We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nice resort and spa in Mactan, Cebu!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“One of the nice resort and spa in Mactan, Cebu!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The best! The buffet lunch we ate is quite okay. Lots of foods to choose from. The staff are friendly and courteous! Nice place to celebrate your birthday, wedding anniversary, etc.

We visited this place on Valentines Day for our wedding anniversay!

Recommended for foreign visitors and locals as well.

Try!

Room Tip: Book your reservation ahead of your visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathzniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,234
    886
    242
    111
    72
See reviews for
1,616
861
92
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a long overdue review but should be worth sharing. My colleagues and I stayed here last year for a team-building activity (almost 100 pax). Most of us extended our stay, of course, mixing business with pleasure!!! Check-in/out was a breeze. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Rooms are excellent and facilities are well-maintained. Function rooms could accommodate small (break-up)and large (plenary) groups. What I love most about this hotel are the pool, the beach and the breath-taking view of the sea from my room (I was one of those lucky ones indeed!). Can you just imagine seeping Margarita while lounging in one of those outdoor seats and savouring the splendor of the sunset? What could beat that? Food was great...a lot of choices. The lobby lounge bar holds nightly entertainment and you get a chance to jam with the band too. And if you haven't got enough, you can opt for other night activities like videoke if you are up to singing and dancing with friends or take a stroll in the white-sand beach. This 5-star hotel/resort is a bit pricy but so worth it! Another plus factor is its proximity to the airport...just a few kilometers away so you do not really have to rush when leaving. I highly recommend this hotel/resort as a perfect summer getaway and team-building venue!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeyB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place is really quite amazing: meticulously-kept grounds, beautiful white beaches, extremely friendly staff, great variety of restaurants. The downside for us was the room. The bathtub was chipped, the carpet and love seat stained, and it smelled of old smoke and mildew. I told the staff and they said they would do something to 'freshen it up' but we noticed no difference. The other downside is that they charge you and arm and a leg for small necessities bought at the resort itself...hows $25US for a small bottle of after sun cream? No thanks. Yes, I realize that it's "The Shangri-La" but still...people are already paying a lot to stay here so why nickel and dime them on the small stuff? I can only hope some of the profits go to the local population (who live in extreme poverty just outside the gates). Overall though we did have a great time and would probably go back. Everyone was polite and helpful and the whole compound is absolutely gorgeous. Food and drink excellent but of course cost much more than anywhere else on Mactan Island. We didn't bring our daughter but the Shangri-La also looked great for kids. It also had the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen in my entire life bar none. So basically if you don't mind paying a bit extra for food/drink/small items and can get yourself a nice room I would heartily recommend the Shangri-La Mactan.

A few tips: Want an amazing dinner for less? Head 1km. up the road to Abaca. Unbelievable dining experience (the hotel will arrange a car). Want a great massage for half the price of the Shangri-La's Chi Spa? Head 100m up the road to the Tea Tree Spa. Great massages, free mango shake when you're done and a free ride home! We also took the shuttle bus from the hotel (again, for a charge) to the SM mall...a shopper's paradise and definitely worth checking out.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are definitely showing their age and can smell like old smoke and mildew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsOsaka_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world. This is a typical place with many things to do, decent beach, etc. BUT. service is very lacking. We arrived and check in took longer than expected although there were no one else in line. Then we waited for 45 minutes for our luggage to arrive to our room. Which we had to call 4 times. Then we asked for a king size bed but got two twins. They said, "oh, we can push them together." We figured that would be ok. So some guy showed up. Pushed them together but instead of get us king size sheet and bed spread, he actually used the two twin sets to makeshift the bed. I commented, "really?, is this the hampton inn?". Finally, he said he'd see if it was possible to find us a king room and would get back to us, he never did. So we went out to relax at the beach. We ordered some drinks and food but when we had to pay, They said our room didn't exist. They finally looked up our name and we signed for our food. Then we went up and the key wouldn't work. Finally, I went back to the front desk and they told us they moved all our stuff to a new room. So we went to the front desk, again. They apparently move our rooms but never told us. They even moved our things without asking us. Then realized the didn't move all our stuff. After more work, we got all our stuff back. Finally, we called and asked for later check out since we spent 2-3 hours wasting our evening. They checked and said sorry, check out was 1pm. I laughed and told them when I stay at Hilton or Marriott I not only have NO problems like this place but get 3pm check out. Then had no response. Save your money. Stay somewhere else. By the way, the beach may look nice but be VERY careful. If you go out 10 ft, the rocks are VERY sharp and you can get cut very easily. Sadly, I am NOT impressed with this hotel. Many better places for your hard earned money. Note, there room cleaning staff were good, I asked for more shampoo and they didn't have any on their cart but said they would get more... 10 minutes later, they brought it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FECTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver and Inchon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We come here at least once a year.

PROS:
-Private beach
-Friendly staff
-Rooms

CONS:
-if you come during weekends(especially sundays), there always seems to be a group of rowdy locals on the beach area, that are bothersome to hotel guests. I have heard a lot of guests expressing their dismay about this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couple86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.4 km away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.5 km away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
3.1 km away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,212 reviews
2.6 km away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
684 reviews
1.0 km away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#12 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price range (per night): $363 - $588
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing