We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular service but pool is not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Pasig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The most outstanding quality of this hotel is the service. Starting from the front desk Joyce who assisted us in our check-in to April who heard our plea to transfer to a different room, and to Arnold, the helpful staff manning the swimming pool area - they all made us feel very comfortable in our stay. For example, while we are swimming, the staff will offer us unlimited juices and coffee and at times some finger foods like corn dog. When we call housekeeping to request for extra blanket, the service is immediate and someone called us up after to check if we did get the request we asked for. Thumbs up to great service!!

Having said that, there are a couple of things that I wish can be improved with the hotel: for starters, the swimming pool is a bit of disappointment. The size is small compared to most hotels and for some reason, the water is very very cold. The second thing is, the water in the swimming pool and jacuzzi is a bit 'foggy' or dirty.

Third feedback - the pillows on the room seemed to be very thick but not fluffy. It strained my neck a bit to sleep on it.

Lastly, some of the food served in the buffet breakfast is not great. The hashbrown for example is no longer crunchy and does not taste like freshly cooked. Same goes for the pizza that is hard to bite.

Overall, service is great, breakfast is average, the room is okay and the pool is not.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms ending in xx06. It is at the end of the corridor and is smaller in size compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kerriegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 713 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

1. Upon arrival, we submitted our voucher for check-in on 2pm, but the front desk told us if we can wait accordingly because check-in time is 3pm, but she told us we can go back there at 2:40pm to check us in. We went back there around 3pm, and still there is no room yet available. Somebody assisted us in the cafeteria to wait. However, I slept on the couch until 4pm and nobody went back to assist us. My friend went back to the lobby and there you go, we have a room but they never assist us and informed us, as a guest, you should always have a prioritization and one word to your guest.

2. The moment we entered the room was okay but maintenance from the engineering will still fix a 2 busted lights. This thing should be fixed upon the arrival of the guest.

3. I was looking for a piece of paper and found out a piece of tissue paper with bubble gum inside the drawer with empty pack of medicine pack from Indonesia, Sanitation and cleaning should also inspect this when cleaning the room.

4. The elevator’s sensor is busted, we visited the pool on the 5th floor with kids, as I hurriedly went in the elevator a kid and I almost stuck and squeezed by the elevator, it’s a good thing that a child who entered first knew how to open the elevator door, he just pressed the button and really thankful, because if nobody’s inside the elevator, we might got injured or something. TIP: NEVER LEAVE YOUR KIDS UNATTENDED TO THE ELEVATOR BECAUSE IT WILL SQUEEZE YOU, SENSOR IS BUSTED.

5. Breakfast in the morning, around 8am , we were asked by the lady that we are in the second list since table were full inside. It is Sunday and we presume that you are ready to have tons of guest, you should’ve added tables inside the cafeteria. In addition to this, those people who just entered the vicinity and told them that they are on 7th list, the lady who was the guest told them that she will speak to the manager so they went all in and looked for an empty table. This is not supposed to be the setting, unfair to our part that was there earlier. Almost 10 minutes since we’ve waited since I am grimacing my face and getting angry.


6. This is the worst part, we requested to have late check-out since we’ve waited long yesterday, it was granted. However, we went in the fitness center at around 12pm and as I went in the elevator, my card is not working anymore, I was stuck for almost 2minutes no air and I am pressing the button on 4,5,6 and it is not working still. Suddenly, it went up to the 19th floor. Good thing somebody pressed it and I might get suffocated inside since there was no exhaust or air inside the elevator. I asked for assistance and nevertheless somebody assisted me to my room and my friend just experienced the same and it is really a disappointment.

7. We went to the front desk 1:30pm, it’s only the lady who’s entertaining guest while on the phone ( to think it’s Sunday ), and in a particular hotel, there should always at least 2 – 3 on the desk to assist a guest but the male front desk approached us after 5-10 minutes of waiting.

Room Tip: DO NOT REQUEST ON THE 11TH FLOOR, gurgling sound on the floor was experienced since 10th floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Suites, Manager at Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Francster,

Thank you for giving us your feedback from your last stay.

It was also a pleasure to meet you personally, and to hear your comments first hand. Rest assured that all the matters we discussed are being acted on, and that we remain committed to provide you and all our guests with exceptional experiences and pleasant memories. Again, we regret any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

First time to spent 4 nights at Discovery Suites in Ortigas from February 20 thru February 24, 2012 – an excellent location and a wonderful stay!
Discovery Suites is just across Podium mall with Starbucks and a 5-minute walk to SM MegaMall. Nearby are Edsa Shangri-la Hotel and Robinsons Galleria.
Our one (1) bedroom suite is on the 10th floor, with full sized windows overlooking the Podium mall across the street. It is very clean, with 2 queens sized comfortable beds, a clean kitchenette, a huge bathroom with bathtub and shower screen, very spacious dining and living rooms.
All guest relations personnel are WONDERFUL – security, front desk, maintenance staff and especially Natz Pedroso, Corporate Sales Manager! They are very polite, very friendly, and very accommodating.
The buffet breakfast at Restaurant 5 was delicious and varied. Outstanding steak at 22 Prime!

The fitness center at 4th floor is equipped with hi-tech gym equipments with snacks, spa experience and indoor pool with Jacuzzi.

WIFI was free and fast.

I HIGHLY recommend Discovery Suites to anyone visiting the Metro Manila area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PepenPilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Suites, Manager at Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Penpenpilar,

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure being of service to you. We have shared your post with the hotel associates you have mentioned and they are very delighted . Do let us know when you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The 3-Bedroom Suite was really spacious and more than meets our requirements for a 'special-themed' Christmas Party with a group of friends. The Living Room was set up as a viewing room where we watched to our hearts' content. The first room was set up as the "Computer Games Room" where we played our computer games while the second room was set up as the " Board Games Room" where we can play cards and board games. Finally, the third room was set up as our "Videoke Room" where we sang till our throats were sore. Let us not forget the kitchen, where we prepared the food for the feast in the dining room.

All in all, the place gave us our special party room away from our home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRAVEleiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very nice accommodations but were given the wrong room and was a hassle to get the right one. Beautiful hotel and dining

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitetipdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasig
0.5 km away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
0.5 km away
The Linden Suites
The Linden Suites
#11 of 22 in Pasig
744 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Manila Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Edsa Shangri-La
Edsa Shangri-La
#1 of 7 in Mandaluyong
1,874 reviews
0.2 km away
Joy Nostalg Manila Managed by AccorHotels
1.4 km away
Ace Hotel & Suites
Ace Hotel & Suites
#5 of 22 in Pasig
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines

Address: 25 Adb Ave | Ortigas Center, Pasig, Luzon 1605, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Pasig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pasig
Price Range: $114 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 45 minutes from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, and 30 minutes from Makati City, Discovery Suites is centrally located in the dynamic Ortigas Business District. It is also within walking distance from the Asian Development Bank, BPO companies and upscale shopping malls. The all-suite property features spacious One, Two and Three-Bedroom accommodations, each furnished with modern hotel conveniences such as high-speed internet connection for unlimited devices, access to 3500 online publications via the PressReader application, cable TV, iPod docking stations, air-conditioning and fully-furnished kitchenettes. Other amenities include an exclusive gym, a business center, children's playroom, meeting and function rooms, 24-hour security, laundry, car rental and housekeeping services. Restaurant 5 offers food fare for casual dining, the award-winning 22Prime features U.S. Prime streaks, and the Serendipity Lounge offers cocktails and relaxing lounge entertainment with a panoramic view of the city. Room Service is also available 24 hours. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is provided in all restaurant outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Pasig
Discovery Suites Manila, Philippines Metro Manila/Pasig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing