We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$176
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
jim m
Perth, Australia

An excellent hotel with minor reservations

Review of Hotel Le Recif
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2017
Clean good rooms, nice grounds, two swimming pools. Very friendly staff although we have some doubts on administration as mid-stay we were presented with an account for accommodation when we had prepaid everything. We would rate food as average (all buffet, no a la carte) and one evening we were turned away from the dining room , which was less than half full, as we had not pre booked. However we would still recommend. Rooms looking toward the beach are good.
Date of stay: August 2017
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Directeur at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review
Responded 5 Sept 2017
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your comment online.

We are so glad to know you really enjoyed your stay. We note your observations and advices to keep on providing the best service as possible.

We would appreciate to welcome you soon.

Best regards from our beautiful sunny Réunion island!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$183
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$364
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Pool
Vue sur la savane depuis la piscine
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$221
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$306
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$283
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$339
  • Expedia.com
    AU$345
3.6 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$218
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$401
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Reviews (2,125)
Filter reviews
2,126 results
Traveller rating
865
843
291
99
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
865
843
291
99
28
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,126 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

A chance stop. Sunshine and sea. Birthday lunch with my friend Beate. Fabulous staff. So friendly. Wonderful wonderful gillet et crepes and wine and coffee. They even sang Happy Birthday. Happy me

The view

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank BrendaDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Directeur at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Good morning,

Many thanks for your comment.
We are so glad to know you enjoyed your experience of our Hotel, to celebrate your birthday.

We wish you a happy birhtday, again!!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I guess the best part about this hotel is its location right on the beach front. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good part was that most of them knew a bit of english which helped. Rooms are very average and on the smaller side. No kettle and mineral water provided which is a bit annoying. I had to go to the bar to get hot water all the time. The swimming pools (2 of them) are nice. But it can get very very crowded there. Breakfast spread was very good. Location is good. But if you need to get things, you will have to have a car with you. Overall... Above average and a bit pricey.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abimanyu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Valued Customer,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

We are really glad all the services delivered by our dedicated team pleased you. Our goal is to make sure that you have a great time with us.

We are glad to read you love our diverse breakfast.

A car is indeed needed if you want to visit Reunion due to poor public transportation in the area.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

There are fences around swimming pools and also to the beach. You have to walk through a small wood to the beach and take your own towel. We spent 6 nights there. The rooms are big enough. It was not really relaxing at the pool and there are no sunbeds at the beach. So we walked long ways to Saint Gilles along the beach and the other direction to Saline. Tourism is very poor there. On the weekends the beaches are crowded by local people. You have to speak French there. Breakfast was excellent.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 64ElisaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear 64ElisaK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment following your stay at Hotel le Récif, we really appreciate it.

There are indeed, for safesty reasons and because it is mandatory by French laws, fences around our swimming pools.
Concerning the beach, it is a public beach. This is also the reason why you have to take the towels provided our hotel on your arrival to the beach. This also explains why our hotel is not allowed to have sunbeds on the beach.

We are very satisfied to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast. Keeping up with service quality is our top priority.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kindest regards.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Hotel Recif is a very nice hotel and well located.
Only 40 minutes away from the airport.
Just 50-100 metres away from a lovely beach.
Rooms are tidy and clean.
The hotel might need a bit of an upgrade to keep his good rating, but I am sure they will.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FilipVR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear Valued Customer,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you spent a nice time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Our shipped was docked due to electrical issues so this was not a visit by choice. The room was lovely in a minimalist style. The flower blossoms throughout the room were an extra added touch of the beautiful grounds brought to our room. Flowering trees decorated the grounds. There were two pools, didn't swim but both looked great. Breakfast offered more options than one could possibly eat. We ate the dinner buffet in the bar - it was ok, we were tired so it worked. The beach is easy to reach & I highly recommend taking an early morning walk to see/hear the hundreds of birds in the trees near the ocean.

Room tip: We were next to a park area where kids were camping. Room was well insulated so when we closed the door we didn't hear the kids.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenkinghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de L'hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear "karenkinghome",

Thank you so much for leaving your impressions about your stay.

We are pleased that your unexpected stay went well.

Your review rewards the whole team and it is very important for us to have a chance to read your feedback.
We always look for improvements; therefore we make sure we can fully satisfy every guest.

Thank you so much for your comment about the breakfast.

Feel free to contact us again should you wish to visit Reunion Island once more.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews