We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of Isla Suasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isla Suasi Hotel
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

What a beautiful place...and the best part? We were the only guests!! The island is great for relaxing, hiking, and canoeing. The lake views were outstanding and there were plenty of private coves we could reach by canoe, where we explored, relaxed in the sun, and bird watched. The staff was very attentive and accommodating and the rooms were very comfortable. We really had a great time.

One piece of advice - bring warm clothes! The nights are cold and since the lodge is heated by fire only, it was chilly. Of course it is probably warmer when they have more guests, as they most likely light more fires around the building. However the fires in our room and hot water bottles in bed made us very cozy.

Room Tip: Lake side view - a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    74
    26
    20
    4
See reviews for
94
265
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Browsing through other guest's reviews, it seems that the vast majority of the overwhelmingly good reviews were made during the dry season (April to Mid December). This may explain why our stay during the wet season (24-25 Dec. 2011) was not so good.

We stayed at Suasi Island for Christmas with our two kids and were looking forward to the wonderful experience that many other reviewers had.
After a beautiful boat trip with visit of Uros and Taquile, we arrived at the island with high sprits, but our mood quickly started to go down for a series of reason:
- the rain came and weather stayed consistently cold and wet (clearly not Casa Andina's fault)
- we were taken to a room that had been drenched with rain the previous nights due to a roofing problem. It was not just humid: 30% of the carpet was drenched. Ironically this was meant to be an upgrade to a nicer bigger room but it turned out to be a disaster. After many unsucessful attempts at fixing the problem we were moved to a smaller room, that was better, yet still cold as it was the most remote one in the building.
- when we went to the living room for pre-dinner drinks the atmosphere was gloomy, not only due to inappropriate heating (1 of 4 chimneys operating, and 20 guests trying to warm up around it) but also beacuase staff was totally indifferent to our presence, when it was physically present at all. We imagined it was because they were understaffed and sad to be away from their families for Christman, but this is only an assumption. Anyway: no "Merry Christmas", no initiative whatsoever to cheer up the room and very little service.
- in spite of the rain some activities could have been organized (like a visit to the library) in the afternoon or in the morning but none at all were. The guests who walked to the hill at the end of the day had to do it on their own.

In summary: the island is obvously a magnifiscent place, yet as so much of its charm relies on outdoors activites I would not recommend to anyone going in the wet season (mid December to March). We were aware of this risk and relied on the highly rated staff to compensate possible bad weather with human warmth and kind attention but unfortunately that part was a disappointment. Anyone is allowed to have a bad day (obviously the hotel manager was having one), but at $800 a night I feel allowed to be unhappy.

To Casa Andina's credit, I must comment that they allowed to leave one day earlier without extra cost and accommodted us freely at their Puno Private Collection hotel the following night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank petitdobrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We enjoyed spending 2 nights at the island.
Unbelievable beautiful location, extremelly friendly and helpful staff (Gilbert was our best tour guides in Peru, Maria was taking thorough care of our transfers and visiting 2 islands onnthe way to Suazi) excellent cook and barmen, visit to Martha house - all this made visit of Isla Suazi one of the highlights of our 2-weeks stay in Peru
Alex, Inna
San Jose, CA, USA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

very nice place, we loved the views, the nature, the lake, the peple

Helpful?
1 Thank Jordivsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We only had 24 hours on the island but wish it could have been a lot longer. The staff were excellent, the food was very good and the atmosphere was relaxed and peaceful.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
69.6 km away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
70.4 km away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
69.7 km away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.0 km away
Mirador del Titikaka
73.5 km away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
34.1 km away
Amantica Lodge
Amantica Lodge
#17 of 65 in Puno
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Suasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Suasi Hotel

Property: Isla Suasi Hotel
Address: | Isla Suasi, Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#4 Family Hotel in Puno
Price range (per night): $226 - $416
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Suasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solar-powered ecolodge on remote and uniquely beautiful Isla Suasi-the only private island in massive Lake Titicaca, the world's highest navigable body of water. Featuring panoramic lake views from every room, surrounded by terraced gardens and designed with native materials (stone, adobe and thatched roofs) to blend into the island, the lodge is committed to being green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Isla Suasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing