We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Eco-lodge in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights and 4 days which was perfect. The food was great, the staff was excellent, and the guides were knowledgeable about the area. I highly recommend the twilight cruise, rainforest walk, canopy walk, and Lake Sandoval trips. A shout out to Jackson, our guide, who was terrific, had a great sense of humor, and was extremely astute about the plants and animals. He is from Puerto Maldonado and so were most of the guides, waiters, and staff.

We spoke Spanish as much as we could, but they were all capable of speaking English.

A few tips: They told us that we'd have to leave our luggage at the Butterfly House in PM so we packed a small duffle to transfer all our stuff, but that didn't happen. Our luggage went to the lodge, but we also didn't have huge bags so be aware of that.

You will arrive at the airport. They will pick you up, take you to Butterfly House, and serve you a cold drink. Be prepared to give up your passports for about 24 hours. They will give them back the next day at dinner.

We brought 100% deet and didn't get bit. The mosquitos weren't as bad as we imagined except on the walk to Lake Sandoval. You'll need suntan lotion, hat, and as they state--loose, cool clothing--long-sleeved and long pants. People in shorts and sandals were bit by ants and scratched up a bit. It was hot, but not unbearable.

In your cabin: They will always give you bottled water. There are toiletries, but you had to ask for a hairdryer. We didn't use one. They turn down your bed, and fix the mosquito netting while you're at dinner. They also light kerosene lamps that you can use. The electricity is turned off around 11 pm to 4 am so the fan over your bed will stop working, but by then it was cool enough.
The hammocks are wonderful, and the bed was comfortable.

Excursions: When you arrive, they will designate a guide for you and others. You'll meet with that guide later in the day. You loosely plan your excursions. By that, I mean, the guide is trying to organize the excursions so that he can be your main guide on each trip. For example, one couple didn't want to go on the canopy walk in the afternoon so they went the next morning with another guide. Not a big deal. You'll be with some of the same people depending on how long you stay. Just make your decisions, inform the guide, and then he'll tell you what time to be at the eco-lodge for the trip. Some excursions leave at 6 or 7 am for the morning trips, and then around 2 or 3 for afternoon trips. So in the heat of the day you can relax in your cabin. They'll even do a wake-up call which is a knock on the side of your cabin.

You see what animals you see. We saw sloth, capybara, caiman, tarantula, macaws, and several species of monkeys. One group saw an anteater.

Really loved this experience and highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Rooms by the river are beautiful. And it's a slow moving river so it wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

What an experience! 5 star in the amazon with all luxury comforts & dining. We loved our 2 night stay. The staff were fantastic & very helpful. Highly reccomended for a quiet experience with all the amazon has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L_12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great place in the middle of the jungle, very nice places around like Lake Sandoval and very neat trails to walk into the jungle; grabbing a cacao (where chocolate come from) and eat it right in the middle of the jungle is just superb. There is quite a lot of different exotic animals to watch

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alejandro_Piscoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We, a group of 10 travelers, have just returned from a trip to Peru with Kuoda Travel Agency. Our first stop on our trip was to the Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica. We stayed there for 3 nights and wished we had booked 4 nights. We were extremely fortunate to have Glhemm Ceari as our guide for the entire length of our stay. He was and exceptional guide. Because of his enthusiasm and great knowledge of his environment, we were able to see a great variety of wildlife. He went out of his way to row us across Lake Sandoval when he spotted the Giant River Otters. We witnessed them hunting and eating their fish. There were many other wildlife that we saw, mainly due to his knowledge and keen senses. His knowledge of the flora and fauna was also incredible. We will never forget the experiences that he left us with.Most importantly, he was compassionate and caring, helping us city people, trek through the mud, etc. We left the Amazonica with life long memories and with a new friend.

Room Tip: River view rooms were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank honolulugail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our four days at the Reserva Amazonica were fantastic, a really enjoyable experience in the jungle, and very luxurious! The organisation was excellent, and the transfer was seamless - stopping off in the butterfly house to drop off one of our bags and check in. Even the boat ride to the hotel was exciting and we were lucky enough to even see some wildlife on the way.


The lodges were well set up, and the rooms very comfortable for the middle of the jungle. We particularly enjoyed the hammocks which were good for a mid afternoon nap after some early starts. We had booked a river view room, but when we arrived we realised that our room actually looked directly at the spa, with little or no river view. We complained, and were moved the next day to a proper river view room and given a complimentary massage (which was very nice) to compensate us for the inconvenience. We also really enjoyed the food and there was a great selection - the dining room is great and we loved having a post dinner drink in the lounge areas.


The excursions are the highlight of a trip to this property and we enjoyed all the ones we did. We were luckily enough to see four types of monkeys, a sloth, the river otters, lots of birdlife and creepy crawlies. We also did an interesting trip to a local farm where we tasted lots of exotic fruits. A number of people when we were there didn't go on all the trips for different reasons which I think is a real shame, they are the best thing about staying here and a great way to see all the local wildlife. Overall, this was a real experience and one not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WebbalinoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
15.5 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
7.9 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
369 reviews
53.7 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
178 reviews
39.5 km away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
893 reviews
16.2 km away
Sotupa Eco House
Sotupa Eco House
#1 of 23 in Puerto Maldonado
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $511 - $853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing