We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but the location....eh”
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at Hotel Fortuna for 2 days. It's a great hotel, for the most part. The lobby is very nice. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Security is excellent. The rooms are more than adequate, although the shower curtain should fully extend to the floor. The only drawback is the location. Oh, it's not entirely bad, but my friends who live there said don't go walking around at night. There's a string a food kiosks along the way to a main street. Had no problems walking through the crowd. Even saw a few foreigners walking in their midst from my hotel window. I can't say whether or not I would stay there again, due to the accommodations and staff. There's a nice bakery next door with an equally attentive staff.

Room Tip: Go deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChicagoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here again in Feb. 2012. As before, the accomodations were very nice, good service and friendly reception. We were on the 6th floor when the earthquake hit and had no problem. I would recommend the deluxe room. All in all, a very good value. Thank you to Michael and Carmen Sy. Don't forget the bakery next door!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruise749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The biggest problem I encountered was that taxi drivers generally don't know the hotel (which is advertised as "new", yet clearly is not).

While the daily room rate is reasonable, I baulked big-time at having to pay 100 pp a day (sign in room says 50pp a day) for the use of a safety deposit box. An unusual and rather petty charge, in my opinion. Also, I wasn't too fussed about the 500pp deposit on the key card.

Breakfast on both days was close to inedible and the fried sausage/spam/tinned meat smelled rotten.

Room Tip: Nothing much is open nearby at night, so you need to travel by cabs to have a meal etc. IT may be si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brisbanepete001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I've stayed there for 3 nights in double room. First impression - room without window! - but it was also a positive thing- during the night was very silent. Room was relative small but for short stay was ok. It was reasonable clean. Bathroom could be cleaner.
Breakfast was served next to reception desk and wasn't especially attractive.
Try to persuade the cook for eggs or something more tasteful than fried sausages and bacon.
Hotel equipped with elevator. A lot of business conferences were held during my stay there.
Very good location almost in Cebu center - next to streets going to marketplace.

Room Tip: Rooms without window are not so bad at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiszpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Have stayed here for 3 days last July 2011. Although located downtown, our taxi driver seems unfamiliar with the hotel. Turned out that he is more familiar with the bakery (La Fortuna Bakery) located next door. Anyways, check-in was fast and hassle-free (thanks to Ms Lory of Front Desk).

The room we stayed at (Standard Room) was clean, spacious, bed was comfortable, AC working properly. There was hot water in the shower, toilet working properly, plus provided us with clean towels and simple bath amenities everyday. The room also has cable TV, an electric kettle and thermos. They also provided glasses and cups. It’s a plus for us since we like to have coffee/tea before going to bed. They also have a hot/cold water dispenser (which works properly) located at the hallway.

The accommodation comes with a daily free set breakfast. Don’t expect too much from it though.. But there are restaurants and fast food chains near the hotel. Next door is their bakery where you can buy freshly-baked local pastries that you can bring home.

The hotel is conveniently located near several major tourist spots, malls, local shops, markets, banks, ATMs. Most of it are within walking distance. The biggest malls in Cebu can be reached by a short jeepney or taxi ride. Transportation is not a problem.

The staff is very helpful, polite and friendly. They readily give you directions to wherever you want to go including what/where to ride. So, kudos to the staff of Hotel Fortuna! Will definitely recommend you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderingtaz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.1 km away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
0.4 km away
Hotel de Mercedes
Hotel de Mercedes
#62 of 92 in Cebu City
48 reviews
0.4 km away
GV Tower Hotel
GV Tower Hotel
#59 of 92 in Cebu City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#32 of 92 in Cebu City
60 reviews
1.4 km away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#7 of 92 in Cebu City
170 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#38 of 92 in Cebu City
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Address: 26 Borromeo St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: $35 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fortuna, the newest and modern hotel in downtown, offers it guests the ultimate and homely vacation experience. The seven-story hotel can accommodate around 350 persons and has 65 well-appointed rooms. Available Conference areas can accomodate up to 1000 guest and are fully equipped with the latest audio visual equipments. The commercial areas, the fast food chains and the historical markers of Cebu City are nearby. Most of All bargain shopping is a stone throw away and SM City, Ayala Center are also easily accessible from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Cebu City
Hotel Fortuna Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing