We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THis Hotel Is Great for its Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home Hotel at Kamergersky Pereulok
Ranked #70 of 646 Moscow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The best part of this hotel is its location. It's not luxurious, but it fulfills its purpose in a 5 * way. You have to walk down the hall for the bath, but for the price and location, it is worth every bit of it. Based on my requirements and experience as a world traveler, it fills my bill, but I didn't want people who don't like the lack of extravagant amenitiesI to consider it, thus a four star rating.
As I said, it is close to the center of just about everything. You are located about 15 minutes walk from Red Square, six minutes from the Bolshoi, about eight minutes (downhill) to the Teatralnaya Metro station, around the corner from the Ritz, etc., etc. It is located on Kemergersky Pereulok (Lane) which is a walking street full of restaurants populated by tourists, so there is no problem getting service. Just beside the door is a chain restaurant whose name is directly transliterated as "chokoladnista" (my poor work) and which provides good light fare for not too much. I mentioned before that there is a fast-food blinnie establishment (Teremok - Tepemok in Russian) on the corner of Tverskaya Street. Great for a fast breakfast as there was no breakfast available at the hotel - as far as I could gather. There was a full kitchen available and tea kettles with tea bags and instant coffee there at all times. There are five rooms and two baths that must be shared (down the hall). Svetlana and Irina are the two attendants and don't speak English very well, but I had no real problem with them (arm waving, smiling and nodding - liberal use of the word "Da"). I found them very nice. To get in, look for the door to the West of the Chocolate (above) Restaurant. There is a sign there for a company called Pharos - no sign for the hotel that I remember. Ring the porter on the call box by pressing the two bottom-left most buttons twice. A porter will let you in. Take the lift to the third floor where there is a door with "Hotel" written in Russian on a sheet of paper. Just walk in.

Room Tip: Two of the larger rooms are on the walking street where there can be tourist activity at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

3.5 stars compared to other like hotels in cities across the world; higher rating for Moscow.

Cost: Best value for your money
Location: Secure and central area. You're within walking distance to the Kremlin, Lenin's Mauseleum, St. Basil's, the Red Square. The Teatralnaya Metro is the one nearby we used the most; about a 7 min walk. We were confused as to how to cross the big streets at first. Look for signs of a person walking down a set of stairs. You normally go underground to cross busy streets. There's a 24 hour grocer just down the street on Tverskaya ul. Also at the corner of Tverskaya ul and Kamergersky per is a Tamepok, which is open super late and makes great blinies.

Service: We met a very patient red headed receptionist. She did not speak English, so we used translate.google.com to communicate. She was nice enough to let me use her printer one morning. Other than that she was not very helpful. I asked her about the elektricka train schedules (changes frequently, so no reliable information online. There is some number that you call, but it's in Russian). She told me to search online for it. It's possible that if I had the number, she would've helped, but she was quite busy with hotel business. I ended up waiting around the station for 4 hours.

Cleanliness: Satisfactory. With these old buildings, I think a controlled amount of pest problems is acceptable. Otherwise, very clean.

Room: Spacious room with wardrobe and a few tables. No a/c. Bed was comfortable. Curtains were sheer and so did not keep the morning light out. Neither was the sound insulation good. Two bathrooms are shared among the 5 or so rooms on the hall. Waits were never long.

Wifi: Very strong. Able to stream videos with minimal glitch. Free!

Bottom Line: This is the best reviewed hotel (agoda.com and I think booking.com has more reviews) for this price bracket. I don't demand luxury when i travel, so this is adequate. I will likely rebook here when I figure out when I'll be returning from my Golden Ring trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Małgorzata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stromulrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timohov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Kamergerskiy Hotel
Kamergerskiy Hotel
#103 of 335 in Moscow
108 reviews
Tverskaya
Megapolis Hotel
Megapolis Hotel
#74 of 646 in Moscow
62 reviews
Sayany Hotel
#221 of 335 in Moscow
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maxima Slavia
#102 of 335 in Moscow
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Hotel at Kamergersky Pereulok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel at Kamergersky Pereulok

Address: Kamergerskiy per 5, App 11, Moscow 125009, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 646 B&Bs / Inns in Moscow
Price Range: $96 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home Hotel at Kamergersky Pereulok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing