We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay.”
Review of Qelqatani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qelqatani Hotel
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Comfortable stay. The rooms and bathroom were clean, but the hotel is a bit dated. Good overall, just not a modern hotel. Location is about a block and half away from the main street and plenty of restaurants. Ask the staff for eggs for breakfast other wise the buffet choices are limited. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarkinTexas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

This is a decent, clean, comfortable hotel within close walking distance (only a couple of minutes) to the main pedestrian street and the Plaza de Armas. The staff were friendly and accommodating. When we asked to switch to a different room because of street noise, they showed us several rooms to choose from. Ultimately, none of them were quieter (we were able to hear loud music and chanting starting at about 11pm until about 4am - Peruvians apparently were celebrating the new year early in a plaza a few blocks away, not sure if there would normally be that much noise), but this was not the fault of the hotel. We appreciated that they tried for us.

The rooms were clean and spacious. The bathroom had good hot water and water pressure. The rooms also had a space heater and extra blankets to keep warm on the nights that fell below freezing. The hotel was equipped with an elevator.

Breakfast was okay - an average selection and they served made to order eggs.

We would stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Be aware if there are festivals taking place. The rooms that face away from the two main plazas will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Krista Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking part in your valuable time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We were made to pay extra for having two people in a queen sized bed, even though the room would have been exactly the same if only one person were in the room! When we booked the reservation online, this policy was not clear, otherwise we would have never booked here. It's an unjust policy, as there's no extra cost incurred to the hotel to have two people in the room. The hotel staff was not at all understanding of this.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Guest: We are sorry that you did not understand our accommodation policy. The fact of having a queen size bed does not mean that if you pay for 1 person can be occupied by 2. If you want to be occupied by 2 people you must pay for room as double or double. Single room (1 person) has a different rate than a double room (2 people). This is easy to understand for all our guests, likewise, the difference in rate between a simple and a matrimonial is little so you should not bother. You are paying extra like the buffet breakfast. We look forward to your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. This hotel was such good value for money! Bathroom was great, hot shower, comfy beds. The place felt really luxurious compared to the hostels we'd been staying in. It was so clean. Just what we needed!
It's just around the corner from the plaza, so good location. Really secure luggage storage available.
The breakfast was great too - bread, ham, cheese, jams, pancakes, avocado, fruit, cakes, etc. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bethan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Lovely spacious rooms with large bathroom attached. All clean and room serviced daily. Friendly staff. Large breakfast room with large variety of food and drink. Happy to store luggage. Wifi was not good on the fourth floor. View from window not outstanding either. Had a lift, good if you have heavy cases. Would definitely stay again. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience with us. The Wifi usually works well, in case it is not so please inform it in reception to see to solve the problem in case it is our cause and not of the service provider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.4 km away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
572 reviews
0.3 km away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
0.1 km away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.3 km away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#14 of 64 in Puno
422 reviews
0.5 km away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#36 of 64 in Puno
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qelqatani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qelqatani Hotel

Address: Jiron Tarapaca 355, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: $31 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Qelqatani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: Located in the heart of Puno city, within easy walking distance of tourist attractions such as museums, colonial churches, commercial centers, banks, restaurants, night life, and other places of interest for our guests.ACCOMMODATION: The Hotel has 42 rooms, 14 are Single or Matrimonial rooms, 18 are Doble rooms, 7 Triples, 2 Suites “Double Junior” and 1 Suite “Single or Matrimonial Junior”, each room is furnished with carpet, TV / Cable, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Heating, Bathroom with tub and Hot / Cold Water 24 hrs, Safe, Hair Dryer and Energy Transformer from 220V to 110V.SERVICES: Restaurant, Bar and Cafeteria, Laundry, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Fax and Wireles Internet, Room Service, Conference Room, Mail Service, Souvenirs Shop, Tourist Information, Travel Agency, Medical Assistance, Reservation and Flight Confirmation, Transfers to the Airport, Money Exchange, Credit Cards, Baggage Storage and Taxi Service.Our Conference Room offers great benefits to our current and future clients, including our Dinner & Shows offer. During the day, it is also available for conferences, seminars, shops and any other activity that require a wide, elegant and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qelqatani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qelqatani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing