We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to USSR!!!!!!!”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #104 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Back to USSR!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

"Hotel President" - a relic of Soviet times: the dusty crystal chandeliers, wood paneling, cabinets that do not close, nasty green plumbing made in Yugoslavia in1983 when taking the hotel into operation. Аntique safe, a refrigerator, "Saratov", which is not working, smelly carpets, hair in a Greek salad, ordered in room service, spots on the carpet in the hallways, the inconvenience to enter the territory through the check-point with a tourniquet which does not go through with suitcase, book a taxi to the territory is not allowed, we have to go to Yakimanka street under the rain, a lot of somber security and persons of Caucasian nationality in the bar "Aurora" in the evenings. Benefits: center location, friendly girls on the reception desk, unobtrusive maids, clean and fast . Generally, the hotel came from USSR times.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndronVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    84
    56
    23
    6
See reviews for
10
21
22
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Don't stay here if you can avoid it. This hotel is run by the Russian government and it shows: from dated, stuffy interiors to the worst and unfriendliest service i've ever experienced.
Be very clear and repeat 3 times to which airport you like to go when booking a transfer with concierge: they took me to the wrong one and i missed my flight.
Absolutely terrible place. Will stay in Alrosa when i go back to Moscow tmw and hopefully have a better experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

- Good value for money
Although the furniture is very outdated, I liked staying in this hotel very much. Location is good, just 25 walking from the Kremlin. Moscow hotels are very expensive so this is a good choice for the money you spend.

Do not go here if you insist on EU/US modern style hotel chains like Marriott, Hyatt -> then you might be disappointed.

Security is top. This Tuesday (Sept 29), Vladimir Poetin was in this hotel to speak at the "Russia Callin" Investment forum, which was taking place on the second floor. Because of Poetin's visit (I am not sure whether he stayed overnight), security was extra stringent.

On Monday, I was having my 30th Birthday and the hotel surprised me with a bottle of wine/fruit plate and birhtday card. I thought that was very nice.

Restaurant on the 14th floor is very good with amazing views over Moscow. The Aurora bar is OK and as a woman you can solo-dinner there (I mean it does not feel strange).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique_Axelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

To start with, it is reasonably central, a walk to Kremlin is about 20 mins. The views on the river side are very nice (a nice church just in front, then the river, Chist the Savior cathedral, two of Stalin's 'seven sisters' and distant glimpse of Moskva-city towers; and the infamous Peter I, but that's also fun for a short time).

It's huge, reminding of American business hotels in size and lack of character. Plenty of meeting rooms, so always a convention or two going on.

Breakfast buffet was really amazing, one of the best I've ever seen. Also, the service I can't complain about, low-key but reasonably effecient.

Room quality is very variable. Mine was large, with good amenities, stylish furniture, large bay windows, clean and fresh (well, mostly). A friend was staying literally next door, his was an old Soviet shack, about quarter the size of mine. It was not terrible, but certainly not even 3-star (mine I would still rate 5).

No obvious facilites of a 5-star hotel, like gym, swimming etc.

Security is indeed a bit special. It appears that Russian officials are frequently staying or attending meetings, so you have to go through a checkpoint. The annoying thing is that there is just one checkpoint, the other gates from the hotel grounds are simply locked.

To put it bluntly: it's fine as long as someone else is footing the bill. But the rack rate is certainly not right for what you get.

  • Liked — location, views, good breakfast
  • Disliked — limited facilites, tight security
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chib0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Throwback to cold war, communist Russia and all of the dark, wood, old-fashioned furniture, ingrained tobacco smells, austere staff and soviet establishment you could possibly anticipate in this day and age.

Frequented by government officials and their guests, the hotel was focused on security and efficiency at the complete expense of any sense of service.

A few specifics:
* Taxis booked through the hotel were over-priced by 50%.
* There was an 'avocado' bathroom suite with purple and green flowers on the tiles.
* 2 single beds, not a double.
* Stunk of smoke, and when we called reception to get a non-smoking room we were told there weren't any.
* Have to sit on the floor to use the internet cable.
* 2 english language channels - Al Jazeera (English service) and Fashion TV
* Water bottles only on the first day.

On the bright side, the 14th floor restaurant had excellent food and service with a great view of the Moscow skyline.

Recommended only to those who want to know what it felt like to be in Russia in the 80's.

  • Liked — Restaurant - great food, service and view.
  • Disliked — Unwelcome feeling
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Biccan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Zamoskvorechye
Park Inn Sadu
Park Inn Sadu
#66 of 316 in Moscow
531 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Kadashevskaya Hotel
Kadashevskaya Hotel
#46 of 316 in Moscow
314 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Hotel na Kazachyem
Hotel na Kazachyem
#160 of 316 in Moscow
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khamovniki
Kebur Palace Hotel
Kebur Palace Hotel
#106 of 316 in Moscow
136 reviews
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#23 of 316 in Moscow
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: Bolshaya Yakimanka St., 24, Moscow 119134, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Yakimanka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price range (per night): $104 - $216
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing