We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michelle B
Adelaide, Australia

Beautiful Hotel, a bit posh!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 June 2024
Wow, Manila has changed since we were there last in 1986. Very busy - the hotel was beautiful & the breakfast has the largest selection I've ever seen. The pool area was pleasant & the staff were very helpful. We did a Sunset Tour with Bamboo Bicycles which was fun. Plenty of restaurants & shopping malls within walking distance.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila, responded to this review
Responded 9 June 2024
Dear michelle300466,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, the extensive breakfast selection, and our pool area. We are also glad that our colleagues were able to provide you with helpful assistance during your stay.

Additionally, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Sunset Tour with Bamboo Bicycles and the proximity of restaurants and shopping malls.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to Makati Shangri-La in the future.

Warm regards, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Twin Room at the Red Planet Makati, Manila
1.3 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
NWMNL Lobby
0.5 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.3 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Pool
1.4 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.2 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Pool
1.0 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.3 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.2 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.4 km from Makati Shangri-La, Manila
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Makati
Reviews (3,323)
Filter reviews
3,323 results
Traveller rating
2,178
783
187
85
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,178
783
187
85
90
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 3,323 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2024

I was excited to book a hotel at Shangri-La Makati again. Since it was a short Manila trip, I can only book one night. I was welcomed by Cyrus and the Duty Manager Suneboy. Both were very friendly and professional. It was a quick check-in. My room was on the 26th floor, and there was a little issue. However, it was rectified right away by Suneboy. The room needs a refresh look. A little attention to detail on cleaning is needed in the room. The Circle Cafe for buffet breakfast was big enough for the crowd on a Sunday. The spread is good for everyone, lots of choices. The floor staff are very attentive and friendly. My special mention to Belle and Che who assisted us. I'm giving 3 stars only because I've got high expectations with Shangri-La Brand. I know they will be better in due time once again. I will definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMERSON747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2024

Dear EMERSON747,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Shangri-La Makati. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality, particularly the service from Cyrus, Sunieboy, Belle, and Che. Your positive comments about the Circle Event Cafe and our attentive colleagues in general are greatly appreciated.

We apologize for the room issues you encountered and value your constructive feedback. Rest assured, we are addressing the need for room updates and improved cleaning standards.

Your loyalty means a lot to us, and we are committed to meeting your high expectations in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Makati Shangri-La for an even better experience.

Warm regards, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2024

The staff was nice and the rooms and stay are fine but the breakfast was not worth the money. We paid around $30 USD each but while we were eating we could not finish a majority of our food. The fruit was watery, tasteless and mushy and the yogurt tasted sour and expired. The corned beef was mushy and watery, and the vegetables were cold. We are disappointed by how we spent so much money on a room and the food was below expectations. It felt like a huge rip off overall, we do not intend to come back after this experience.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2024

Dear 'monicamK2073lQ',

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for your disappointing breakfast experience. It is regrettable to hear that the fruit, yogurt, corned beef, and vegetables did not meet your expectations, and we understand your frustration.

We take your comments seriously and will address these issues with our culinary team to ensure immediate improvements. Your kind words about our colleagues and rooms are appreciated, and we hope you might reconsider visiting us again.

Please contact us directly for any future stays, and we will ensure your experience exceeds expectations.

Sincerely, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2024

Beautifully appointed rooms. Pillows and beds were comfortable. Great amenities. Large conference space. Amazing dining area. Large pool. Well equipped gym. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The food was quite lavish and well laid out.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lestertheinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2024

Dear 'Lestertheinvestor',

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with us. It’s wonderful to know that you found our location convenient and appreciated the beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. We're glad you enjoyed our extensive amenities, including the large conference space, amazing dining area, spacious pool, and well-equipped gym.

Our team is dedicated to providing attentive, friendly, and helpful service, and it’s gratifying to know that their efforts made your stay enjoyable. We're also pleased to hear that you found the food lavish and well laid out. Your kind words are a great encouragement to our entire team.

We strive to create memorable experiences for our guests, and feedback like yours assures us we are on the right track. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and providing you with another exceptional stay. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience.

Warm regards, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024

My 4 night 5 day stay was simply excellent unforgettable!!! Room was so beautiful well cleaned and maintained, RESTOS and Room Service Dining WERE EXCELLENT.. Special mention Mr Aljon Alagua of Housekeeping, and Sir Michael and Sir Erik Chua of front desk for a stupendous Job!!! The hotel is sooo beautiful filled with orchids and very classy elegant feel. Bfast Lunch and Dinner at Circles was simply amazing So Goes with SAGE AND SHANG PALACE. EVERYONE COURTEOUS, HELPFUL ATTENTIVE AND FRIENDLY!!! My best hotel experience EVER SO KUDOS AND KEEP IT UP!! BRAVISSIMO--DR GIOVI MANGUIAT

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Dear F2967HWgiovannim,

Thank you immensely for your glowing feedback! We are absolutely thrilled to learn that your stay at Makati Shangri-La was nothing short of excellent and unforgettable. It brings us immense joy to know that you found our rooms impeccably clean and well-maintained, and that you enjoyed our exceptional dining offerings, including Circles Event Cafe, Sage Grill, and Shang Palace.

We will be sure to pass on your commendations to Mr. Aljon Alagua of Housekeeping, as well as to Sir Michael and Sir Erik Chua of our Front Desk team. Your recognition means the world to us and serves as motivation to continue delivering outstanding service.

We eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back to Makati Shangri-La for another remarkable stay.

Warm regards, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024

This is an older property that is not up to par with five star standards and their customer service is extremely lacking.
We have stayed in Shangri-La properties across Asia and Europe. They are known for their impeccable customer service however that is not the case at the Makati location.
My reservation was made with ample time, however upon arriving at the hotel, they were not ready to receive me, furthermore they were oblivious and disregarded my confirmed, benefits such as breakfast and other items that I confirmed through my reservation.
There was no attempt to rectify the situation rather it seemed that they were more intent on provoking it and making it worse. I have filed a complaint and am reporting through my credit card company, I will be doing the same through Shangri-La international corporation. There is no possible way, that one could justify spending any money to stay at this property given its poor treatment of customers and amenities .
my recommendation is simply to stay away. don’t be fooled by their prices. It’s no wonder that they are the same price as the Holiday Inn.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Y5274LNtonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Udo Wittich, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La, Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Dear Y5274Ltonys,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We extend our sincerest apologies for the disappointing experience you encountered during your time with us.

I have been made aware that our Front Office Manager had the opportunity to speak with you directly during your stay. Your insights have been invaluable in helping us understand areas where we fell short of meeting your expectations. Please know that your concerns have been taken seriously and are being addressed with urgency.

We deeply regret any inconvenience caused by the condition of our property and the level of customer service you received. Rest assured, we are actively working to rectify these issues and enhance our overall guest experience.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns directly. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Makati Shangri-La in the future and provide you with the exceptional stay you deserve.

Warm regards, Udo Wittich, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews