We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
EricSkopec
Carmona, Philippines

Wonderful facility, horrible service

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jan 2019
Like many older hotels, the Grand Regal has spacious rooms and public spaces.
Our recently renovated room on the 10th floor was clean and fresh, well furnished, secure, and generally quiet. The room alone would qualify for a 5 star experience but service was something else. For example, our room had neither hand towels nor toilet paper when we checked in and there was no comforter on the bed. Since in room phones are out of service, resolving each problem required a trip down to reception. A disastrous lunch is an even more telling example; we ordered an appetizer and two bowls of clam chowder. We were served one bowl of chowder, then the appetizer, and after 30 minutes the second bowl of chowder. We refused the second bowl since we were virtually finished with the meal and the staff rewarded us with the worst cup of coffee I've ever tasted.
I suspect the incongruity of wonderful facility and horrible service is related to an unpleasant fact: the hotel is scheduled to be demolished to make way for a new development "in a few years." If you can live with the pathetic service, rooms in the Grand Regal are a good bargain.
Date of stay: January 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$42
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$41
  • Agoda.com
    AU$38
  • Expedia.com
    AU$47
2.1 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$102
  • Priceline
    AU$99
  • Vio.com
    AU$96
  • Expedia.com
    AU$110
1.5 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$159
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$38
  • Hotels.com
    AU$173
  • Trip.com
    AU$169
3.7 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$40
  • Priceline
    AU$40
  • Agoda.com
    AU$38
  • Expedia.com
    AU$49
0.3 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$39
  • Priceline
    AU$43
  • Agoda.com
    AU$30
  • Trip.com
    AU$55
5.0 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free parking
AU$34
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$55
  • Agoda.com
    AU$31
  • Hotels.com
    AU$54
5.3 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$99
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$96
  • Expedia.com
    AU$111
  • Official Site
    AU$99
1.0 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$30
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Vio.com
    AU$33
  • Priceline
5.2 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$85
  • Priceline
    AU$69
  • Agoda.com
    AU$64
  • Expedia.com
    AU$171
5.3 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$62
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$64
  • Trip.com
    AU$105
  • Agoda.com
    AU$67
5.2 km from Grand Regal Hotel
Restaurant
View more hotels in Davao City
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
8
33
39
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
33
39
21
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

The facade looks good and when you enter, the lobby looks more than average. In my previous stay here, the room was not ready even if we checked in at 4pm.

In my stay here for this month, I checked in in the evening, around 9pm. When I was ready to retire for the night, I lifted the sheets and found what looks like a dirt stain on the bedsheet. Even if it's just a couple of inches small, the fact that the sheets were not changed for the next guests is a total letdown for me and definitely YUCK! It's like what I watch in foreign tv shows that hotels do not change the sheets after guests check-out.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Khaladzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Room 1111

We checked in early, had to settle for two twin beds attached together to make up the requested king, otherwise we would've waited for 3 + hours. No big deal, 11th floor, with great views.

Stayed in this hotel back in 2009, ground floor jr suite after wedding. Not much has changed.

The good:

Great lobby, with a European style feel. Quiet room, despite location next to elevator. Friendlier staff than in 2009 stay. Room was relatively spacious. WiFi worked good throughout room and lobby areas. TV has plenty of cable channels. Very good shower pressure and drainage.

The bad:

Worn out carpets, smell of smoke in hallway, toiletries are cheap feeling, no iron or ironing board (hotel doesn't have), no hand towels in bathroom, bathroom and room needs major upgrade. During our stay, strong wind and rain caused water to seep in through window joints, creating soggy carpet within one foot from windows. Pool has been closed for one month at least, no mention of it on their site. Room needs additional lighting.

The in-between:

Lots of negatives above, but truth is this isn't a bad hotel, it needs upgrades badly to bring it to today's standards of at least a three star property, maybe if they work hard, it can even qualify for 4 stars. Inclusive breakfast is ok, but not excellent, even the rolling toaster wasn't rolling. For a hotel that's owned by a major corporation that owns so many malls in Mindanao, this isn't good.

For many locals it may seem great, for the international standard it won't pass two stars in its current shape. There is a luxury hotel being built just down the street, and when Acacia opens, it will take away an already diminishing client base.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hawagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2018

I was on business during my stay here. Glad it is located not too far away from the business centers on JP Laurel. Transportation is readily available outside the hotel at any time of the day. The staff is courteous, always ready to help. The room and the halls were impeccably clean, and the hotel gave toiletries and complimentary water generously. Provisions for privacy and security were satisfactory. I slept soundly at night, thanks to comfortable beddings and quiet surroundings. The complimentary breakfast buffet had a wide selection of local and western dishes, and the food tasted great! Overall, I had a pleasant stay here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank prettier_in_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I stayed at Room 101 for two nights in June 2018. My initial impression was that the hotel room was spacious but old. It took me a while to figure out how to turn on the lights. Apparently there is a master control switch near the bed (a console that controls everything from the lights to the AC - see picture attached). There is a bath tub, shampoo, lotion, body wash gel, toothbrush and toothpaste. There were no slippers. Towels are large and white but clearly old. Bed was OK. There is an electric kettle and a hairdryer can be found hidden in one of the drawers (I could not get it out of the drawer though as it was fixed there and there was no way to pry it out).

Breakfast was nothing to be excited about - very few selections and they don't serve bacon everyday. There were only two types of juices (both powdered variety, not fresh), and very only three types of bread (wheat, white, and buns). At night, a man plays the piano and a girl will sing beside him at the lobby bar for the guests who are dining. Also, the pool was only 4ft deep all throughout and it was a little dirty as there were pigeon poop in the water.

Overall, nothing grand with Grand Regal Hotel. But the staff are polite and willing to please. And they drive you to the airport for free. There are also several places nearby that one can easily get an affordable Swedish massage.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sjg0279
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel rooms are clean. Guards are very polite. Security check before entering the hotel. Feel safe about it. Food is excellent. It passed the taste of a kapampangan taste bud. The halls are clean as well.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank King_Elmer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews