We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Huaca del Sol y la Luna
from USD 103.00
More Info
from USD 41.00
More Info
from USD 115.50
More Info
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveller rating
918
385
42
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
385
42
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huaca del sol machu picchu fascinating place guided tour archaeological site y la wall paintings adobe bricks nearby museum mind blowing human sacrifices chan chan excellent museum moon temple great site english speaking guide entrance ticket
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Visiting the Huaca was my first encounter with the Mochica culture and Im still impressed by these people. There are still excavations in the area and its quite fascinating. I love how well preserved are many of the depictions. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank silarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Some distance from centre, very interesting and unexpected excavations with wall paintings, rooms etc. Artifacts are to be found in local or Lima museums. I never suspected such a complex and long civilisation, before Incas' and Spanish conquests.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank pH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is said to be the largest mud brick structure in Pre-Columbian America. It is estimated that it took in excess of 140 million bricks to build the complex. Several pyramids where built over each other so once entering the complex the individual levels can be seen. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank JustTravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just returned from the temples of the moon and the sun near Trujillo. Very glad we went! The museum presents the Mochi culture quite well and the Huaca de la Luna is a very impressive site. You have to visit it with one of the guides who are waiting at the reception and that actually makes the visit much better. We would have had no clue about what we were looking at had we been allowed to wonder around on our own.

We started a bit late from Huanchaco so we took a cab to Trujillo (for 10 NS) to save some time (took us about 20 mins). If you do the same, ask to be dropped off at Ovalo Grau. Alternatively, you can take a bus (for 1.5 NS) to the same place, i.e. Ovalo Grau (about 45-50 mins). Once at the Ovalo Grau, you can catch a combi/van (for 1.4 NS) all the way to the museum and the ruins themselves. Wait for the combi (saying Campinas or something similar on the front) at the driveway to the gas station.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank nevana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This place was really cool! We were really pleased that we were able to have an English-speaking guide, which is always a luxury when traveling in South America. Make sure to do both the museum and the actual tour!

Thank VictoriaHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews