient base from which to visit St Petersburg.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Robert B,

Thank you very much for your review! I am very glad that you liked our hotel services! As for tea/coffee making equipment you can always get it for extra charge, it is also included starting from superior room. I am sure if you come next time you won't even a little disappointed with the dinner as we now have delicious new menu in our restaurant!

Warmest regards!

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

End of February my wife and I spent a week at the Sokos Olympic Garden as part of a group on a cultural tour of St. Petersburg. In general we were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were clean and the breakfast and dinner buffets were really quite good. The food was of excellent quality with numerous choices that would appeal to any kind of diet. As part of a tour we had daily coach travel to and from wherever we needed to be, so the hotel's location outside the center of city attractions did not present a problem. It would be quite inconvenient otherwise. The only other issue we had was room location. In the winter the hotel has wood burning fireplaces that produce quite a smoke smell if you are located on the inner courtyard. This, combined with the fact that the rooms were overheated and made it necessary to keep the windows open, created a problem for us. The hotel immediately honored our request to move to an outside room, which solved the problem. I think this hotel would be a reasonably good choice for anyone who has either a car or is willing to use taxis. It is not in walking distance to any major attraction. Since we didn't need public transportation, I can't speak to that option.

Room Tip: No courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMLLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear DMLLosAngeles,

Thank you very much for your review!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and restaurant.
As for our location: we are 2 stops by metro from the city center, 10 minutes walk from St. Trinity Cathedral, 30 minutes walk from St. Isaac’s Cathedral or Nevsky prospect.
Our concierge is always ready to provide you with a map and show the best route to major attractions.

We look forward to your next visit to Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden.

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a nice hotel for business purpose! The hotel itself is very unusual to other business hotel I used to stay. Restaurant is very nice (I liked the fireplace), service was friendly, live music in the evening was very relaxing. The weather in St. Petersburg was cold but my room was warm and comfortable. Everything seems to be quite new and well designed. I was glad to find sauna facilities in the hotel and I was also told that I could use Spa Center somewhere in the city, but I didn't have time to go there. Wi-fi was free all over the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in our hotel. Our fireplace will always warm you during cold winter season and rainy summer days. Hope to see you soon!

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I was in this hotel for 5 nights in January. I think it's a great place for stay: reception is very friendly and helpful, room was very cozy and dinner in the restaurant on my last evening there was just amazing. The bed was great! And even this hotel is 2 stops by metro to the Nevskiy prospect, neighborhood is very quite.I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: I had a nice superior room (with tea kettle, coffee set, bathrobes).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mereike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Mereike l,

Thank you very much for such positive feedback! We will do our best to uphold high service level in our hotel!

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Anna Chuklova
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
Solo Sokos Hotel Vasilievsky
#26 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,237 reviews
Nevskiy
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
Novotel St. Petersburg Centre
#37 of 361 in St. Petersburg
1,292 reviews
Cronwell Inn Stremyannaya
#60 of 361 in St. Petersburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vladimir
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
The Brothers Karamazov Hotel
#61 of 361 in St. Petersburg
449 reviews
Kolomna
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center West/Pushkin Hotel
Courtyard St. Petersburg Center ...
#38 of 361 in St. Petersburg
659 reviews
Vladimir
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Ligovsky
Crowne Plaza St. Petersburg - Li...
#13 of 361 in St. Petersburg
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden

Address: Bataiskiy Lane, 3A, St. Petersburg 190013, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 361 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $75 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden is the only hotel in St. Petersburg located in the historical center and yet having such an easy transport access to the airport, Expoforum and Moskovsky railway station. The hotel is a perfect destination for a 'Cosy living, Smart working' surrounded by a green park for energizing walks and morning runs. A 'Mezanine' floor with 14 multi-functional meeting rooms makes our hotel the business place to be. In contrast to modern and up-to-date conference floor, one can enjoy a cosy atmosphere in Fransmanni restaurant, where the warmth of the fireplace will make you go straight from working condition to the weekend mood. 348 rooms at Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden are a great mix of coziness and functionality decorated with natural materials and textiles. Sports translations, high quality beer and tasty burgers will make an ideal end of the day with your friends or colleagues in 'Sports' Bar 84'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Olympia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing