We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Amazon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We wanted to visit the Amazon Rainforest while in South America but were prepared for a rough time as it is the rainy season and we thought no comforts would be available. By luck we ran across an inkaterra representative at the airport and told us there was a special offer for low season. We had the most wonderful time, we even extended our stay. The location, the comfort, the tours, are excellent, but the service is unforgettable! Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayearinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 546 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

This lodge about as nice as could be expected with no AC in 90 degree heat and humidity. The accommodations were excellent and the food good. The Peruvian rain forest setting is fascinating as the diversity of flora/fauna unlike anything in midwestern US. Our guide, Glehmn, was knowledgeable , enthusiastic, and worked hard to show us the treasures of the rain forest. The family of river otters of Lake Sandoval were the stars a show that also featured sloths, monkeys, beetles with bioluminescent eyes , tarantulas, caimans, and a variety of birds and butterflies. I can highly recommend this as an excellent place to experience the jungle without giving up the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed at the Inkateera Reserva for 3 nights on Sept 27, 28 & 29 and it was the highlight of our 2 week trip to Peru. The huts are so much more than I expected. The hamocks on the porch were great to relax in and the beds were very comfortable. The ceiling fans really helped at night. The food was very good and the service was great. We went on 6 guided tours while we were there and each one was great. We really enjoyed the night hike and the canopy tour was a blast. We did see alot of wildlife will on our tours ( yes monkeys). It was hot and humid and we expected with day time highs around 105 degree and down to 85 degree at night, but your body adjusted to the heat after the direst day. Our guide Moseis was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. 3 nights was just the right ammount of time to spend here as we took the tours we wanted and also had a 1/2 day to just relax and take it all in. I would recommend this Lodge to anyone who wants to experience the Jungle with all the comfort of home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craigp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This place is really wonderful - the cabins have ceiling fans and hot water showers, and the food is fabulous. Our guide, Anabel, was very knowledgeable and personable. She took us canoeing around Lake Sandoval, where we saw monkeys, bats, colorful birds (including macaws) and butterflies of all shapes, sizes and colors. The canopy walk is really cool, too. The best part of our visit may have been the night-time boat trip on the river, where we looked for caimans using a spotlight. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Inkaterra focuses on safety, comfort and service. A lot more service than we are used to, and more than we need. For example, the lunch menu offers 6 or 7 appetizer options, 5 or 6 entrees, plus a couple of choices for dessert. It's excellent food, but when the temperature is 108 F with 94% humidity, you just want some sort of salad and half a ham sandwich. Several times, we ordered one meal to share, but they didn't understand and brought us two meals, which was too much food, and we felt bad about wasting it.

For people who are older or who have young children, and are concerned about safety and comfort, this would be an excellent choice. For people who want more of an adventure, I don't think this is the best choice. We stayed at another eco-lodge in northern Peru (Pacaya Samiria Amazon Lodge) and enjoyed our experience there much more, and it was considerably less expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcb1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Guests stay in spacious cabins, fully netted against mosquitoes, with hammocks and chairs on the terrace, wide comfortable bed with pristine sheets, large shower, ecological toiletries provided. The generator is on at set hours, otherwise kerosene lanterns are provided, these are lit for you. Light robes and slippers are provided, you need these when it's so hot and humid. Food is good, with a separate vegetarian menu, although the waiters/bar staff are quite slow and often get the orders mixed up (they are all very polite and try to be helpful). The Lodge has guides to take you on tours who are friendly, knowledgeable and highly competent. Our guide, Yordana, was brilliant. You might want earplugs if you sleep lightly as there are constant animal noises at night and the dawn chorus starts early and loudly right outside your window. This is the perfect way to stay in the Amazon, they have thought of everything to make your stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
15.5 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
235 reviews
53.7 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
838 reviews
8.0 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#13 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
206 reviews
3.2 km away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
116 reviews
9.9 km away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $421 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing