We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,039)
Filter reviews
4,039 results
Traveller rating
2,532
1,002
281
133
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,532
1,002
281
133
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean wingcowrie covechi spaadventure zonetides restaurantocean club loungebuko barmarine sanctuaryfish foodmini golfchinese restaurantprivate beachfish feedingtropical fishbreakfast buffetwhite sand beachplay area
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 4,039 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Its been more than 15 years since I have been to this hotel for a stay. It has improved a lot. It's a very child-friendly resort with lots of activities for all ages. Food is good. We enjoyed the breakfast feast each morning. Resort facilities, especially those that on the beachside including water sports, was superb, everything can be arranged within reach and service is good. Once can rent some aqua shoes, masks, floaters at affordable prices so you don't really have to buy or bring if you're not a pro and intend to use it for a short time. The rooms are large enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. Those with a veranda facing the pool/beach is superb. The downside is the check out that takes ages. All other services were great.

Room Tip: rooms at the main hotel side are preferred. the other tower is too far, though more private
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank youricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaResortCebu, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear youricat,

Marvelous review! I agree with you – like fine wine, the resort only gets better in time. :)

Thank you for your kind words about our food, leisure facilities and activities, pristine beach, and tropical seascape. As they say, there is never enough time when in paradise, and I do hope you come back and stay a little longer – there are still so many exciting activities to do, flavorful cuisines to try, and magnificent views to take in. See you!

Kind regards,
René D. Egle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We liked the integrated dive shop (Scotty) and used it extensively (12 scuba dives in 4 days). The resort offers good relaxing for families. Very friendly service staff. The beach access is a bit small, bit the pools are nice. We stayed in a nice suite ar the Ocean Wing which offers dedicated pool access and is more quiet and less crowded than the rest.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaResortCebu, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Michael H,

Wonderful remarks like this never fail to paint a smile on our faces! I'm glad you got to explore Mactan's vibrant marine wonders — it is indeed a sight to behold and an experience to treasure. :)

Our tranquil paradise will be waiting for your next return. Do visit us soon for another well-deserved break from the hustle and bustle of every day. See you!

All the best,
René D. Egle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Second time to stay here. Would definitely recommend friends and family to stay here. It’s a resort that has something for everyone in the family. Although the hotel is a bit old, this does not show as the staff are meticulous in keeping the place in shape. Their staff is extremely attentive. One of the waiters in their buffet, Ernie, particularly stood out as he was very friendly. He showed me what the Cebuano spirit was. His service felt professional and personal at the same time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JoshG1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaResortCebu, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Josh G,

You’re right, there’s always something for every guest to enjoy in the resort. With a plethora of daily activities, lovely attractions, and heartwarming Cebuano warmth, it’s easy to have a delightful holiday with us. Thank you for recognizing our staff, especially Ernie. Rest assured we will share this with him and to the rest of the team.

That said, I do hope you would come back to discover more of our tropical paradise. There are still so many flavors to savour, moments to create and colorful sunsets to chase here in Mactan. See you!

All the best,
René D. Egle



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Always my top pick when family drops by from USA and Manila! Lots of fun activities for adults and kids be it water sports to live music to day care center for kids to fun beach side activities to romantic dinners with the sun setting, etc... Love how there are still live fish in the beach! A testament to the water’s cleanliness and their dedication to maintain it! Staff are super friendly too! Easy check-in and check-out! Highly recommend to avail of perks from their Shangrila Golden Circle Club! You’ll be gathering points and enjoying rewards coz you’ll surely want to come back! For a hotel operating for many years, they have surely maintained and even improved their services through the years!! See you soon Shangrila Mactan!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Robert Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaResortCebu, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Robert Paul C,

It’s always to joy to hear from our loyal guests like you; thank you for your continuous patronage to Shangri-La! :)

We appreciate your kind remarks about our leisure activities, private beach, and most especially our trademark Cebuano hospitality.

We do hope you would come back to discover more of our tropical paradise. There are still so many flavors to savour, moments to create and colorful sunsets to chase here in Mactan. See you!

All the best,
René D. Egle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

So if you are looking for a quiet times or adults only areas, you will be disappointed, but for families with kids, this is a great hotel. Beach closes early, often not enough sunbeds for all the guests around pools or on the beach, definitely lack of sunbrellas. Most of sunbeds are arranged in 4 under one sunbrella, you can rarely have some privacy as a couple. Food was good, room service as well. Room fridge was not replenished daily. Comparing to some other luxury hotels, this is more kind of 4.5 star hotel it really misses just a little bit more!

Room Tip: go for ocean wing or sea view rooms in main
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dinko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-LaResortCebu, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Dinko P,

Thank you for sharing your sentiments with us. Please be assured that we continue to work on managing our guest experience better, especially during peak periods, and I will be looking into the issues you raised.

While yours was a bittersweet holiday with highs and lows, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great resort experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

All the best,
René D. Egle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews