We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,742)
Filter reviews
1,742 results
Traveller rating
1,059
454
147
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,059
454
147
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kremlin view red square breakfast room classic room perfect location directly across the street st basil's cathedral concierge desk four seasons junior suite high ceilings old style historical building the ritz carlton metro station lobby bar bolshoi theatre
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,742 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

This hotel should be called heritage property and certainly not a luxury collection. they dont have a clue what the word Luxury means.

Location is great and that is all that is nice about this hotel.

From check in to check out it was a disaster! We were a group and when we checked in we were not even informed about an upgrade. I am a platinum and so were others in the group. When we went to the rooms we just ran out as the rooms were so small that if you get off your bed you will hit the wall before reaching the restroom! No way were we going to stay here. I immediately called my Ambassador in USA and she got on the phone with the manager and things started moving. The lobby manager came and showed us a suite and said that we could upgrade for a few $$ more! So we all did, but the question is why were not even offered this option when we checked in? The check in clerk was least interested.

The suite was nothing to write home about either but at least we wouldn't bump into the wall each time we got off the bed! The rooms are so uninviting that you want to just stay out and only come to crash at night.

The entire hotel is just heritage and not luxurious at all. The breakfast is just bare bones and nothing special. the bar down stairs is so ordinary that you dont even want to sit there.

All in all - a terrible place to stay.

We moved after 4 days to St Regis and that is a property worth talking about!!!!!

Room tip: No room is worth it
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amitabhagrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper F, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing National Hotel and for taking time to share your comment with me. The guests reviews let us maintain the quality of service at a high level.

I was very sorry to learn about the experience of a Marriott loyalty guest. Please, stay reassured that guests care is our main priority and we strive to ensure that all of our guests have an exceptional experience. Our loyalty benefits in full accordance with the terms and conditions with loyalty program. I was sorry to know about the situation that let you down and offer my apologies.

It will be grateful if you could provide the information on guestrelation@national.ru to analyze the situation and take measures to prevent such cases in future.

We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel!

Best regards,
Jesper Francl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Property is very well located , near to to the kremlin square and museums and the best Shopping malls
Old property with spacious rooms in the junior suits , however the room we stayed for 5. Ights had a very small old styled bathroom
Service is not that great
Rooms are not provided user friendly plug points so much so we have to keep the coffee maker on the floor for 5 days and I am on the floor sitting and making coffee
The lifts are so old , after travelling all over the world I felt I go back by 20 years

This luxury collection hotel needs to be modernised particularly bath rooms, lighting, carpets etc in rooms
For a luxury collection Gym and Spa needs to be really upgraded ,
Price of course is really at a higher side, may be because of season need to be corrected with comparatable properties

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank YAJNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We loved our short, 4 day stay at the Hotel National. Fantastic views from the room, including a nightly fireworks display, and a great breakfast, all included. The hotel itself wasn't quite the "WOW" I was expecting, but the meals and service in the Beluga Restaurant will be lifetime memories. A very special mention, and five stars, for breakfast waiter, Azat. Service with a smile, and always there at the right time with coffee or "champagne".

Room tip: We had a room looking towards Red Square and Saint Basil's. Could not have asked for better.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GIP669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Hotel National should definitely be considered when looking for a hotel in Moscow. It is right across from Red Square and close to pedestrian streets, shops and restaurants. Best of all though is the service.

Room tip: Ask for a view of Red Square.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepidtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

When you book a room here you book a room in a historic place, where you literally can feel and touch the past. If these walls could speak...
The hotel is grand in Old Russia-style. Rather large rooms, full of art, long corridors, an open cafe as a centerpiece and then a reception that feels like a train station's.
Very comfortable beds, very quiet (room faced the yard) and a large area/room with a sofa and a desk next to the bedroom. Large walk-in wardrobe which we appreciated, so we could get all luggage etc out of the way. Bathroom smallish, with a bathtub which require some care when getting in/out. Clean rooms, good concierge etc. Our favourite restaurant, Dr Zhivago, in the same building!
We loved staying here, but if you want the most modern and generic hotel and rooms, then you shouldn't choose to stay in a historic place.

Room tip: rooms with Kremlin-view should be something extra
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krister Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews