We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Air conditioning sucks & you'll get ripped off at check out” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New World Makati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New World Makati Hotel
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Air conditioning sucks & you'll get ripped off at check out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2014

I stayed at the New World Makati in one of their "newly renovated" rooms in my most recent trip to Manila, and I had a pretty bad experience.

These were the highlights:

- Room air-conditioning was horrific, to the point where it essentially didn't work at all. The humidity in the room was off the charts, and it made the entire stay rather unpleasant as everything was sticky, breathing became laborious, and it took six hours for my hair to dry after a shower. I don't really know what was going on (surely they weren't using an evaporative air conditioner in Manila's climate?) but the air in the entire floor was very thick. I also checked out another floor to make sure it wasn't just an issue with my level, and it appeared to be consistent throughout all the room levels. Air conditioning in lobby and club lounge were fine.

- Residence Club lounge was pretty disappointing. Its appearance was clean and fresh, but it went over the line into sterile and cold. There was no food except for biscuits outside of breakfast and evening cocktails.

- Residence Club lounge had no table service except for breakfast. All alcoholic beverages were "help yourself" in the evening.

- Residence Club lounge food selection was poor across the board -- not many options at breakfast nor in the evening. I ended up having breakfast in the lobby cafe downstairs which was far superior -- I recommend this over going to the lounge.

- Ordered banana pancakes for breakfast in the lounge and it arrived as berry pancakes. No query as to whether this is ok or whether I can eat berries.

- That said, service was this hotel's most redeeming quality. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful ... mostly. I contracted wet season flu while I was there and requested a box of tissues at the cafe over breakfast from what appeared to the cafe staff manager named Joan. Tissues never arrived.

- Noticed I got charged a daily fee for "premium" wifi at PHP 750 (~ USD 17) per day, even though premium wireless connectivity is meant to be inclusive of Residence Club benefits (the authentication portal when connecting to the wifi even says that the premium option is ~free~ for club users.

- There were additional "room - service charges" on the bill on top of the quoted room rate that were around PHP 1220 (~ USD 27) per day.

I was originally quoted PHP 21,945 including tax when I reserved the room online. My final bill ended up being PHP 29,438.40 even though I didn't use any additional services outside of the bill scope. Very "strange".

While the staff were friendly and polite, and the hotel was impeccably clean, the service offering was poor and the value-for-money was atrocious. I would not stay at the New World Makati the next time I am in Manila.

Room Tip: Definitely go with a newly renovated room. But be careful if you don't like humid environments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMFSchoucair, General Manager at New World Makati Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay in our hotel. It is with concern that I have read your comments regarding the poor condition of the air conditioning system in your room. Please allow me to extend to you my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, and rest assured that your concern was already addressed.

Your comment regarding the food selection and services in our Residence Club lounge has been shared with both my director of food and beverage and my executive chef for their urgent attention. The discrepancy in your room charge was caused by a glitch in the system and a credit memo has been raised for the corresponding amount.

Mr. Pearce, once again, I would like to apologize for our shortcomings and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to better serve you.

Sincerely,

Farid Schoucair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    995
    237
    85
    43
See reviews for
502
457
257
1,396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2014

Second time staying here, this time we stayed 4 nights at this great hotel. Has 24 hour sauna, steam room and fitness center which were very good and worked well. Rooms were clean and a/c was at the right temperature. The double bed was very very comfortable. Hotel is located very conveniently right across the road the the Greenbelt mall which has lots of restaurants and late night bars.

Construction at the hotel at the moment but only during the day after 10am - ask for higher levels to avoid if staying in but it was not really loud to me.

Hotel well located and only about 15min to Mall of Asia,Mega Mall and the Fort.

About 15-20min from the airport with traffic should not cost more than 300 pesos - always ask for the meter to be turned on and be aware if the meter runs faster than it should.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbinbrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2014

Convenient location to all parts of Manila. Shopping Malls and restaurants are just across the hotel. if you have business in Manila and you have your family with you, you don't have to worry because they can fend for themselves not only with the hotel amenities but also the shops/restaurants surrounding it.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2014

Modern clean hotel with very professional, knowledgeable, friendly and courteous staff. Great location convenient to shopping, restaurants, cinema, clubs. Can walk to everything in minutes. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2014 via mobile

Flew from Cebu to manilla , the hotel is a fair way from the airport during traffic ! Rooms were nice beautiful bedding !! We bought the upgrade to the club lounge ! Great value ! Went just across the road lot the green belt for great shopping ! Would certainly recommend this hotel to any one who enjoys quality at an affordable price !

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.6 km away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
0.6 km away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#13 of 80 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.5 km away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
1.8 km away
City Garden Grand Hotel
City Garden Grand Hotel
#10 of 80 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Makati Hotel

Property: New World Makati Hotel
Address: Esperanza Street corner Makati Avenue | Ayala Center, Makati, Luzon 1228, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Makati
#5 Family Hotel in Makati
#5 Spa Hotel in Makati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#6 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price range (per night): $174 - $308
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Makati Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury retreat and destination in the heart of the city, New World Makati Hotel is at the center of "The Wall Street of the Philippines" -- the financial district of Makati City. Right across the street from the Greenbelt Lifestyle Center, the 595 stylishly appointed guestrooms and suites combine stunning city views with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your New World Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Makati
Makati Renaissance
New World Makati Hotel Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing