We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice weekend getaway close to David Panama” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
David, Panama
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice weekend getaway close to David Panama”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Sometimes it is just necessary to get away from the routine of daily life, right? If you live near David, Panama......... this resort is only about an hour away.

It is right on the beach and the rooms are incredibly huge and neat and very clean. AC works great, screens on the windows, the most comfortable matresses in any hotel I have ever been in and well maintained grounds.

The only weak area for us was the food.......... and the menu. I see they are trying to give a good mix of offers............. I would give them an A for trying........ but the actual cooking or recipes they use, like for their two Mexican dishes, were just not like anything I ever had in Mexico!

We left a day earlier than planned because we didn't want to be stuck with that menu.......

But we noticed as we drove away that there are a few other small restaurants nearby so maybe next time, if things don't change, we can stay the extra day and go to the other places nearby.

The pool is also not kid friendly............ too deep, drop offs, etc. They really should build a kiddy pool and I think a ton more families would visit. Our 3 year old actually slipped in the most shallow part, which was still too deep, and drank some water before we rescued her a couple of seconds later!

Overall good place............ just some tweaking and if could be fantastic.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same except the second story units right out back facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarzantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    61
    28
    23
    26
See reviews for
65
79
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The internet can make even the most tired places look brand new. If you stay here just a few nights you might not notice the worn, frayed, ragged edges of this place. I would hardly call it a resort. The owners should be embarrassed to be associated with this hotel. The beach furniture is old and crumbling, be prepared to share your rooms with ants and some bees, the grounds need major landscaping, the food is average at best, the staff is hit or miss. Some are very helpful while others are sleep walking through their day. As you drive into the hotel, hang on tight, the potholes in the drive and near the frontgate will knock your front end out of alignment.

The owners are trying to develop this area with condos, single family homes and a golf course. If the care of the hotel is any example of how they do business, save your money and look elsewhere.

The beach is the real bright spot for this place. Miles and miles of black sand, crashing waves, and very few people. Solitude can be found here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
We appreciate your input regarding our staff. We are working hard to train our staff to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. While our resort is extensively landscaped, it was in need of some pruning, which we have recently done. We realize that some people come to Panama and are not expecting to be surrounded by nature. This is an eco resort where one can find, iguanas, geckos, frogs, turtles, birds of all types (including a macaw and parrots). We will be sure to advise our guests of this fact on our website. There are a few potholes on the way here. Because of the heavy rains during the green season, it is almost impossible to find a road without them in the country of Panama. Roads here are better than most other Latin American countries, but it is still a battle. We appreciate you staying with us and we hope that there will be another occasion where we are able to improve your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these David hotels

pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

If you want to relax and chill, las olas resort and las brisas condos are the perfect place. This is right on a black sand beach with pounding waves about 30 minutes from the David airport.

The ocean can range from inviting to fierce. We had one day where it was so calm the we swam beyond the wave break and other days where we choose to swim in the pool.

There are three tennis courts, fishing, bikes, massage services and day trips. we did a day trip to Boquete to zip line and another to Boca Chica to snorkle, and site see. Both are highly recommended.

The restaurant on site was fine, we liked the breakfasts on the veranda. And you could never go wrong ordering the filet or special of the night.

The rooms were on par with the price we paid. Ask it there are any specials when you reserve.
Ask for confirmation, print it out and bring it with you so there is no confusion.

Service, we found that they, in general, were eager to help. But then we speak a little Spanish. If you don't speak Spanish bring a dictionary or app on your phone to help with getting your request across.

We have stay here a couple times, there is always good and bad, but the plusses come out ahead.

Room Tip: We booked an upstairs room for a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Every year we visit this Hotel, and hope for the better. It is the only place to go when you live in Chiriqui, Panama. The rooms are simple, rooms being cleaned by 3 pm, just when you want to relex on your patio. The pool are is simply discusting, ants and ants everywhere, the food is discusting and if you need service, walk yourself, because they are to stupid and slow to help. You need an extra chair, get it yourself, this is what the staff will tell you. It is just Unbelievable, and they want to sell this area to the world, ha ha what a joke. Any small resort in any caribbean Island or even in our neighbours in Costa Rica know hospitality means.
I have been all over the world, this beats all. Horrible, service worst, food discusting, staff lazy, WOW !!

Room Tip: Almost all the same, partial view of ocean, with dead grass in front of you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista Alegre
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This resort is ok if you want to spend a lot of time just chilling out. Front desk staff was welcoming and changed our room when there was only one key. The room was smaller than I expected and did not have a refrigerator. A bit worn around the edges. Charged for coffee and water provided. Small terrace was nice and lovely grounds. I was worried about being too close to the beach and noise from the waves at night. Even though our unit faced the beach it was far enough from the beach so no problem. Beach is sandy, but waves are strong, not a quiet cove to swim. Public areas were nice, lovely pool, restaurant and if you like to exercise and work out there seemed to be a lot of equipment. We planned to stay two nights, but the remote location wasn't to our liking. I'm sure there are activities at the resort, but at our age we don't participate. Lovely restaurant and our dinner and breakfast were very good. The wait person for both meals were better than most restaurants in Panama City. Panama restaurant staffs just don't get if you give good service you get a better tip. Things have improved over the 6 years we have lived here, but still needs some tweaking. Drive from David to the beach is about 20-30 minutes through farm county. Lovely but brings you to the remote location of the resort. There are some private condos next to the resort. It's a location for some, but not for us. We drove from PC so had a car. If you don't, you are a captive at the mercy of other transportation. All in all the resort would be ideal for those looking to chill and recharge their battery. Sidebar: Reason we chose the resort was a great coupon discount offer and by paying in advance forced us to explore this area of Panama after living here for 6 years. Been there, done.that. We went on to Boquete the next day and now have been there, done that.

Room Tip: Didn't investigate other room choices, but ours was smaller than expected. I think all rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyTuesdayFundador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near David
21.8 km away
Hotel Ciudad de David
21.3 km away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#4 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
20.2 km away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
37.1 km away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#2 of 6 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
21.4 km away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#8 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Address: Playa La Barqueta, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Price range (per night): $87 - $177
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 minutes from David, Panama’s second largest city and the Enrique Malek International Airport, Las Olas Resort is at the heart of the 14 mile stretch of beach called Playa La Barqueta and the surrounding 2,000 acre plantation. Some of the best surfers in all of Panama may be found catching waves on this spectacular expanse of beach and its waves giving Las Olas its name, meaning “The Waves”. Las Olas Resort offer 48 rooms all facing uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean. We have standard rooms with two queen beds or one king bed, six junior suites with a separate living area, and two king suites featuring two bedrooms and one living area. Each and every room is steps away from the gorgeous sand and beautiful blue waters of Playa La Barqueta. Each room has a terrace, with lower rooms having beachside access while the upper floors have their own enclosed private terrace.offers excellent shopping, dining, and nightlife. Las Olas Resort features lush gardens, wandering walkways surrounded by the umbrella shaped coverage of almond trees, tall and lovely grape leaves, multicolored crotos, pink bougabilia, hedges of hicacos and a wide variety of palm trees,. All forty-eight rooms are directly facing the Pacific Ocean and the spectacular views of the majestic sunsets over Playa La Barqueta. In La Abigail Restaurant guests can enjoy local, organic plantains, pineapples, mangos (in season), papaya and watermelon. We raise our own grass fed beef and lamb, duck, pork, and chicken. Taste fresh coconut water to refresh your body and enjoy tennis, kayaking, surfing, strolling the beach or taking a swim. Good for mind and body, Las Olas Resort provides a quick way to hit your internal reset button.The Bella Donna Convention Center at Las Olas Resort offers meeting and event spaces of a variety of sizes with various services, food and beverage options available. Added to the adjacent covered outdoor space, one could hold a party of 500 or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Beach David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing