We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitable, comfortable, and an exquisite food selection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitable, comfortable, and an exquisite food selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the Marco Polo, Cebu for two weeks in March, 2012. I live in Chicago, Illinois; so this was a long trip and simplicity, comfort and hospitality were necessities for me during my stay in Cebu.

My stay at the Marco Polo was everything I had hoped for, and then some. The hotel staff is over-the-top courteous. Right from the moment I had a staff-member waiting for me at Cebu airport with a cab, everything was professional and friendly. The rooms are comfortably furnished. I liked the convenient placement of many electrical outlets in the room (as a frequent traveler in the US, I'm constantly disappointed by the paucity of this much-needed fixture in even high-end hotels).

The breakfast buffet is sumptuous. The selection of seafood and fresh fruit makes for a wonderfully healthy start of one's day.

I highly recommend the BLU bar and grill atop the hotel. The fresh breeze that works its way from up the valley will be enjoyable enough; however, the food with augment the experience, too!

The concierge desk was instrumental in arranging a weekend excursion for me and my colleagues. They were also helpful in finding out local restaurants that fit our tastes -- especially since one of our colleagues is a vegetarian (vegetarianism is exceedingly difficult to adhere to in Cebu, if you know the city).

Small conveniences like the ATM in the lobby, the Business Center, and the quaint little gift shop under the grand staircase add functionality to the hotel.

As homesick as I was at the end of the two weeks, I was a bit sad to check out of the hotel at the end of the two weeks. My experience was enjoyable with exception and I would be happy to stay at Marco Polo when I return to Cebu.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the dwellings next to the hotel. As a simple people-person, I loved being able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saleem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    428
    87
    27
    17
See reviews for
285
281
79
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Was not expecting much of this hotel as I knew it years before as Cebu Plaza Hotel. What surprise the rooms are nice with comfortable decoration and nice views. The service is ok and great is the alfresco restaurant on top of the building. Also the pool is good with adjoining restaurant. Definitely a good place to stay to enjoy a few days in Cebu.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite for 6 nights during their Holy Week. From the security guards to the lobby hostesses to the wait staff to the pool boys to the chef to the managers - all the way around the friendliest and nicest group of people you will ever encounter. Everyone was more than willing to provide you with whatever you needed to meet your needs and all done with such great smiles.

The room was well equipped with great bathroom amenities, and a lovely welcome basket of fruits. The cleaning staff did an excellent job daily while the wait staff bent over backwards to make sure your table was always cleaned and drinks refilled. Their buffet always had great variety, and the lovely restaurant manager was quite gracious (didn't get his name).

Our only complaint would be the influx of locals during that week due to their local rate promotion of $70 while the rest of us paid somewhere around the $200 per night range. The pool and buffet just simply wasn't big enough to accommodate everyone and their huge families, and it was a huge cluster of people and kids body checking each other at the buffet line and pool. The pool was full by 9 am with kids running amok (dive bombs and all!) as their nannies chased after them until 9 pm that night. There were never any available pool loungers. It was no way to relax :(

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guccisenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I love the hotels food ,wine collection , ambiance at the Continental Club ( im sure its more romantic at night when all the city lights are lit before your eyes ) and the staffs efficiency- i called to reserve a Cecile Licad concert seat and i got the needed attention 'ahora mismo' ...

Moreover ,The Marco Polo's Spring Chicken , Pizza Pie ,The Salmon Fillet is just sooo goood !! Thanks to F and B manager Mr Stephan Wieprick , Food Consultant Mrs Jessica Avila and MarcoPolo's Marketing Manager Yumz Mariott !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mighty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

It's quite good to stay in a hotel with a view of downtown Cebu especially at night. I'm not just comfortable swimming in their pool maybe due to its location, facing the restaurant. It's good also for them to have a shuttle bus going to SM and Ayala mall. I will definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjeanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
4.3 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
2.6 km away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
2.1 km away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
2.5 km away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
13.9 km away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price range (per night): $107 - $177
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing