We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Property, Wonderful Hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hacienda

Entrance to the Hacienda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to the Hacienda
Microwave, toaster, electric kettle, french coffee press, dishes and silerware Fresh fruit, home made bread, yummy egg dishes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Entrance to the Hacienda
Microwave, toaster, electric kettle, french coffee press, dishes and silerware
Fresh fruit, home made bread, yummy egg dishes
The Terrace Bedroom
Queen size bed in the Terrace Bedroom
Sweet cozy chair in the Terrace Bedroom
The Garden Suite queen size bed
The Garden Suite's cute sitting area
Garden Suite has its own bathroom
Second bathroom has full size shower
Covered porch perfect in rain or sunshine
Covered deck seats 4 to 6 and has a hammock
One of two hammocks to enjoy the Panama experience
Stay in shape while you travel, covered but open air
There are many places to sit and enjoy coffee, tea or wine
The grounds are your to explore and enjoy
Deep in the garden, a hidden bench just for you
The sounds and beauty of nature right outside your door
Torch ginger at the Hacienda
Everywhere you look color and natural beauty
Breakfast Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boquete, Chiriqui Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sharonf52...
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Property, Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 5 stayed at The Hacienda in April. Prior to arriving, Ciella was excellent about answering my questions. We arrived on Good Friday, which we now know is a major holiday in Boquete. Our hosts Ciella and Quincy knew that we might have trouble finding a restaurant open or taxi to bring us to their B & B, and met our bus from David. They then took our luggage back with them, while we followed their suggestions in finding a place to eat. Quincy offered to come and get us when we were done. Wow, what a welcome!

Once at The Hacienda, we were immediately struck by the beauty of the grounds and accommodations. Ciella and Quincy quite obviously love it there, and are happy to share it with others. It was a wonderful place to stay, whether inside, out in a hammock or sitting in one of many areas carved out for that purpose in the gardens. The views are incredible here, as it sits on a hill just above the town.

Due to the holidays, we had some challenges with taxis and tours, but Quincy really helped us out by providing rides into town. I can't say enough about his and Ciella's hospitality!

The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious! Ciella even accommodated my son, who has dietary restrictions. Most times, we had no need for lunch after the big breakfasts, and we just waited until dinner for our next meal.

While there, we took advantage of their recommended massage therapist, Joy, who came to The Hacienda to do the massages. We also visited Jardin Encantado, a botanical garden and wildlife reserve, which we highly recommend. We also did a great tour of Finca Dos Jefes, a local coffee farm. Get a tour led by the owner, Richard, if you can. The two restaurants we ate at were The Panamonte and Big Daddy's Grill, and both had great food. Follow recommendations by Quincy & Ciella, they won't steer you wrong.

One note, if you don't want to rely on taxis to get you around (or if you are traveling on a holiday or during a special event), rental cars are available and the town isn't too difficult to find your way around. I walked to & from town from The Hacienda, and it's a steep trail that isn't for anyone not in shape. It was about 15 minutes to town and 45 minutes to get back.

I didn't mention that a microwave and electric tea kettle is provided, as is triple filtered drinking water, an assortment of teas, and a french press for coffee. They also provide two cell phones for use while in Boquete, and have a list of contacts, including taxi drivers, tours and others you may need. Maps, and directions in Spanish (to give to your taxi driver) are also provided. The free WiFi worked great in and near the house.

The next time we are in Boquete (and there will be a next time) we will certainly return to The Hacienda!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful grounds and the hosts!
Liked least: The distance from town, which only mattered when taxis weren't available. Then again, this did afford us amazing views!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanellePt...
El Paso, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, beautiful hosts”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say enough about our experience with Victoria and Scott. The house is perfection. Beautiful inside and out. They were so attentive to all of our needs that we didn't want to leave!! The breakfast that they provided was out of this world and the conversations, amazing. If anyone is planning a trip to Boquete, you won't find a better place.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The hosts, the beautiful surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wOrldTrek...
Irmo, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful stay....georgeous gardens”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La Hacienda was a pleasant stay. My family of 5 enjoy greatly the hospitality of Scott & Victoria. Nice folks that enhance the day at the Hacienda. The best I could describe the place is Boquete inside their Hacienda. They feature all the plants and flowers you will admire in the Boquete landscape. Just beautiful... The beds and room were spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was just delicious and well decorated. The place is just 10 minutes away from main Boquete, so you have easy access to the main areas to visit.
I wish we would have stay longer to truly enjoy more the stay and the surroundings. I guess we have to come back. Thanks Scott and Victoria!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: landscape and breakfast
Liked least: no frequent hot water in shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer7...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay with Wonderful Hosts!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A friend and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for 2 nights on our journey though Panama and Costa Rica. We enjoyed this place more than any of the other accommodations that we stayed it throughout our trip. It is located just up the hill from the center of town. (About a 15-20 min. walk) and the place is absolutely beautiful!! It is nicely decorated inside and out and it felt very much like home. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding was in excellent condition (I can be picky about this!) The gardens on the property are stunning, offering many little spots to relax and enjoy nature. The breakfast which was included was very delicious and plentiful! Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, banana bread, yogurt, egg and vegetable quiche, coffee and juice. It was more than we could eat!

The hosts, Victoria and Steve, were AMAZING and they truly understand the meaning of great customer service. I can't say enough good things about them. Before our arrival, Victoria answered all of the questions I had and followed up with us the week before our stay. She provided a lot of helpful information regarding how to get to Boquete by bus from Panama City and was there waiting for us once we arrived. She immediately took us to the grocery store so that we could pick up a few things before heading up to the property.

Once we arrived, Steve brought us down a couple snack baskets which was nice. There was also free coffee, tea and water available. In addition, they also provided umbrellas, flashlights and even a cell phone for our use ($20 deposit which you get back once you return the phone, and $5 or $10 for minutes...depending on how much you will need to use the phone) which we found to be very helpful!

The first morning we were there we had a horseback riding tour scheduled at 8:30 am and Victoria offered to drop us off at the tour office to save us the hassle of catching a cab which was very much appreciated! Then on the morning of our departure we booked a shuttle from Boquete to Bocas del Toro and needed to arrive at the office by 7:30 am. Again, she offered to drop us off and also packed us a breakfast to take with us which included a breakfast sandwich, banana bread and an apple....how thoughtful!!

Although we did not spend a ton of time in the house but rather exploring the town...we really enjoyed our stay and chatting with Victoria and Steve! We hope to visit Boquete again in the future and would absolutely stay here again! I wish we would have stayed longer!

Oh, and the town is really cute too! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, cleanliness and the wonderful hosts
Liked least: Spotty wifi in the Garden Suite
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing