We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful when choose accomodation - this hotel is far from tourist attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Krasnye Holmy Moscow
Ranked #11 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Be careful when choose accomodation - this hotel is far from tourist attractions”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

While the hotel is superb itself the location is really poor - you may go nowhere for evening stroll as it is located vs garden ring road (which permanently stuck with traffic). If you came for business meetings nearby then the hotel is okay. But if you are tourist - be aware that you'll have to spend quite some time to get to the center. Difficult by car and awful by metro. The big and crowded Railway station nearby makes metro station too busy with unpleasant crowd incl clochares etc. About hotel: rooms are very good and quite spacious, modern interiors, bedding is great, coffee-machines in every room. Great open views from higher floors. Very nice Space Bar (expensive), staff is okay (not excellent). meeting facilities are very good, but for me the hotel is quite limited with meeting rooms (taking into considration the size). They have recently open convention center nearby which gives much more space for your events.

Room Tip: higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    227
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
81
240
95
607
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I agree with others on this site. The bar and the lobby cafe are very expensive - as is room service etc. However, the rooms (Executive floors) are excellent and the bathroom particularly good. The Executive lounge was also useful with a very good breakfast and pleasant efficient service - also good views. I would definitely choose this one again - as long as work is paying!

Room Tip: 17th floor was good - not tried anywhere else yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel is rated as one of the best in Moscow and there is no doubt by Moscow standards it will take some beating, the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and contemporary in style. The one lasting memory I have of this hotel is just how very expensive it is to eat or drink there. When I say expensive, it is probably the most expensive hotel i have stayed at anywhere in the world. Example, try a small bottle of coke at the equivalent of €6.

The restaurant called the Swiss Cafe is fine for a quick meal and is also used for breakfast which again is acceptable rather than of what I would consider a 5 star standard.

The space bar at the top of the hotel is rated as one of the top 50 bars in the world, i reckon that from a cost perspective I think it would be in the top 5 or 10, again example try a simple black Russian cocktail at €24. Even on a company account I could not bring myself to pay these prices.

Ultimately this is a good hotel but it is spoilt by the ridiculous prices even by Moscow standards. If you stay here you will enjoy the accommodation and the hospitality of the staff......until you get the bill...

Oh one final thing, whilst in the space bar i enquired with a waiter what restaurants were open he tried to convince me they were all closed at 9pm, this was not the case and I made it clear his attempt to keep me in the space bar and pay even higher prices for food was a really bad practice that he should not do again, he rather embarrassed apologised and told me he was sorry he was so confused by my English which was odd because until that point his English had been great..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4fromkent_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Great business hotel; the breakfast buffet is excellent. However, as with all business hotels in Moscow, you do have to pay a premium for the quality of service we take for granted in western Europe. Having said this, the staff were attentive, the food was good and the room outstanding.
The views from the cocktail bar/restaurant on the 33rd floor are breathtaking, the atmosphere great; food here was very cosmopolitan, as were the drinks (but non-smokers will just have to grin & beat the fact that in Russia smoking in public is still the norm!). I will definitely stay here again - and next time use the spa & gym facilities, which look stunning.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touristjurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed at Swissotel 11-14 Jan 2012. the hotel is spacious in a modern design and appears to be part of a complex. There was a lot of security around so you should feel safe. I'm not sure if the amount of security we saw was typical or not. I heard that some highly-placed government officials were using the facility and that might account for the security. Our driver was not allowed to pick us up or drop us off at the door. All taxis and limo drivers had to stop at the guard gate and we, the OTHER paying customers had to walk the rest of the way up the driveway. This wasn't too bad except it was snowing and very cold and I slipped and slide on the ice patches trying to get to the car. Because of the constant exposure to the cold and snow, I ended up sick even though I dressed in a heavy coat, thermal wear, boots and layers of socks and a hat - so my flight back to the States wasn't pleasant. No one told us this was going to be the case even after we arrived. I would have switched hotels had I known. The hotel cost was $510 (in US) per night.

The room I had was ideal for work. The bed was comfortable but the comfortable was for a Twin size bed even though the bed was easily a Queen size, so it only covered one half of the bed.

The electrical outlets are plentiful and appropriate for any country so you don't need an adapter. It was difficult to find at first but I figured out that they were located in a box-like panel on the side of the desk. It took me a while to find it. The lights in the room are controlled by a clock-like device near the bed. There is no iron and ironing board in the room but the info in the room states one is available upon request. I was in room 1207 and it was perfectly located to afford me an excellent view of the city and the hotel's entrance. there was a fireworks display that Friday night which was awesome.

The breakfast choices were typical items but the view from the 34th floor was breathtaking. The staff was nice and accommodating. I had no problem communicating with the staff even though I do not speak Russian.

There are restaurants nearby but in my opinion they are as expensive as eating at the hotel. A nice touch on my day of arrival was that when I got to my room (around midnight), there was a complimentary bowl of fruit and two bottles of water.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 316 in Moscow
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 316 in Moscow
1,503 reviews
Arbat
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Lotte Hotel Moscow
#1 of 316 in Moscow
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Krasnye Holmy Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Krasnye Holmy Moscow

Property: Swissotel Krasnye Holmy Moscow
Address: Kosmodamianskaya Emb., 52/6, Moscow 115054, Russia
Phone Number:
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Moscow
#6 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#7 Family Hotel in Moscow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#11 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price range (per night): $191 - $534
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Krasnye Holmy Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2017 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice(R) Winner - Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Russia and Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Russia with the Best Service. Towering over the city, the five-star hotel Swissotel Krasnye Holmy is one of the tallest buildings in Moscow. 234 spacious guest rooms, including 28 suites, harmoniously combine modern design, breathtaking panoramic views and home comfort, complimented with traditional Swiss hospitality. Due to its location on the Garden Ring the hotel is a great starting point for exploring the city. It is also the closest five star hotel to the international airport Domodedovo, connected to Paveletskaya Station by regular Aeroexpress. The famous panoramic City Space Bar & Restaurant on the top of the hotel is included in the top 10 bars of the world and is known for creative cocktails and stunning sunsets over the city. Business and leisure travellers will find comfort in the exclusive hotel facilities, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Swiss hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Krasnye Holmy Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Krasnye Holmy Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing