We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amazon Planet(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Monte Amazonico Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
USD 85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Anaconda Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
USD 31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boton de Oro(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Refugio Amazonas(Puerto Maldonado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Corto Maltes Amazonia(Puerto Maldonado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (839)
    Filter reviews
    839 results
    Traveller rating
    575
    182
    61
    16
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    575
    182
    61
    16
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridethree nightslaundry serviceriver viewcanopy tourceiling fanan excursionmosquito nettingamazon experience
    Filter
    Updating list...
    565 - 570 of 839 reviews
    Reviewed 3 November 2011

    We stayed 4 days and took part in all activities on offer. The Inkaterra butterfly house is awesome. All staff were friendly, courteous and very efficient. The restaurant was amazing. I recommend the Gazpachio for starters - I had it every night - Mmmm. Restaurant staff were exceptionally professional. The rooms are a dream. Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica is 5 star +
    My camera got a good workout!

    Room Tip: All rooms are great.
    • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank BongoBickford
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 November 2011

    Great place.The naturalist guides are very knowledgeable. Great trips - if you do not mind the heat! The canopy trip is really special. Rooms are clean and bug-free. But no air-conditioning -for those who might be wondering!

    Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the restaurant area - so you are not disturbed by noise. Some rooms overlook the river and are lovely.
    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SBSevenoaks
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 October 2011

    All around a great experience. The rainforest is a fascinating place. Unusual plant and wildlife --we saw giant otters, caimans, capybaras and lots of birds. The service here is first rate-- the guides are knowledgeable and the food was quite good (and the rooms are bug free!). All around, I highly recommend it.

    My only criticism has nothing to do with the place. To go to Puerto Maldonado requires an extra flight, a yellow fever vaccine and malaria pills-- which add a up to a pretty penny. As much as I liked the facility and I'm glad I came here, the added expense should be considered.

    Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank mrfishynyc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 October 2011

    We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed.

    Collected at the airport in an old colonial style truck where we were transported to their reception area a very short journey from the airport. There we were provided with very welcome cold towels and cool drinks.

    This high level and personal service continued throughout our stay.

    Whilst here we completed our registration process prior to being transported to the river for our 45 minute boat trip to our lodges. The trip passed very quickly as the scenery was stunning.

    On arrival at the lodges we were again provided with complimentary drinks prior to an introductory briefing and thereafter were shown to our lodges. The lodges are excellent. They are all separate cabins with thatched roofs, wooden walls, toilet and showers. The beds have full nets and are very comfortable. The front half of the lodges are screend with 2 hammocks and 2 chairs where you can sit and relax.

    A wide range of trips are available all included within the 'room rate' with a few available at extra cost. We took several trips including the canopy walk, night time boat and Lake Sandoval. We had the same guide (Alan) throughout our stay which was excellent as we got to know him a little. Alan was very knowledgeable and took time to ensure everyone was engaged in the activities. None of the trips we did were very streneous but were most enjoyable. Therefore, if you are looking for deep jungle exploration, swinging a machete, etc. I would suggest this is not for you.

    Food - there have been plenty other comments on this so don't feel I need to add anything other than to say the staff are excellent, very well trained and knwoledgeable. More importantly the food is cooked to a very good standard.

    The only downside is the illegal gold mining that takes place on the river during daylight and this can be slightly annoying due to the noise from the generators that they use.

    Highly recommended.

    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Wilton2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 October 2011

    We stayed at the Inkaterra as part of our Honeymoon and it was fabulous. To start the resort itself is beautiful - immaculate bungalows with everything you could want and really good mosquito nets over the beds. The main building is wonderful and huge, with really friendly and attentive staff who are really good fun whilst providing the most amazing service.
    The drinks and food were really good with lots of great choice and really fresh fruit and vegetables.
    The trips however are what make this an extra special place. We went out on the canopy walk-way, did day and night walks, went out to the Lake Sandoval and over to Monkey Island aswell as boat trips day and night and all this was included in our stay! The guides know their stuff and are really friendly and knowledgeable. The groups are small so you feel like you are getting a really personal service. We saw so many birds, animals and reptiles; carrybarra, tarantulas, giant otters, caimans and so much more. They even provide you with wellies when its been raining!
    This is a really exciting whilst luxurious place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. My new husband and I had the most fabulous time and loved it.

    Room Tip: Not sure that it matters - they are all fabulous little private bungalows, but we stayed right near the river side and the sunset view from our room was beautiful.
    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Poopyscoop
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

    Dear Poopyscoop

    Thank you for choosing Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica as your honeymoon destination!
    We are glad to read that you enjoyed our services and mainly our excursions which are 13 a-la-carte adventures, included in our rate programs, that introduces you to the magical environment of the rain forest.
    Good advice yours about booking a Superior Rio cabaña, having a view to the Madre de Dios river is a nice plus to our regular rooms.

    Thank you again for staying with us, it was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcome you again, maybe to celebrate your first anniversary!

    All the best,

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews