We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amazon Planet(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Bambu Hostel(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Monte Amazonico Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Boton de Oro(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
USD 45
USD 31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bello Horizonte Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Anaconda Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
USD 31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amazon Yoga Centre(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Cachuela Bungalows(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 50
Booking.com
View Deal
Refugio Amazonas(Puerto Maldonado)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
575
181
61
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
181
61
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridethree nightslaundry servicecanopy tourriver viewceiling fanan excursionmosquito nettingamazon experience
Filter
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This lodge about as nice as could be expected with no AC in 90 degree heat and humidity. The accommodations were excellent and the food good. The Peruvian rain forest setting is fascinating as the diversity of flora/fauna unlike anything in midwestern US. Our guide, Glehmn, was knowledgeable , enthusiastic, and worked hard to show us the treasures of the rain forest. The family of river otters of Lake Sandoval were the stars a show that also featured sloths, monkeys, beetles with bioluminescent eyes , tarantulas, caimans, and a variety of birds and butterflies. I can highly recommend this as an excellent place to experience the jungle without giving up the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed at the Inkateera Reserva for 3 nights on Sept 27, 28 & 29 and it was the highlight of our 2 week trip to Peru. The huts are so much more than I expected. The hamocks on the porch were great to relax in and the beds were very comfortable. The ceiling fans really helped at night. The food was very good and the service was great. We went on 6 guided tours while we were there and each one was great. We really enjoyed the night hike and the canopy tour was a blast. We did see alot of wildlife will on our tours ( yes monkeys). It was hot and humid and we expected with day time highs around 105 degree and down to 85 degree at night, but your body adjusted to the heat after the direst day. Our guide Moseis was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. 3 nights was just the right ammount of time to spend here as we took the tours we wanted and also had a 1/2 day to just relax and take it all in. I would recommend this Lodge to anyone who wants to experience the Jungle with all the comfort of home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank craigp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This place is really wonderful - the cabins have ceiling fans and hot water showers, and the food is fabulous. Our guide, Anabel, was very knowledgeable and personable. She took us canoeing around Lake Sandoval, where we saw monkeys, bats, colorful birds (including macaws) and butterflies of all shapes, sizes and colors. The canopy walk is really cool, too. The best part of our visit may have been the night-time boat trip on the river, where we looked for caimans using a spotlight. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Inkaterra focuses on safety, comfort and service. A lot more service than we are used to, and more than we need. For example, the lunch menu offers 6 or 7 appetizer options, 5 or 6 entrees, plus a couple of choices for dessert. It's excellent food, but when the temperature is 108 F with 94% humidity, you just want some sort of salad and half a ham sandwich. Several times, we ordered one meal to share, but they didn't understand and brought us two meals, which was too much food, and we felt bad about wasting it.

For people who are older or who have young children, and are concerned about safety and comfort, this would be an excellent choice. For people who want more of an adventure, I don't think this is the best choice. We stayed at another eco-lodge in northern Peru (Pacaya Samiria Amazon Lodge) and enjoyed our experience there much more, and it was considerably less expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcb1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Guests stay in spacious cabins, fully netted against mosquitoes, with hammocks and chairs on the terrace, wide comfortable bed with pristine sheets, large shower, ecological toiletries provided. The generator is on at set hours, otherwise kerosene lanterns are provided, these are lit for you. Light robes and slippers are provided, you need these when it's so hot and humid. Food is good, with a separate vegetarian menu, although the waiters/bar staff are quite slow and often get the orders mixed up (they are all very polite and try to be helpful). The Lodge has guides to take you on tours who are friendly, knowledgeable and highly competent. Our guide, Yordana, was brilliant. You might want earplugs if you sleep lightly as there are constant animal noises at night and the dawn chorus starts early and loudly right outside your window. This is the perfect way to stay in the Amazon, they have thought of everything to make your stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We spent 3 nights in this comfortable lodge in the rainforest. It is a very well run place with informative guides (Efrain and Jesus). The highlights of our trip were the excursion to Lake Sandoval, the evening jungle walk and river cruise. I would describe the accomodations as "luxury camping" with electricity during peak hours and our own ensuite including a shower. It really was perfect for our first trip to the rainforest. There is no need for any wake-up calls for the 6 a.m. excursions as the birds take care of that for you.

Be very careful to faithfully wear your insect repellant at all times...including at the spa. I neglected to do so and got many, many bites during my treatment. They cleared up quickly, so not sure what they were, but really wished I had put on repellant!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iggyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews