We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2008

We stayed in this lodge and had a wonderful experience. The only down side was the dinner menu we much preferrred the way the lunches were served. Uriel our guide was so knowledgeable and he showed us so much , he was so warm and fiendly he made our visit to Peru magical. Even an hours torrential jungle rain which was a great experience.Well done reserva Amazonica

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 621 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2008

the journey to the lodge was an experience!! but what a sight when we got there is was just beautiful the staff what can i say they were just fantastic we got upgraded to the Tambopata lodge amazing we had our own plunge pool would def advise to upgrade!! we were on honeymoon it was so romantic we had stayed in puerto mal the night before but sorry we didnt stay longer have extra night in the lodge ( we spent 2 nights in lodge )as not much to puerto i would not recommend, food is very good but think they shud have more choice overall it was a highlight for me loved it!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank the_birdOffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, eCommerce Manager at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2008

Dear birdOffaly,

We are happy to hear about your wonderful honeymoon experience at the Reserva Amazonica Lodge. Our simple but varied meals and beverages at Reserva Amazonica are prepared with fresh local ingredients inspired by the tropical flavors of the Amazon region. However, we will try to do our best serving more variety as you commented .

We hope you can come back to Reserva Amazonica and will stay longer next time to experience a lot more of what the Lodge has to offer, especially our ecological tours, Anaconda Walk, Lake Sandoval and Ena Spa services!

Sincerely,

Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

This would be the most comfortable lodge to stay at if you are worried about things coming into yoour room, it is also one of the most , if not the most expensive however if you book within 20 days you can get the late special which is more resonable.

We did enjoy the stay but there were some problems.

The good .....=
The guide , Carlos was excellent as were his colleagues, you were able to choice anyof teh excursions no matter if your fellow guests wanted to do the same excursions or not as they had anough guides, I notice that an older review suggested that he was not able to choice his exact itinery but this must have changed as they were very accomodating.
The rooms were lovely, we stayed at other lodges before this one and the decor was amazing in comparision, nice products and robes, we opted for a rio view room which i feel was the best as it was more private. The staff were all very nice.´

The lunch was al la carte ¿ 4 course meal?, ánd the dinner was buffet, to be honest, it all looked very nice but tasted average in my opinion, we had tastier food at the Posada Amazonas even though´it was a buffet and not as much choice.

The bad.
When booking we were told all rooms very double, as we had requested a double bed, it turns out that most are actually twins, in peru i think they call any room which fits two people a double, i think you have to actually ask for a matrimonial room. for us it was not a major problem but if you had booked the special romantic package you may be more dissapointed.
The biggest complaint we had, as I saw that someone else mentioned this, was that we were put right next to building of a new cabin, banging and sawing etc all day long until you had to complain, we paid extra for a river view so as to relax after our 5am starts. They seems to be squeezing cabins in any where they can so there is very little privacy, everyone can look into your rooms as there is no curtains etc and the last thing you want in workmen walking past when you are showering. I felt this was not on. They should mention this to you before you book or al least give you a room away from the work.
The bar does not display prices for beer and a tiny bottle of beer was over twice what we paid for a massive bottle of beer in the Posada Amazonas, same brand, I felt this was taking advantage a bit.
Also we only had one hot shower, in the 3 days. not sure if this is usual.


In terms of wildlife, Í would recommend the Lake Sandoval excursion, we saw the Giant Otters and the Howler Monkeys. And the Canopy, even though we didnt see any wildlife here it is pretty amazing.
If you really want more chance of seeing wildlife you need to go further away from the city, all teh guides at both places said that the Tambopata Reasearch Centre is best for wildlifé.

I wondered also why Inkaterra did not do an excursion to Monkey Island as it is opposite, I was informed that they use to however the owner of teh island has been found to be putting monkeys on teh island from other places, causing them to be very hostil to humans, some guides were bitten and as Monkeys are carriers of Rabies they no longer took guests there.

All in all we did enjoy the stay but it was mared by a few things, but if you want a short trip to the Amazon Basin area but are scared of the wildlife and do not want a long boat ride , his is only 45 mins, ór like your comforts, then i would recommend this place.
If you are looking for something a but more rustic and back to basics, whith more wildlife you may want to go deeper into the jungle or do both.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pinkbeachball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, eCommerce Manager at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2008

Hello Pinkbeachball,

Thank you very much for your detailed review; this helps us to improve our services and products.

Regarding excursions, Inkaterra offers an all-inclusive experience in the southern Peruvian jungle, where you can choose among 12 different excursions during your stay. However, these activities are programmed according the weather and the National Reserve rules, which may vary from day-to-day, and for this reason, all excursions are subject to conditions as mentioned.

Inkaterra is an organization dedicated to responsible tourism, taking care of the environment. The native Amazon Ese-Eja designed cabanas are built in the most authentic way, preserving mainly the natural resources without damaging the surroundings. If we built the cabanas more apart from each other, this is a totally different concept altogether and would occupy a much bigger area for the lodge, which means more trees must be cut down to allow for larger space, which is contrary to Inkaterra philosophy. We are certain you would understand the geo tourism principle behind this. We apologize for any inconvenience however unintentionally caused, by the renovation/improvements done in some cottages.

Our Restaurant and Bar offers a select range of food and beverage with prices and descriptions detailed in our menu cards. Majority of our guests were very satisfied with the sumptuous meals taken at the lodge, albeit simple and fundamental as one would expect to be in the jungle.

About the Rolin Island Excursion (Monkey Island), it is a Fauna Conservation project managed by Inkaterra Association (a Non-profit organization) supported by the World Bank, which is an effort to reintroduce monkeys into their natural habitat. Inkaterra cancelled this excursion because resident biologists are working full time on the Island to fast track the project towards its goals. Initially visitors mis-understood the project as a zoological visit, which it is not; they even give the monkeys food, which is contrary to the project’s objective of re-introducing monkeys to their natural habitat and letting them learn about the challenges they face to survive in the jungle, naturally.

Once gain, thank you for your review especially about the comfort and luxury amenities at the Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, where we always think of the guests’ absolute jungle experience in utmost ease and convenience at all times.

Truly yours,

Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We stayed 3 nights at the Inkaterra. The first 2 nights we were upgraded to the top suite (has a private pool!) and the 3rd night we stayed in the suite we actually paid for (the Amazonica Suite). A note about the rooms - had I known how much better the top suite was, we would have reserved that suite the entire time. The private pool is great - the water is cold whch means you are refreshed instantly from the heat. Additionally, you get a more private longue space (by the pool) which is nice if you are looking to relax. The Amazonica Suite, on the other hand, is still larger than the other cabanas, but isn't nearly as nice.

From the moment you arrive, you know that your experience will be positive. You go on a tour the day that you arrive through the jungle while your tour guide shows you different nests, trees, birds, and vegetation. Our tour guide was amazing!! We also did the night boat tour, the canopy tour (very good), and Lake Sandoval.

If I did it over again, I would pack differently. Around the resort, it is not buggy, so feel free to wear shorts or skirts (you will be cooler!). I would also bring a headlamp if you like to read at night as there is no electricity in the main part of the cabana (there is electricity in the bathroom).

The food is very good although a bit monotonous. I didn't mind it as we were only there 3 nights. I would however bring some snacks, if you are used to eating several small meals a day.

I would definitely recommend a stay here as it is a uniquie experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adventurer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
15.5 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
235 reviews
53.7 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
838 reviews
8.0 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#16 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
205 reviews
3.2 km away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
115 reviews
9.9 km away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $474 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing