We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like small and noisy rooms, this is for you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I should have known this was going to be an experience when the inn had no record of an Expedia confirmation. But since the place was almost empty, there was no problem getting a room.
When we walked into the postage stamp size room (barely large enough for the queen size bed), it was freezing - I mean wear your coat, and your glasses fog up when you talk.
After the heat pump warmed up the room, we started to settle in. Here's where it gets better. I'll list some of the issues so this review doesn't run on to 3 pages.
Hard bed (but clean)
No sound abatement (it was easy to hear the people in the rooms on both sides of us - even over the roar of the heater fan)
Complimentary breakfast was bad (unless you prefer cold coffee, iced milk, dried out fruit cup, and warm yogurt)

OK, it wasn't all bad. The staff was very nice, the shower was great, the soap with its middle missing was cool, and the 19" flat panel TV was plenty big for the tiny room.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GettinWiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Finger Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 203 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

As a small group of Senior (as in older) high school girls, we have come back to this motel quite a few times. It's close to shopping and it's in the same town (Auburn, NY) as wonderful theatre productions at the Merry-Go-Round Playhouse. The staff are all very helpful with directions and suggesting yummy dining places. Fair prices PLUS free wine and cheese at night AND free breakfasts in the morning. Can't beat that! Also, it's only about 10 miles from Skaneatles, another great little tourist town we like to visit the next day. I'm sure we'll be back again next year.

Room Tip: We asked for two rooms with two queen beds in each, then when we were there this last time, we asked...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bahkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Friendly & clean. We have stayed there several times over the last 3 years and find it very comfortable and centrally located. Wine tasting is nice touch and morning breakfast is satisfying with a wide variety. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have been to "The Inn at the Finger Lakes" twice. Both times we met friends there & it was a half way point for both of us. The staff at the front desk were very friendly & helpful. If you need any help as what to do & see in the area Rita was very helpful. The wine tasting was a bonus as was the great breakfast.It is a very clean hotel & had a computer for any ones use. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

As a solo business traveler to Auburn, I have stayed in a few chain lodgings in the area this year. Having tried Inn at the Finger Lakes, I will return there. Whoever said it was not well maintained is way off-base.

The staff goes out of its way to make the place a little more special. My accommodations were squeaky clean; Internet access is free and very fast; the breakfast is adequate, as good as any freebie buffet you'll find (yogurt and fruit cocktail are nice touches); the afternoon wine-and-cheese was fun (and yes, I ended up going to nearby Auburn Liquor Outlet to stock up on some of the Finger Lakes Rieslings that I tried at the hotel).

One thing I really liked: the ability to open the window somewhat. This is increasingly rare in hotels, but it makes a difference. Oh, and it's handy to be able to walk to Genessee Street for a choice of decent restaurants.

To address the room size issue: for a solo traveler, the single queen room is perfectly adequate. It's like being in a well-designed small ship room. Bureau drawers are tucked under the window seat. The desk, where I spent a lot of time using my laptop, has storage space under the surface. The built-in closet with its luggage stand was a good place to stow my suitcase. (Or you can put your clothes in the bureau drawers and place the empty suitcase above the closet.) The staff showed me the two-queen-bed room, and really for a single traveler the one-queen room is fine. There is no separate chair to read or watch TV from, but the office chair was quite comfortable.

Bedding is very comfortable, too. Despite blackout curtains it's hard to totally darken the room--the light from the TV glows, as does a built-in ceiling night light.

As for noise--the front of the hotel faces busy Route 20, but the windows offer decent sound protection. There are few chain motels anywhere that aren't near highways, so I don't see this as an issue. The back, with the bigger rooms, faces a parking lot so maybe it's a bit quieter.

All in all, the place has good prices and great Feng Shui.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerseyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
7.7 km away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
720 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
22.4 km away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
654 reviews
17.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Finger Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Finger Lakes

Address: 12 Seminary Ave, Auburn, NY 13021-2749
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: $96 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Finger Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Finger Lakes Hotel in Auburn offers lodging and accommodations for vacations and getaways in the Finger Lakes wine region of New York. The Finger Lakes region is known for its distinctive wineries and the Inn at the Finger Lakes is located near many - all found along the Cayuga and Seneca Wine Trails. We are near historical, cultural and recreational points of interest including Skaneateles Lake, Owasco Lake, Harriet Tubman House and William Seward House. Visitors can shop til they drop at Bass Pro Shop, MacKenzie-Child's Pottery, Waterloo Premium Outlets, Carousel Mall, Macys and Marshalls as well as a variety of local antique shops and farmers markets that offer a unique and varied shopping experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Finger Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Finger Lakes Hotel Auburn
Finger Lakes Hotel
Hotel At The Finger Lakes
Inn At The Finger Lakes Auburn, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing