We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great final dinner in Moscow”
Review of Vanil

Vanil
Ranked #489 of 15,642 Restaurants in Moscow
Price range: USD 8 - USD 38
Cuisines: French, Japanese, Russian, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Vanil is status. Personalities of the owners, Arkady Novikov, Stepan Mikhalkov, Fedor Bondarchuk, a famous Russian director, interior from a famous architect Juri Andreev, the view from the window, altogether creates the atmosphere of the restaurant, which is the atmosphere of success. It was not without reason that right from the beginning the restaurant won the popularity of a mature successful audience. Furthermore, saying “Vanil” we mean Bohemia, secular audience, elite. The movie about a beautiful life. This is the right place to partake in a feeling of belonging to this state of mind. Everything stars from the interior. Juri Andreev in one his interviews says: "The space of the restaurant is universal. In the interior as to the form, untroubled by any pronounced history, you can put any desired content. The interior is fashionable without any intellectualizing. It's a loft studio.This is one integrated area, of inward and outward openness. It's decorations of a modern play”. “Vanil” is current. A place solely for successful people. And the loser should be left in tears: this city doesn't believe in tears, it believes in success. Restaurant “Vanil” opened July 5, 2001.
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is really worth to be recommended! My husband and I had our final dinner in Moscow in Vanil restaurant.

For main I had Saint-Jacques. My husband enjoyed lamb. Both excellent and very well presented.

Wine list is very wide with good selection of wines.

The city view is really spectacular! If you book in advance ask for a window table.

We would absolutely love to return. Our final dinner couldn’t be better !

Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanil_rest, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Vanil, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Anna, thank you for your feedback, it is very valuable for us! Come back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018

We dined at Vanil one evening and enjoyed the fabulous view of the cathedral. The wine list is extensive and very expensive (even for Moscow). The food was tasty although not memorable. Since I was with local Muscovites I did not have any issues with language or the service. Overall it was a good evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ejbondar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanil_rest, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at Vanil, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback. Prices are absolutely proportional to the high-quality we offer. Come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed this restaurant for a delicious lunch. Spacious, big terrace, perfect view at the Cathedral of Christ the Saviour. The food was delicious, try the Bors, excellent russian soup. Good value for money, free wifi. The staff barely speak english but in the end, we managed to get everything right.

Thank Ovidiu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Had breakfast with my family (4 members) and ended up hungry after paying more than 3000 Rubles. They hardly spoke any English

Thank Mercedes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Been there late evening to have tea&coffee. Nice spacious place, appealing interior, quite expensive items on the menu, but worth that money. we drank coffee & tea along with small pie with strawberries. Smashing ))

Definitely come back for the whole menu trying )

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marina_Ivashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vanil also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Vanil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing