We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ian D. -AmANomad
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Beautiful but still needs some work.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 July 2019
We were a group of 4 for my first trip to Davao and this hotel's modern design of repurposed container vans quickly caught my eyes.

The hotel is located in a mixed neighborhood, somewhat away from most touristy areas, although G Mall and Abreeza Mall are less than 1.5km away.

There are plenty of seating areas on the upper areas, but these are open air, therefore, weather-dependent.

The quad room is spacious and has a good mount of storage space, between the wardrobe and the TV cabinet. The room has 2 queen size beds, which are of decent firmness... so quad in this sense means shared sleeping for 2 people.

The 4-person room also comes with breakfast, but only for 2. Breakfast for the other 2 would mean paying PHP350 per person per day. We were disappointed with breakfast and skipped it on the 2nd and 3rd days of our stay.

The front desk staff were friendly. However, I wished they were more equipped to give information on what Davao had to offer and where to go. The night before we checked out, we specifically requested if they could reserve a taxi for us by 5:30 am and was assured that this will be done. That morning, we repeated this request during wakeup call and at checkout. We were told by the staff that the guard is out on the street to hail one for us. 15 minutes later we were still on the roadside, waiting for a taxi. Thinking that the hotel might not have a directory of taxi company numbers, hence the failure to book a taxi as assured. However, we were surprised that the staff actually had the required information and actually called a taxi... more than 15 minutes AFTER the time we requested it. Thank goodness that we gave ourselves extra time otherwise we'd have missed our flight.
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheMadeline_Hotel, Manager at The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites, responded to this review
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Greetings from the Madeline!

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

Please note that the quad room is called Premium Deluxe, with two size beds. Breakfast is for 2 persons as standard practice. Extra breakfast is P300 per pax as of now.

We have been taking notes about the breakfast selection, some guests love it and some not so much. So, we’re working on options that will hopefully make everyone happy.

I apologize about the experience you had with the front desk. This was addressed and rectified back when it happened, on the same day actually.

Looking forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$171
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
    AU$214
  • Agoda.com
    AU$154
  • Trip.com
1.5 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$43
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$38
  • StayForLong
3.2 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$62
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
    AU$64
  • Agoda.com
    AU$31
  • Priceline
0.8 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$39
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$30
  • StayForLong
1.7 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free parking
AU$94
  • Expedia.com
    AU$261
  • Agoda.com
    AU$88
  • Hotels.com
    AU$261
1.2 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$40
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$38
  • Expedia.com
    AU$50
4.8 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$161
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$162
  • Radissonhotels.com
    AU$161
3.7 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$97
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$99
  • Expedia.com
    AU$112
  • Official Site
    AU$99
6.1 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$62
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$59
  • Vio.com
2.4 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$105
  • Agoda.com
    AU$96
  • Hotels.com
    AU$111
3.7 km from The Madeline Boutique Hotel & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Davao City
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
7
2
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
2
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2019

We stayed at The Madeline for four days in July 2019. My family came with me for a work trip. We loved the unique concept of the building and loved the quaint ambiance of the hotel. It was clean and the lobby always smelled fresh and clean. We also loved the paintings by local artists that were hung everywhere in the building. We booked a family room and found the space adequate for our family of four. The room was clean and well maintained. We also found the hotel staff helpful and polite, including the staff at the restaurant. We enjoyed our experience at the Hotel and we will definitely choose to book this hotel again if/when we return to Davao. It was definitely good value for the price!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barefoot_Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2019

My family and I stayed here for our trip to Davao. The architech structure is appealing to the eyes. The rooms are beautiful and Large. Aircon was awesome.
Extremely clean and felt very brand new. We really enjoyed the paintings and art displayed through out the hotel.

Just wish it had a pool or a nice hot tub or somewhere to gather. Great experience. Will come back again soon.

Room tip: Clean convenient beautiful
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2019

The hotel has a unique design.. it's built using cargo container vans as part of the building structure. But you will be surprised on how the architect designed it. Very clean, spacious and nice functional interiors .... A bit lacking in sound proofing though. The wifi speed needs improvement but allows 4 devices per person. Hallways and lobby are adorned with paintings for sale. We booked a room with two queen size beds for a family of 4, a room built using two 40 footer container vans side by side with an offset, and still very spacious. Will book again for my next future stay in Davao.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank victory888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2019

Booked a room for 1 person only but what I got is good for 3 persons - at the rate that is within my budget for a single occupancy room. Since the hotel is less than a year old, everything still looked, smelled, and felt clean and good. Well, except for the towels which can still be improved - I expected them (given the age of the hotel) to be more soft and fluffy. But, I love how the bed linen smells. Service (both in Rooms and F&B are excellent) - they're pleasant to talk to and very accommodating. The food in the restaurant tastes good and are well-presented.

A few comments, though, on the room that I used (#303) – the double lock on the door was not working (seemed to be misaligned). The placement of the toilet paper dispenser is very awkward – on the wall behind the toilet bowl; very difficult to get toilet paper when you’re using the loo. The bidet was very challenging and difficult to use! I really suggest that you improve that.

But, overall, this is a hotel that I would return to and recommend to friends and family.

Room tip: Not sure which rooms don't hear the sounds of the busy street outside but mine was a bit noisy (Room 303).
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 841rizas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

This is a hotel made of container vans and looks really nice and beautiful. You will also love this place if you are a painting lover, there's a lot of painting of local painters hang all over the place. I will definitely go back to this place.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank bdaplian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews