We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Huacas with Trujillo del Peru operator”

Huaca del Sol y la Luna
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 41.00*
and up
Temple of the Sun and Temple of the Moon Tour from Trujillo
More Info
USD 103.00*
and up
Archeological Tour from Trujillo: Chan Chan, Huanchaco, Sun and Moon Temples...
More Info
USD 115.50*
and up
Private Combo Tour: Trujillo Sightseeing, Archeology Museum, Temples of the Sun...
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Huacas with Trujillo del Peru operator”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We organised a 5 day/4 night gold service (private) Trujillo/Chiclayo tour with Trujillo Del Peru tour operators.
We visited the Huacas, Chan Chan, El Brujo, Tucume pyramids, Lord of Sipan, lady of Cao, etc.
Firstly, the tour operators were fantastic . We cannot speak highly enough of the service that Alfredo and his team gave us. All guides were extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect english.
Secondly, the areas that we visited were amazing.
Most people think that Peru is all about the Incas, however the Mochica and then Chimu cultures which pre-date the Incas, with their adobe pyramids and temples, their pottery and their customs need to be explored first to fully appreciate what came after.
The Huaca de la Luna is an impressive sight. This site has been excavated to a fuller extent showing the murals at the different levels.

In our opinion, this area of Peru is a must visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank zach42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    340
    38
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adjuntas, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Glad I went!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Visiting the Huaca was my first encounter with the Mochica culture and Im still impressed by these people. There are still excavations in the area and its quite fascinating. I love how well preserved are many of the depictions. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank silarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old indian temples”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Some distance from centre, very interesting and unexpected excavations with wall paintings, rooms etc. Artifacts are to be found in local or Lima museums. I never suspected such a complex and long civilisation, before Incas' and Spanish conquests.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A big mud pile!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is said to be the largest mud brick structure in Pre-Columbian America. It is estimated that it took in excess of 140 million bricks to build the complex. Several pyramids where built over each other so once entering the complex the individual levels can be seen. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JustTravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very interesting pre-Columbian ruins”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just returned from the temples of the moon and the sun near Trujillo. Very glad we went! The museum presents the Mochi culture quite well and the Huaca de la Luna is a very impressive site. You have to visit it with one of the guides who are waiting at the reception and that actually makes the visit much better. We would have had no clue about what we were looking at had we been allowed to wonder around on our own.

We started a bit late from Huanchaco so we took a cab to Trujillo (for 10 NS) to save some time (took us about 20 mins). If you do the same, ask to be dropped off at Ovalo Grau. Alternatively, you can take a bus (for 1.5 NS) to the same place, i.e. Ovalo Grau (about 45-50 mins). Once at the Ovalo Grau, you can catch a combi/van (for 1.4 NS) all the way to the museum and the ruins themselves. Wait for the combi (saying Campinas or something similar on the front) at the driveway to the gas station.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nevana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huaca del Sol y la Luna also viewed

Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
 
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
Trujillo, La Libertad Region
 

Been to Huaca del Sol y la Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing