We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with plenty of fun activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica is a very unique “eco” hotel in the middle of the Amazon Jungle, so guest should be prepared for that style of living. If you want luxury with a jungle twist in an eco environment, the Amazonica is for you. Getting there is a journey in itself. You must fly into Puerto Maldanado, take a bus to a riverside dock where you will board a hotel boat that will transport you up the river. We recommend not overdoing your luggage on this portion of your Peru trip – these boats are small, but they aren’t designed to handle the normal American traveling road show of 4 or 5 seventy pound suitcases either. After a pleasant trip up the river (yes, it is hot and it is buggy – hello! It’s the Amazon Jungle!), you arrive at the hotel. There is a steep set of steps going up to the hotel from the river. The hotel staff is great and they will handle all your luggage. The first thing you do is enter an orientation room where you are given a quick brief on the hotel property layout, the activities available and you are assigned a guide that will work with you for your entire stay. This is a great way to start and they provide nice cool refreshments and some finger food. Once we got through that portion and are “checked in”, we were shown to our bungalow. This was one area we did have a discrepancy. We had booked there biggest and best bungalow, but were given one that was at least one or two levels below their best. We spent a decent portion of our first afternoon trying to work this issue out with the hotel management, but it boiled down to a couple simple issues: 1. Our travel agent had screwed up again and booked the wrong room and 2. The room we expected was now booked for the length of our stay. The thing that took the longest was trying to figure out which room we were being charged for. Since our bill was being handled by the travel agent (we paid the travel agent, the travel agent paid the hotels), we were certain we had paid for the upgraded room prior to our arrival. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have very good connectivity. Since the electricity comes completely from generators and the internet and phone service was spotty at best, we never did determine what rate we were paying. We decided to work it out later and not waste any more time while were at the hotel. The “rooms” are individual bungalows that are appointed according to your booking. Ours was a nice two-bed design with a bathroom in the back and a screened in porch in the front. A couple things about the rooms – like much of the hotel, the rooms aren’t truly enclosed. They are screened in, but it is much closer to being outside than inside. Therefore, there is no AC, or TV or any of those types of things. The electricity is provided by generator, so, like many other eco hotels in remote areas, the electricity is turned off during certain hours. The showers, fans, outlets, etc won’t work during those times. We did knew this going in and it never really impacted us at all. It is hot and humid and the hotel does provide a kind of citronella, organic bug repellent, but guest should be ready to have their own bug juice for the trips into the jungle. We did not have an issue with bugs in the room. The restaurant is a large structure in the middle of the compound and they had excellent food. The meals were on a fixed menu, but the choices were superb and we had more than enough great food to eat the whole time we were there. Evening cocktails were also a great time to sit around the restaurant and socialize. The activities are the main attraction of the hotel, and they did not disappoint. Based on your length of stay, the hotel has enough activities to fill up a week or so, if you wanted to do them all. We chose the canopy bridge tour (awesome!), an evening jungle walk (chicken spiders, snakes and tarantulas!), a cool boat ride around one of the area inland lakes (monkeys and more), and a night boat ride up the river (camons and other river critters). In all, there is a lot do to and you should never get bored. Just remember to pack sunscreen, bug repellent, water and snacks – you will be out in the Amazon Jungle traipsing around for hours and hours! At the end of the day, despite the room mix up, this is an excellent hotel if you are looking for luxury with an adventurous side. Those of you looking for air conditioning, modern electronic access and night clubs should not apply – this is for those people that really want to head into the jungle and have fun doing it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph_Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 521 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed 4 days and took part in all activities on offer. The Inkaterra butterfly house is awesome. All staff were friendly, courteous and very efficient. The restaurant was amazing. I recommend the Gazpachio for starters - I had it every night - Mmmm. Restaurant staff were exceptionally professional. The rooms are a dream. Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica is 5 star +
My camera got a good workout!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Great place.The naturalist guides are very knowledgeable. Great trips - if you do not mind the heat! The canopy trip is really special. Rooms are clean and bug-free. But no air-conditioning -for those who might be wondering!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the restaurant area - so you are not disturbed by noise. Some rooms over...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

All around a great experience. The rainforest is a fascinating place. Unusual plant and wildlife --we saw giant otters, caimans, capybaras and lots of birds. The service here is first rate-- the guides are knowledgeable and the food was quite good (and the rooms are bug free!). All around, I highly recommend it.

My only criticism has nothing to do with the place. To go to Puerto Maldonado requires an extra flight, a yellow fever vaccine and malaria pills-- which add a up to a pretty penny. As much as I liked the facility and I'm glad I came here, the added expense should be considered.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrfishynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed.

Collected at the airport in an old colonial style truck where we were transported to their reception area a very short journey from the airport. There we were provided with very welcome cold towels and cool drinks.

This high level and personal service continued throughout our stay.

Whilst here we completed our registration process prior to being transported to the river for our 45 minute boat trip to our lodges. The trip passed very quickly as the scenery was stunning.

On arrival at the lodges we were again provided with complimentary drinks prior to an introductory briefing and thereafter were shown to our lodges. The lodges are excellent. They are all separate cabins with thatched roofs, wooden walls, toilet and showers. The beds have full nets and are very comfortable. The front half of the lodges are screend with 2 hammocks and 2 chairs where you can sit and relax.

A wide range of trips are available all included within the 'room rate' with a few available at extra cost. We took several trips including the canopy walk, night time boat and Lake Sandoval. We had the same guide (Alan) throughout our stay which was excellent as we got to know him a little. Alan was very knowledgeable and took time to ensure everyone was engaged in the activities. None of the trips we did were very streneous but were most enjoyable. Therefore, if you are looking for deep jungle exploration, swinging a machete, etc. I would suggest this is not for you.

Food - there have been plenty other comments on this so don't feel I need to add anything other than to say the staff are excellent, very well trained and knwoledgeable. More importantly the food is cooked to a very good standard.

The only downside is the illegal gold mining that takes place on the river during daylight and this can be slightly annoying due to the noise from the generators that they use.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
15.5 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
235 reviews
53.7 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
838 reviews
8.0 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#14 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
206 reviews
3.2 km away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
116 reviews
9.9 km away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $417 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing